We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dont judge a book by its cover. We stayed an extra night.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Hideaway Retreat

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Hideaway Retreat to your Saves list
The Hideaway Retreat
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   50 - 54 Railway Parade, Wentworth Falls, New South Wales 2782, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Dont judge a book by its cover. We stayed an extra night.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2015

At first my wife had reservations of staying here as the reception and building looked bit older and as others have noted quirky or as having old school charm, but after we switched from upstairs to downstairs room and enjoyed our first 2 nights as we originally booked we added an extra night as we relaxed and appreciated the hotel for what it is. A place to wind back and relax, and even though free wi-fi is available and with quality beds in each room (perfect height to give partner massage with free massage oil and hand crafted soaps provided) the older touches of the hotel and theming of einstein or mozart throughout are the feauture that stands out and gives the hideaway its charm and character. The hidden room behind the bookcase was a suprise we only discovered on last day which left me wondering what else I may have missed. The breakfast was simple but satisfying and the games room was a nice place to relax at the end of the day with free pool table, board games and xbox. As it is downstairs out of way we didnt have to worry about it closing a 9pm like a lot of games rooms and as blue mountains isnt exactly a night hotspot it was where we relaxed each night after dinner. But there was also fire place to relax if games arent your thing in reception area. The hosts were very friendly I highly recommend staying here as a nice retreat for couple looking to get away and rewind.

Room Tip: downstairs if smoke as door opens to garden but view is better from upstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    56
    22
    10
    2
See reviews for
22
88
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2015

Warm, friendly and comfortable place to stay. Has a nice feeling of relaxation, great views of the valley. Great hideaway, but close enough to shops. Rooms are very spacious and comfortable with modern amenities such as iPad, large flat screen TV and updated furnishings. Charming entrance with fireplace and bookcase gives it a homely feel. Staff are very warm and accommodating. Great value for money. Loved our stay.

Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2015

Perfect for a weekend away from the rat race. So much silence apart from the birds. Rooms are very comfortable with interesting decor. Continental Breakfast was quite filling, additional hot breakfast has large variety. Staff were like friends, nothing was a bother to them.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2015

We visited the Hideaway Retreat for a wedding recently and we were pleasantly surprised by this quirky little place. Situated on the southern side of the railway and well away from the town centre, it certainly lives up to "retreat", and if famous quotations worked into walls, floors and balustrades sound interesting then this is the place for you. There's also a hidden door...on the plus side, rooms are spacious and nicely furnished. The breakfast was excellent with cereals, fruits and house-made sourdough bread. The management were flexible and obliging. The biggest downside was the complete lack of sound insulation between the floors, and in our ground floor room heard every footstep and door opening from the floor above. My advice if you book in here, ask for a first floor room.

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2014

"Quirky" is a good description.

It also provides an adequate accommodation base, but is in a relatively remote position, and is showing its age in many areas.

It's a bushland location, but you can still hear both the highway and the railway that pass behind the building. It's nothing too loud, but quite audible on a still night.

The room we had was clean and basic; it may be a tad warm in mid-Summer. It was great to be able to have the fresh mountain air through the wide open window, but there wasn't a screen on ours, so we were visited by a few mosquitos.

Our "mystery hotel" deal included continental breakfast, which was very good. There's also the option of a cooked breakfast, which seemed quite expensive for what was offered.

We stayed here for location reasons. I'm not sure whether I would stay again; it was probably a bit expensive in my book for what was offered, even though we secured a room for c.$150 for the night.

Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean Shores, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2014

Looking for something a little different than the run of the mill hotel. Try the Hideaway Retreat. Set in the majestic Blue Mountains this hotel offers an opportunity to relax in comfortable and pleasant surroundings with little touches of uniqueness, like their home made sourdough, or the bottles of red left by the fireside table one evening with a sign saying help yourself, or the themed wings with their accompanying art works, or the quotes from famous people written on the edges of the tables, that make your stay just that much more memorable. Of course the you still get to enjoy the magnificent views and stunning scenery which the Blue Mountains provides and these are available a few steps from your room.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms open straight onto the grassed area surrounding the pool, however upstairs rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2014

An amazing and original place to spend some times in the Blue Mountains. The staff is friendly and the place is just magical. There are some small art pieces pretty much everywhere, the view is beautiful and you are in the middle of the Blue mountains which are totally amazing. Thank you for this stay guys. I loved it.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Hideaway Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hideaway Retreat

Address: 50 - 54 Railway Parade, Wentworth Falls, New South Wales 2782, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Wentworth Falls
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Wentworth Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hideaway Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small family owned and run Eco guesthouse and bush retreat. Set on 32 acres of virgin bushland in the heart of the Blue Mountains with a friendly relaxed atmosphere and an ever evolving, eco driven, organically farmed community living experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Hideaway Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hideaway Retreat Centre Hotel Wentworth Falls
The Hideaway Retreat Blue Mountains/Wentworth Falls

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hideaway Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.