We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificent historic old hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jenolan Caves House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Jenolan Caves House to your Saves list
Jenolan Caves House
4655 Jenolan Caves Road, Jenolan Caves, New South Wales 2790, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Jenolan Caves
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Magnificent historic old hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

Wow. If you want to feel like you've left Australia for a few days, come and stay here. This is so historic, its like something the railroad pioneers built in the Rocky Mountains, or the Austrians might have built in the Alps a hundred years ago. Its a little odd and quirky, as soon as you realise that it was made in pieces by adding on, rather than planned from the start, but its still pretty charming. Check their website for good deals to stay in the actual hotel rather than the hostel type accommodation out the back. And look for the platypus in the evening and morning in the blue lagoon on the other side of the tunnel!

Room Tip: Hostel etc. accommodation should be avoided, try stay in the main hotel - you've come this far...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeanneellamsRT, Rooms Division Manager at Jenolan Caves House, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear Kenny F

Thank you for your feedback , yes I agree that when you approach the Grand Arch and enter through that you have left present day and gone back to the early 1900's.

The platypus is one of the most viewed animals here at Jenolan Caves.
We have several styles of accomodation to choose from ranging from backpackers through to Ensuited rooms in Caves House.

We hope you return soon.
Regards
Leanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    187
    110
    31
    37
See reviews for
125
195
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
queensland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

Celebrated a special occasion. Room was dated and dark. Unfortunately unable to sleep as party goers chatting and talking in the front of the hotel. Noise continued up to 4am. AC was not functioning properly during the night so not sure what the problem was.
On a brighter note staff in the Chifley restaurant very good.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeanneellamsRT, Rooms Division Manager at Jenolan Caves House, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear Queenslandroaming

Thank you for your feedback , it seems you did not quite have the stay you expected.
However , it is nice to read that the team in the restaurant were helpful and friendly.

I would hope you will return to experience the true Jenolan Caves House stay.
Regards
Leanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, Australia
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

The accommodation is gorgeous and what i had expected from this beautiful historic hotel. We had a room with an ensuite - plenty of hot water, the bed was so comfortable with fantastic crisp linen. Probably the only downside is the lack of a bar fridge. The staff were so friendly and helpful. We had afternoon tea in the bar area and it was so nice to be greeted and treated in such a lovely happy manner by a clearly happy staff member. We had breakfast in the dining room - nice selection of breakfast items to choose from. And again pleasant staff. We took advantage of spending the time on a cave tour and a took a couple of enjoyable walks around the Blue Lake - the stand out of the visit was the opportunity of watching a platypus swimming and playing in the lake.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeanneellamsRT, Rooms Division Manager at Jenolan Caves House, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear Pumpkin20

It is always nice to received feedback not only about your stay but also that the team here were helpful.
Yes in keeping with the historic hotel we dont have fridges in the Cave House rooms - there are communal fridges in the laundry rooms.
We do however have fully self contained rooms in Mountain Lodge which is located 100m behind Caves House.

I am pleased to hear that you did see the platypus - he is very cute.

We do look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Regards
Leanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

The hotel was amazingly surprisely fit us very well. We spent two nights there and both night was well maintain and with enough blankets and bedding facilities to keep both of us warm on the cold night. Shower and toilet facitlies also excellent

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeanneellamsRT, Rooms Division Manager at Jenolan Caves House, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear Malik L

Thank you for your feedback it is greatly appreciated.
The Mountain Lodge King has all the facilities that anyone could need.

We hope to see you inthe near future.
Regards
Leanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

Great food, superb accommodation, excellent service.
Staff was extremaly helpfull, polite, smiling and trying to assist in any way possible.
Restarant food and service was just superb.
Accommodation style fits perfectly and complements the location and its character.
Remote location was just perfect for a relaxing weekend or romantic weekend away - no traffic, city noise, absolute quiet, nature etc.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeanneellamsRT, Rooms Division Manager at Jenolan Caves House, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Dear Roman Juskey

It is always nice to here that the staff were helpful and polite.
It sounds like we ticked all the right boxes.
We look forward to seeing you return in the near future,

Regards
Leanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

With a group of friends we have mountainbiked the entire, famous, historic Six Foot Track to and from Jenolan Caves over the weekend. The service, assistance (hotel offered a secured storage for our bikes) and a superb accommodation were far beyond our expectations. And the juicy steak and a cold bear never tasted better after all day mountainbiking! I could not recommend a better place for a relaxing weekend - no traffic, no city noise, absolute quiet and best sleep overnight, fresh air and nothing but nature. And the amazing labyrinth of underground caves to explore all day. We'll be doing this trip again for sure!!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeanneellamsRT, Rooms Division Manager at Jenolan Caves House, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Dear Roman Juskey

Thank you for your feedback. Wow that is quite a ride.
We look forward to your group returning , it sounds like a long and exhausitng ride.
I am guessing the thought of a nice cold beer and steak will entice you to finish.

We welcome you back in the near future.
Leanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

I had such a lovely stay at Caves House and I only regret not booking a second night. The Queen bed room was clean, comfortable and quiet with a beautiful ensuite. Pillows were luxurious and the shower was large, hot and strong! Had a nice meal at the bar and an excellent breakfast in Chisholms. All the staff were super friendly. I did three cave tours in a day and would have done a fourth the following morning if my legs hadn't been aching. It goes without saying that the caves were stunning and the guides were excellent. Jenolan is certainly a special place and the icing on the cake was seeing a platypus in the Blue Lake. Can't wait to come back.

Room Tip: I was very happy with Room 314. Quiet and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeanneellamsRT, Rooms Division Manager at Jenolan Caves House, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear Belinda H

You certainly made the most of your stay.
Three caves is a great effort! How nice you even saw one of our resident Platypi - there is a couple.
From what you have said maybe your next visit should be a couple of days.
We look foward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Regards
Leanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jenolan Caves House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jenolan Caves House

Address: 4655 Jenolan Caves Road, Jenolan Caves, New South Wales 2790, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Jenolan Caves
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Jenolan Caves
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heritage listed Jenolan Caves House has been operating since 1896. Accommodation ranges from backpacker dormitories, self catering cottages, modern motel rooms to our Heritage listed guest house. Dine in one of Australia's last Grand Dining Rooms - Chisolms Restaurant or for something less formal try Jeremiah's Bar or our cafe/bistro. Tours of the World's Oldest Show Cave System operate daily. Tours range from a leisurely stroll to getting down and dirty with adventure caving. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Jenolan Caves House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jenolan Caves House Hotel Jenolan Caves
Jenolan Caves Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jenolan Caves House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.