We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a pleasure” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sassafras Creek

Sassafras Creek
83 Old Bells Line of Rd, Kurrajong, New South Wales 2758, Australia
(02) 45730988
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 9 Restaurants in Kurrajong
Cuisines: Australian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Sydney
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Always a pleasure”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We stumbled across Sassafras Creek Cafe in 2011 when our son was only 5 months old. Together with our then 5 yr old we couldn't be happier with the fact we were always made to feel welcome inspite of having very young kids. Petra and Thomas have been fantastic for this cafe. We have enjoyed the breakfast menu so many times in so many different seasons, the coffee has always been good, the service attentive and Thomas always beams a warm hello and his wife Petra has always been so kind to our sometimes noisy kids. Lunch here is equally good too. A beautiful spot, lovely outlook, good food and service, all in an unpretentious kid friendly environment.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    23
    7
    5
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, NSW
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Kurrajong's finest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Without doubt the best place in the area for Sunday breakfast. Good value, great ambience, friendly staff and a good choice of breakfast menu items.

I'm sure that lunch is just as good but I've always been so tempted by another one of their breakfasts, that I have never got round to lunch.

Weekend newspaper, full breakfast, vegging out watching the cricket the rest of the day with a few tinnies. The perfect day!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Food with a view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

After a long morning of house inspections and with time for lunch before the next, we called into sassafras creek. We have been here before and again the food did not disappoint. My partner had the seafood ragout, which he loved and I had the spicy meatballs with pasta, which was so yummy. Servings were of good size, in fact I couldn't finish all of mine. We also had the bruschetta, which was gorgeous! Staff were attentive and welcoming. Our table was on the back terrace where the views are lovely and the sound of the bellbirds makes a pleasant background to conversation.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westmead, New South Wales, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Delicious food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012 via mobile

Had the pleasure of dining here with my wife. A spur of the moment romantic dinner which was made absolutely brilliant by the lovely food and fantastic flavours.
Chef came a said g'day to check our meal was ok. Warm smile. Genuine bloke.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSW
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Lovely”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012 via mobile

Visited for breakfast and was impressed across the board by the decor, service and food. Would definitely recommend when in this area

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sassafras Creek also viewed

Kurrajong, Hawkesbury Valley
Kurrajong, Hawkesbury Valley
 
Kurrajong, Hawkesbury Valley
Kurrajong, Hawkesbury Valley
 

Been to Sassafras Creek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sassafras Creek, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.