We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a pity, it could be great !” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Imperial Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Imperial Hotel to your Saves list
Imperial Hotel
1 Station Street, Mount Victoria, New South Wales NSW 2786, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mount Victoria
Carthage, Tunis, Tunisia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“What a pity, it could be great !”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

What a pity, it could be great !
The house is wonderful, full of the past. There is really an interesting atmosphere in there.
BUT it was not cleaned at all !
They have not cleaned the ladies bathroom in 3 days.
We had put food in the frig in theTV room (not welcoming too dirty). We were stolen...
Boil water in a disgusting boiler... I did not take a chance.
I was happy to leave

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    12
    8
    13
    14
See reviews for
9
24
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Parramatta, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Went to the Imperial Hotel, Mt Victoria, Blue Mountains for lunch on New Years Day 2013. Being generous, I would say the experience was 'disappointing', my companion thought is was 'deplorable'. The meal was of poor quality and didn't match the menu description. We thought it quite over priced, the cook was clearly using inferior ingredients (unriped tomatoes) and the food was badly presented. Service was slow. The only good thing about the experience is we now known not to dine there again, especially with friends.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mount Victoria hotels

Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

Went to the imperial for dinner before and had undercooked pizza. Tried again thinking I must have caught a bad day, as the staff was friendly but that is where it ended. After my husband and I ordered beef burgers they came back to tell us there were no more patties. We ordered nachos instead but the chef never got the order and personally had to come out to ask us what we wanted. When we received the nachos they were cold with no melted cheese and mostly corn chips. We will not go back again. I guess the biggest clue should have been another menu on the bistro bar containing a list of ingredients the kitchen had run out of( this was updated with beef after our order was placed).

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

We recently visited the Imperial for an evening meal and for a few drinks. The overall atmosphere is good, the place had a buzz about it which you would expect for a Saturday afternoon / night. We started by having a drink in the bar and was disappointed by the range of beers on tap, not much variety for a place this size. You could get other drinks in tins / bottles, but that is not the same really. The games room has a couple of pool tables you can use for free and a juke box which keeps the family entertained and there were a couple of good fires going to sit near.

We both ordered the hamburger but was really disappointed with mine as it was overdone and had a burnt taste. The bacon was cooked so much it snapped in hard splinters and could not be eaten, but the portion was big enough. This is average pub food at best and I wouldn’t go out of my way to eat there again, there are better bar meals to be found in the Blue Mountains than this. But if you have a family with a number of young children it isn’t a bad place to take them for a meal and they also have toys for them.

Overall the atmosphere was good, especially the live music. But the food and drink on offer let the place down a bit.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

we were lodged directly above the bar on saturday night and staying at a hotel, i expected music.

there seemed to be 2 private functions, 1 in the main bar which had a 2 man band and one in the dining hall which had a stereo and their own music.

come midnight, both were still in full swing. I called reception adn he advised it woudl stop at 1am, however he would ask them to turn the music down which they did.

come 1am the music picked up a gear and i again called reception. he suggested we switch rooms to a quiter section of the hotel. we agreed, he brought up keys and advised we would be sleeping in bunk beds.

i didnt care as long as we could get some sleep.

By this time the patrons were wildly drunk and it was like the owner had decided to let the patrons run the hotel. kids were running throughout the hotel including the bar section.

we settled into our bunk beds, until 3am when i awoke to a fight taking place outside our room. this setteld down and then we heard another fight erupt in the room next door.

RSA seems out the door at this place and as a result the patrons were wild and violent destroying the charm of the hotel and the weekends of every family that stayed there.

on a side note, the food was great. recommend a beer and dinner, but skip the accomodation.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

This place is in need of about $500,000 to return it to its glory. Its looking very tired. We stayed in 4 poster room with the spa, As it was a surprise for me and therefore i did not book it, I think the asking price of $170 was excessive. The continental breakfast in the morning was awful. No one was around at 9pm to help. Could have been better managed. I will not stay there again.

Room Tip: Find an alternative place to stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Gisborne, Victoria
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

After a distasterious night in Blackheath we set off in the morning on our journey through the blue mountains. We turned the corner into Mount Victoria and glanced to see people enjoying breakfast outside on this glorious morning and wondered if the hotel did breakfast only and to our delight they did. For only $12.00 we had a full english breakfast with real lattes in a beautiful paved garden.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Hotel

Address: 1 Station Street, Mount Victoria, New South Wales NSW 2786, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Mount Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mount Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Mount Victoria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Imperial Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.