We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected Country Hospitality” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Highlands Motor Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Highlands Motor Inn to your Saves list
Highlands Motor Inn
77 - 79 Dart Street, Oberon, New South Wales 2787, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Oberon
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Unexpected Country Hospitality”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

I travel to Oberon from Sydney about five times a year to participate in some advanced embroidery classes which are held just a little drive out of town. My embroidery friends and I have been doing these classes for about five years and I have tried all the motels in Oberon. For the last three years I have settled on staying at the Highlands Motor Inn and enjoy the hospitality of the owners, Greg and Susan. I have watched while the grounds have been upgraded - they are beautiful with exquisite winter roses in the corner and manicured lawns - and the motel rooms have been upgraded. Greg is redoing all the units himself and is meticulous in his work. You can return to your unit at night in freezing conditions and find the heater or electric blanket on, and milk in your fridge - ready for a tottie! Great location - less than 5 minutes walk from the main street for your early cappacino, and with easy parking, and good lighting. Its very clean, and the resident dog Lily, welcomes you with a wonderful display of affection! Its the hospitality that works so well.

Room Tip: Owner Greg is renovating the motel himself - ask for a room with one of the new bathrooms and you wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    16
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
8
19
2
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lake Macquarie, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We recently stayed overnighty at the Highlands Motor Inn in a Deluxe room. The attention to detail in the room was exceptional with quality linen and towelling, the selection of teas and coffees were varied and have not previously been experienced.

Greg and Susan were extremely friendly and helpful hosts and nothing was too much trouble for them. They have implemented many positive changes in the time they have been there.

We can only agree with previous positive reviews and would recommend this Motor Inn to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

My husband and I spent one night here and were very satisfied with the room. It was spacious, modern, very clean and the bed was comfortable. Additionally it was in a quiet area but only a short distance from the main street. Would definitely stay here again

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Had an overnight stay at the Highlands Motor Inn, Oberon. Found hosts Greg and Susan, to be very warm and welcoming, offering a high level of kind and friendly hospitality. Room was clean, well presented and i had the pleasure of staying in one of the recently refreshed 'executive rooms' with recently renovated bathroom. The hotel is conveniently located close to the main street of Oberon (walking distance), yet still peaceful, while offering a good range of dining options and local venues. One of the best accomodation options in Oberon, with the most friendly hosts and reasonable rates, i would definitely recommend a stay at the Highlands Motor Inn.

Room Tip: If booking through a third party website, i would suggest checking the price of the Hotel direct thr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gregg C, Owner at Highlands Motor Inn, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Hi Matt and Back Track crew.
Thank you so much for your review,Greg and I are so glad that you felt like you were at home..
We thoroughly enjoyed having you all here and hope to see you all again.
regards,
Susan & Greg
P.S. Good luck with the Film
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernie, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Motel was immaculate and up-to-date with all our needs thoughtfully provided for, Susan and Greg went above and beyond as hosts, and rates were competitive. Handy to the local bus stop, local restaurants and shops, but very quiet area. Overall, a fabulous get-away.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

checked out motels in Oberon at the week end stayed at Highlands motor Inn. found the host greg n susan to be really warm n thoughtful. our room was expectional very very clean and many finer details had been thought of. would recommond any blokes out there to take your mrs mine finally had nothing to winge about. jay

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katoomba, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Spent Australia day weekend there everything was super clean and neat and tidy.
Greg was a friendly helpful host and pointed us in the right direction for good local food and entertainment. Will definitely stay there again :)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Highlands Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highlands Motor Inn

Address: 77 - 79 Dart Street, Oberon, New South Wales 2787, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Oberon
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Oberon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oberon's No:1 Motel **** Four Star Impressive motel,set in the heart of Oberon. (No need to drive to Oberon's amenities.) Fifteen spacious and tastefully decorated rooms sit nestled in a landscaped garden setting, just 50 metres to the main hub of Oberon with parking outside the rooms. Close to all Tourist attractions. Room configurations are Deluxe, Executive, and Family. Ample parking is available on site for larger vehicles, coaches. We look forward in welcoming you.! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Highlands Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highlands Motor Inn Oberon, Blue Mountains, Australia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Highlands Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.