We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok, but pricey” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Chisolm's Restaurant

Chisolm's Restaurant
4655 Jenolan Caves Road, Jenolan Caves, Nsw, Jenolan Caves, New South Wales 2790, Australia
+61 2 6359 3900
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $16 - $27
Cuisines: Bar, European, Australian, Brasserie
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner
Description: Caves house was designed in 1897 by Walter Liberty Vernon as a retreat for the wealthy landowners of NSW. Mr. Vernon was the NSW Government Architect from 1890 to 1911, and designed many landmark buildings throughout Australia, including the Art Gallery of NSW. At Caves House, Vernon's design included an enormous grand dining room, completed in 1924, which is now our magnificent Chisholm's Grand Dining Room. Chisolm's is one of Australia's two remaining 'grand dining rooms', and dining in Chisolm's is one of the many 'must do' experiences whilst staying here at Jenolan Caves. The ambiance and historical significance of the room is an experience in itself, and when matched with our Executive Chef's menu, is the perfect end to a long day of exploring the Caves precinct.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Ok, but pricey”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Food was ok. Service ok. But a little pricey. But considering the isolated location of the caves maybe reasonable. There is a bistro bar adjacent to restaurant ... I think the food maybe much the same , from same kitchen but at much lower prices. If you are not fused for table service eat there.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    23
    12
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Love it! Went four times, will be back many times more.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

The seafood entree was terrific and the beef was excellent, best beef I have had at any restaurant, good serving of it too. We learned the number if the table next to the fire and requested that table each time we booked, and it was lovely. For those not lucky enough to get that table, there are blankets for your knees, but the building is heated well, it just adds an extra cosy touch of warmth. The service is excellent and friendly. The wine list is a little boring if you're not drinking a whole bottle, but oh well, I guess that's because the place is so remote and quiet. If you are ordering a whole bottle the choice is better. The restaurant is large and quiet which was great and made it intimate and relaxing. Breakfast there was also wonderful and I looked forward to it each day, the bay windows at breakfast are glorious.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“A pleasant surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We sneeked in a dinner prior to attending an 8pm extended Orient Cave Tour recently, and were pleasantly surprised with the quality of food and prompt service. It was a quiet Thursday night, and seemed a shame that this charming old world room wasn't catering to more people. If you're doing an evening cave tour, we can highly recommend arriving early to enjoy a Chisolm's dinner.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Very sad experience. They should call it Faulty Towers”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

Seriously, how can a restaurant produce food so bad and chargd high prices for it? Great friendly service but the food is terrible.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good Food in a Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Chisolm's Restaurant is the 'up market' offering at Jenolan Caves House for dinner. Breakfast is also served here, but is also only offered here.

The restaurant is decorated impeccably, only improved by the complimentary wool blankets with each chair to use if you get too cold.

My husband and I had a main and a desert from the (understandably, given the location) fairly limited menu. My meal was excellent, though my husband was a bit disappointed with his.

The service was very prompt since the restaurant was so quiet when we visited (mid week during the school term).

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chisolm's Restaurant also viewed

Jenolan Caves, New South Wales
Oberon, Blue Mountains
 
Katoomba, Blue Mountains
Katoomba, Blue Mountains
 

Been to Chisolm's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chisolm's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.