We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great weekend !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jenolan Caves House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Jenolan Caves House to your Saves list
Jenolan Caves House
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   4655 Jenolan Caves Road, Jenolan Caves, New South Wales 2790, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE tour + 10% Off Room
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Jenolan Caves
Hawkesbury Valley, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Great weekend !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

A great weekend was had by my wife & myself for a special birthday for her. The room was great although it could have been a little warmer especially for my wife. The dining room for our dinners & breakfasts was very good, we were there during Christmas in July, loved the breakfasts. Staff in dining room for both meals were friendly & helpful. Enjoyed the cave tours & the general atmosphere of Caves House, loved the open log fire places. Would recommend to others.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

638 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    238
    143
    46
    49
See reviews for
173
264
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Canberra
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

Beautiful spot, with the Caves and historic Caves House well worth a visit. However limited choice of activities and amenities- be prepared to be a captive audience and pay up for hotel dinner and breakfast and put up with English backpacker staff who make no secret that customer service is not their priority.
I'd highly recommend a day trip.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

The place is in an awesome location. However the room are fairly ordinary. There was silver insulation material taped all over the heating pipeline the room. It was very clean and comfortable but it could do with a revitalisation in the original period.
When you get there its isolated which is lovely for a romantic weekend but you have to dine in there dinning or the kiosk. The dining room is great with amazing food. Very limited menu for vegetarians especially if you are there for more than 2 nights. You can get other meals from the bar which are better value and just as good. The dining room is well over priced. Breakfast was very expensive and fairly disappointing.
We didn't appreciate being told on arrival that they had double booked and wanted us to stay in caves lodge instead and the would sweeten the deal with a free breakfast and bottle of wine. I wouldn't except this an insisted on the original room I had booked. They should have reduced the room price as well as offered the breakfast and the wine. Anyway we did end up in the room we had originally booked.
Overall a great place and the caves are beautiful. Would stay again but only for one night

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

The hotel is in perfect location and very European. We had dinner in the hotel's restaurant and the food was divine! The service was very good too. We had the family appartments with the little kitchenete and we thought it was very costly for what we got in the end.. They are very simple with a very ancient looking t.v We were disappointed when we looked up on the ceilieng and realized that they must have had an accident like fire and they didn t even bother painting the ceiling. They just left it black all around the light!! Also, we went with our 2 little girls so safety is priority..I was suprised to see that the room's lock was not working. It is there but it is broken so If you have a child that sleep walks in the night you ll have to keep an eye out! So a very beautiful hot but not really worth the cost!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Simple, easy, convenient, accommodation in spacious warm room with shared amenities. Good value for money that would suit most people on a budget who would like to explore the caves. Come prepared with food/breakfast as cafe opens late morning.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

We tthoroughly enjoyed our recent trip with overnight accomodation in Caves House. Our traditional room with shared bathroom facilities was the first time we used shared facilities and our expectations were pleasantly met.
The rates for these type of rooms are very reasonable, the shared facilities very clean and at a high standard. Would recomend this type of room to most.

Room Tip: I believe all rooms are very good, however we enjoyed the top floor. Looking out our window provided...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

This place was on my 'bucket' list so stayed 2 nights Mon/Tues in July. As it was advertised as a place to rest and relax we thought it would be very quiet. We stayed in one of the most expensive rooms with an ensuite. HOWEVER we were on the 2nd floor with the restaurant below and a room above. Unfortunately someone in the restaurant decided to play the grand piano at 9.15 on Monday night and continued until after 9.45. The piano may as well have been in our room as were unable to read or talk without raising our voices. The people above us were not unusually noisy but every time they walked on the floor during the night or used the bathroom it was VERY loud. The heating system is also very noisy and it sounded like we had a gardener with a pick below our window at 7am.
The food is great and reasonably priced and the service in the bar and restaurant was fabulous!
At checkout I waited for half an hour as there was only one receptionist on duty who dealt with a phone booking and then served another person to checkout who had arrived at least 20 mins after me.
The caves and area is fabulous and well worth the visit but would stay on the 3rd floor or elsewhere if available.

Room Tip: Stay on the top(3rd) floor as floors very, very, squeaky and noisy and hear other bathrooms etc. Oth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jenolan Caves House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jenolan Caves House

Address: 4655 Jenolan Caves Road, Jenolan Caves, New South Wales 2790, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Jenolan Caves
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Jenolan Caves
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Jenolan Caves House 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heritage listed Jenolan Caves House has been operating since 1896. Accommodation ranges from backpacker dormitories, self catering cottages, modern motel rooms to our Heritage listed guest house. Dine in one of Australia's last Grand Dining Rooms - Chisolms Restaurant or for something less formal try Jeremiah's Bar or our cafe/bistro. Tours of Australia's most spectacular caves operate daily. Tours range from a leisurely stroll to getting down and dirty with adventure caving. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Jenolan Caves House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jenolan Caves House Hotel Jenolan Caves
Jenolan Caves Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jenolan Caves House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.