We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still make a great Devonshire tea” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Petalura

Petalura
26 Station Street, Mount Victoria, New South Wales 2786, Australia
47871220
Improve this listing
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
227 helpful votes 227 helpful votes
“Still make a great Devonshire tea”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

I had been to Mount Victoria twice, on previous occasions, and had always stopped at the Bay Tree Café for scones and a milkshake, because they were the best I had ever tried. In fact, I once reviewed the Bay Tree Café for Tripadvisor. As I was staying in Katoomba, I decided to drive to Mt Victoria for the same special treat.

When I got there, I saw that the café had been renamed as the Petalura Eatery. I was wondering if I had, perhaps, wasted a trip.

I walked in, and ordered a Devonshire tea with a chocolate milkshake. The milkshake was icy COLD, the way I like them. The scones were BIG and HOME-MADE. The strawberry jam was REAL strawberry jam, The cream was REAL cream. And all for a great price.

I wasn't disappointed.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    20
    7
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Great Food, long waits”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Fantastic brunch, really good coffee, nice atmosphere, wish the service could've been faster though (50 mins)

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“3 Hats”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

I recently experienced a most enjoyable luncheon at this attractively
decorated Eatery.

The staff were very efficient and friendly and the food exceptional.

I give them 3 Hats and will be back as soon as I travel this way again
from Warrawee.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Easter Fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Arrived at cafe during lunch time ~ lady at counter was very pleasant to me and my kids and said it would be 45min wait for food ~ we decided we would wait and read mags and papers that are provided~ 50 mins later the food arrived, we didnt mind it was yummy! Fishn chips and kids nuggets ~ will be back with extended family soon ~ keep up the good work!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackheath, Australia
1 review
“Light lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

Dropped in with my very pregnant daughter for a coffee and was pleasantly surprised. Great décor. Great atmosphere. Busy but friendly staff. Food great and beautifully presented. Well worth a visit. I will venture back for breakfast soon.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Petalura also viewed

Mount Victoria, New South Wales
Blackheath, Blue Mountains
 
Blackheath, Blue Mountains
Blackheath, Blue Mountains
 

Been to Petalura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Petalura, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.