We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faulty Towers in the Blue Mountains” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Victoria & Albert Guesthouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Victoria & Albert Guesthouse to your Saves list
Victoria & Albert Guesthouse
19 Station St, Mount Victoria, New South Wales 2786, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
aussie
1 review
“Faulty Towers in the Blue Mountains”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2009

Management, services, facilities and staff were terrible. Do not stay here and waste your money

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    15
    6
    6
    11
See reviews for
13
29
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2009

My friend and I enjoy a time away once a year from husbands, children and granchildren(acturally not so much the grandchildren) We stayed at the Victoria and Albert from Aug13th to Aug21st. We were greeted with very friendly managers and their beautiful baby boy. We were shown through the guesthouse and was able to pick the room we liked. The whole atmosphere was wonderful and the history surrounding the building was amazing. You felt like you owned the guesthouse as you felt so at home. The meals were fantastic and if you are there on a Mon or Thur the pizza's are the BEST EVER. The staff were very accomodating with every need you had and it wasn't long that you felt a part of the family. Thanks so much for a great time of relaxation.

  • Stayed August 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2009

We stayed at the Victoria Albert for one night with another couple. We each had an ensuite room. The Managers were so friendly and gave us a brief tour of the place before leading us to our warm cosy rooms.
The Victoria Albert is a beautiful old building, filled with character and old world charm, i just loved it. The gardens were just beautiful, i'd love to go back in spring when everything is in blossom, im sure it would be gorgeous, but we got to see all the daffodils in bloom.
We could make a coffee, tea or hot choclate for ourselves at any time, and there are
so many little sitting rooms to sit and relax in, play a game of chess or cards by the fire or simply read a book. The weather was lovely so we decided to sit on the back verandah in the sun with the trees and the rosellas, drinking our wine and eating our lovely cheese platter.
Dinner was lovely as well in the quaint little restaurant, and the staff were very attentive.
After a peaceful quite night sleep we had the complimentry breakfast which was included. I'd mentioned it was my husbands birthday when we checked in not really thinking anything about it, so it was a lovely suprise when the Manager bought out a little cake and candle for us, at the breakfast table and we all sang happy birthday to him much to his embarrassment, hee hee.
I loved the Victoria Albert, we will definately be going back. The Managers mentioned they were refurbishing the rooms, even though i personally liked the character of them the way they are, but im sure it will be beautiful and in good taste. Their little baby will get u clucky so be warned.
I'd recommend this hotel to anybody wanting a peaceful break in beautiful surroundings.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2008

We booked to stay at the Victoria & Albert Guesthouse on a spontaneous whim with time to kill on a long weekend. We were quoted $150 a night for an ensuite room (most of the rooms have shared bathrooms) so consequently expected far more from our accommodation than what we encountered when we arrived!

Scarcely larger than the double bed itself, the room was dim, drab and smelly. With nothing other than the bed and the four walls, the room had an oppressive feel to it and from the moment we entered the room, we felt like we were in a cell. There was paint chipping off the skirting boards and the bedding did not look as though it had been laundered in some time. The ensuite - for which we paid the extra cost - was miniscule, with a window that looked out over another rooftop which was something of a dumping ground for old furniture and the like. After only seconds in the room, we could hear the sounds of the other guests in stereo and knew that with this kind of noise during the day, there was no way we would get the relaxing night's sleep we'd sought in our excursion out of the city.

Needless to say, we felt that paying $150 for such a room was excessive. In fact, even paying $50 for it would be pushing it - even on a public holiday, so we marched straight back downstairs and explained to the man at reception that we did not feel we were getting our money's worth so would like to leave. His response was professional and we were not charged any penalties for changing our minds. He was slightly patronising -explaining to us that hotels in the Blue Mountains are not the same as hotels in the city - but was good natured about the situation where others would not be and we were grateful for that.

We turned around and enjoyed a very scenic drive back to Sydney, glad, at least, that we had not spent $150 on a night we would regret. Its location may be picturesque, but this guest house is anything but. It's in dire need of renovation or else a re-evaluation of rates charged.

  • Liked — Professional staff
  • Disliked — High price charged for terrible quality
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrsBoss, New Manager at Victoria & Albert Guesthouse, responded to this review, August 12, 2009
We have recently taken over management and are currently raising the standard as much as possible at this Beautiful, old-world establishment.
I can only apologise for our predecessors, but we are endeavoring to change the Victoria and Albert for the better.
Please give us a go, I hope you will be pleasantly surprised!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mount Victoria hotels

Singapore
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2008

I know we went during off peak season. We were the only occupants of the whole hotel. The guy at the reception was pretty relieved that we had finally turned up. He was as helpful as he could be, as he admitted he was new to this.
There was this stale odour pervading the whole place. The room was sparsely furnished. The TV remote control was missing. The front panel of the TV was broken. I paid for a spa room. The spa had no hot water, even after I had run the water for 15 min. So how the hell do you take a bath in the dead of winter without hot water, let alone enjoy the spa that I had paid for. I went out of the room to look for someone to ask about the hot water. That was about 7pm, when I discovererd my wife and I were the only people in this large, old house. Real spooky.
Breakfast comprised some meagre cereals and toast. You cannot call this a B&B.
And I paid more for this than the Lurline House in Katoomba, which I gave 5 stars!
Maybe my experience in this place was an exception, because of the low occupancy, but I am sorry, if you provide bare bones service, expect to get bare bones ratings.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Territory
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2008

We had a 2 night stay and found it to be bike-friendly ( undercover park ) and a great place to stay.

An old guest-house type hotel with lots of space and gardens with good food and warm well-kept rooms.

We had the Spa room and it even had a lounge-room attached.

The location was great with a short walk to a cafe and interesting shops, and a good pub on the corner.

The staff couldn't have tried harder, and they helped make our stay a great one.

  • Liked — Good, basic accomodation with great staff
  • Disliked — Late night entry was via the rear door - a bit dark.
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Victoria & Albert Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria & Albert Guesthouse

Address: 19 Station St, Mount Victoria, New South Wales 2786, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Mount Victoria
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Mount Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Victoria & Albert Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Victoria & Albert Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.