We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location and comfort that can't be beat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of moments Mountain Retreat

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added moments Mountain Retreat to your Saves list
moments Mountain Retreat
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   86 Fletcher Street, Wentworth Falls, New South Wales 2782, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Virginia, USA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Location and comfort that can't be beat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2009

To begin with the location couldn't have been better, literally a two minute walk to Echo Point and Three Sisters. And being in Katoomba, it was a great central starting point for exploring the Blue Mountains. We did an easy day trip to Jenolan Caves one day, and Wentworth Falls another.

Our family of five stayed at Moments' Echo Point house for two nights. It was perfect for us. With two bedrooms and a dayroom the sleeping arrangements worked for us. The key was under the mat for us (even though we arrived a little early), and a welcome letter was on the counter. There were even 'continental breakfast' makings provided for us in the kitchen. (My only, minor minor comment is that we could have used one more lounge chair in the living room.)

With five of us, having a whole house to relax in gave us plenty of room to spread out and enjoy. The entire house interior looked like it had been recently painted. Every room was spotlessly clean. (It made me want to leave it in as good condition as when we arrived.) There was even a gas grill at our disposal!

Even though it was June (winter), the heaters worked very well and we were always comfortable. We did not use the fireplace, although firewood was provided for our use. We all slept well every night.

I gladly recommend this house rental to anyone!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    18
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
11
67
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2009

This cottage is central to all Blue Mountains attractions, close to shopping centres and very warm and cosy. If you have a problem with anything in the cottage, the staff are very prompt in rectifying it.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2009

Moments is lovely and in a fantastic location with a beautiful view. We enjoyed our welcome glass of champagne on the deck overlooking the Blue Mountains.
The manager was absolutely wonderful - she helped by providing useful information on the area, making dinner reservations, and assisting when we had to make some last minute flight changes.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tel aviv
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2009

Amazing location at the gate to the valley of the waters, the most amazing hike at our doorstep. moments is beautiful both inside and outside, the room was very nice with a built in spa, lovely veranda with stunning views and a very warm and pampering welcome...not to be missed

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2008

My boyfriend & I wanted to get out of Sydney for a night over Christmas and decided on the Blue Mountains. We live in Bondi so we were ok with not going to a beach resort (aside from the fact that most beach side accommodation up the coast was JAM PACKED & very expensive last minute)

We chose the Blue Mountains as it is still a tourist spot with lots to see & do. We selected this accommodation on wotif.com.. We got a suite on a last minute deal. It was still pricey enough but we were ok as it was for 1 night.

The house is just gorgeous and they have made it all very comfortable. The suite we had was still small enough for the price but i think they know how to charge people up in the mountains. This aside i would highly recommend this accommodation. It is an old style house with amazing views. We had a HUGE spa bath which is always a lovely treat. The woman who manages the house, Eva, was such a lovely person & is a real gem!

It is expensive but i have not stayed in any other Blue Mountains accomm and cannot compare. PLUS we stayed over the Christmas break when EVERYTHING is inflated!

Stayed December 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2008

We spent a total of 10 nights in New south wales, and found all but two most enjoyable. Moments was one of the two disappointments. It was a toss-up betw Moments and its neighbouring B&B Valley of the Water. Despite paying almost A$50 more, I decided to go with Moments because of the log fire (my hubbie loves to do log fire). So it was really upsetting to find out that you have to pay $25 more to light up the fire. We've been to western australia and Victoria and we never had to pay to light a fire.
Moreover, there is no separate bathroom - the spa bath-cum-shower sat in the middle of the room. Some may find it charming but we found it a little cumbersome. because of the spa bath, there was little space in the room for our bags (two pieces). The so-called private deck is actually part of a long patio but seperated by potted plants. And there was no indication at the booking centre that it was a no-smokiing accomodation.
The central heating didn't kick in so we had to use the small portable heater which woke us up a few times in the night with the noise generated when the heater started up automatically.
Nearly all the B&Bs we've been at in Australia, the owners provided the personal touch with their warm and welcoming ways. But at Moment, the lady greeting us was not the owner (despite what it said on their website), and lacked the warm touch even though she was pretty efficient.
But I can't find any fault with the view. It's fabulous. But I could have spent $50 less at the other B&B for the same view.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobandRita, Owner at moments Mountain Retreat, responded to this review, June 19, 2009
Unfortunately, booking through a third party may result in guests having some misconceptions. We clarify issues below:
1. There is an open fire in the guest lounge room. As not all guests use the fireplace in their suite/room, we set the tariff for the suite/room and give guests the option to have and pay for a fire in their suite/room. The fire is not necessary for heating, it is used for ambience. This tariff structure results in a lower tariff for guests who do not use the fireplace.
2. The open plan suites are our most popular. Our other suite and room do have full bathrooms as an ensuite.
3. The suites/room have a luggage rack and a 1.2mtr wardrobe/shelving unit. We have had many guests from Singapore and many have commented that the suites are larger than their apartment in Singapore.
4. The suites/room are private. The 3mtr wide verandah is divided by a 1.5mtr wall to the ceiling, and a further 1mtr wide x 1.4mtr high hedge plant.
5. We are non smoking in the house and have a designated smoking area in the garden, which is noted on our website.
6. The central heating is thermostat controlled. The fan heater is used if guests want the suite/room to be warmer. This system has worked successfully for over 10 years.
7. moments is a successful medium sized business, with 4 B & B suites/room and 4 self contained cottages. We live on the premises. We do employ staff, who are customer focussed and deliver a standard of service as good as the service we provide ourselves, as evidenced by comments in other reviews.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santa monica, ca
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2008

We stayed at one of the Moments cottages in Wentworth Falls. The house was roomy, well stocked and close to great hiking and a restaurant for good meals. Everything was clean and it was easy to get comfortable here! We hit the grocery store and cooked for the family and ate most meals on the porch while enjoying the fresh, clean mountain air. There was a possum living on the roof and he was a bit noisy once the sun went down, but I guess that is what you get when you settle into a mountain home, right?

  • Stayed November 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to moments Mountain Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about moments Mountain Retreat

Address: 86 Fletcher Street, Wentworth Falls, New South Wales 2782, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Wentworth Falls
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Wentworth Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — moments Mountain Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At moments Mountain Retreat, you will find it all in one magical place - breathtaking views from your room, double spas, fires, friendly service and world-renowned bushwalks from your doorstep, right at the entrance to the Blue Mountains National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your moments Mountain Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moments Mountain Retreat Blue Mountains/Wentworth Falls

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage moments Mountain Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.