We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, old fashioned service.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of St. Mount's Boutique Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added St. Mount's Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
St. Mount's Boutique Hotel
194 Great Western Highway, Blackheath, New South Wales 2785, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Blackheath
Sunshine Coast
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Friendly, old fashioned service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

We just spent a long weekend to celebrate our wedding anniversary at St.Mounts.And that we did, great food, great wine and special people-we felt a real part of perfectly situated Blackheath community. We really enjoyed our time in Blackheath, all due to our hosts Jack and Marlina, in their charming old guesthouse. Such a warm friendly and informative welcome from Jack and we loved the relaxed atmosphere. We could not top the amazing food in the restaurant, we had to go back again and again, the duck and creme brulee were to die for..Thankyou so much for an amazing time--we made the most of our time-hiking and horse-riding.Try out the local pub and the cute cafes, great food, beautiful place and fun stay at St. Mounts!!!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    33
    11
    12
    6
See reviews for
13
60
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Central West
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

Once again thank you Jack and Malina. We had another warm and romanitc weekend in this charming old place. I love the antique collection of funrniture and "tid bits". The food was great and the Chef was a real character. Blackheath and surrounds has alot to offer and St Mounts is a good base to see it all from. Much more relaxed than Katoomba and Leura.

Room Tip: I had a look at the cottages for the next visit with the kids. Heaps more room than the rooms in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011 via mobile

Do yourself a favour, don't do it. Old, smelly, dirty and not well maintained, rooms are small, dark and dingey, the whole place resembled something from a horror movie. Still have shivers up my spine when I think of it.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Gisborne, Victoria
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

I would just like to warn anyone thinking of staying in one of the so called quaint old cottages with this hotel. The cottage was damp as if it had not been let for a while and whilst it was clean and tidy there is certainly no way this a 4.0+star property!! The heaters didn't work the wood for the fire burnt through in half a hour - it was a real pain having to relight the fire 5 times in one night and the noise from the trains which were just behind the cottage ( never mentioned in the advert) was incredibly loud the building shook at times. The owner may have thought the cobwebs and damp and tatty old furnishings helped towards the overall affect we did not.. no wonder it has a no refund policy - as we would have definately left it we could... there were other things that felt uncomfotable and I could write pages but I wont .. Just ask for photos 1st..
I think the worst thing is this wasn't cheap $200 for one night. The following night we stayed at the World Tower in Sydney which only boasts 4.5+ Stars... in my opinion if St Mounts is 4.0+ then the World Tower should be 10 star.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011 via mobile

We booked this hotel on lastminute.com.
We were greeted on arrival by very friendly staff and offered a choice of available rooms.
This is an old historical building as is common in the area and this should be taken into account.
We had dinner in the Italian restaurant downstairs and it was great.
We had after Dinner drinks in the lounge room in front of a beautiful log fire.
Probably wouldn't impress everybody but we thought it was beautiful.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

We returned to the Blue Mountains for a 3 night stay over the public holiday weekend for our 25th anniversary celebration. We booked the King Suite with spa - which appeared to have a lot of old world charm and private seclusion from the advertising.

We were extremely disappointed as having booked a spa room - the SPA DID NOT WORK!! Little was communicated back to us as to its state of repair after reporting it unusable on the first evening and then the second evening. Three lights were not working in the bathroom. The four poster bed was missing one top beam and had no trim, the clock did not work and made a lot of noise. A fridge that was supposed to be in the room was taken away after we were shown the room and not replaced - deemed unusable. Cleanliness was mediocre. Room not made up every day - but towels were changed. The size of the room and heating were the only pluses. No offer to compensate for lack of facilities.

A large sitting area was next to our room for entertainment and relaxation which including a fireplace and lounge next to our bedroom wall. I HAD MORE PRIVACY AT HOME!!! It was noisy right through to midnight and with young children staying at the premises they were up early running around!! NOT A RELAXING HOLIDAY.....

Breakfast was good (cereal/toast/fruit/yogurt/milk/juice/water) and help yourself.

We also ate at the restaurant the first night - which was not a meal to write home about - overpriced and lacked quality. We shared aroncini balls (3) goats cheese with garlic aioli and salad. They lacked flavour - eatable. I had the prawn risotto and my husband had the mushroom and chorizo risotto. My risotto was dry - prawns were succulent and abundant. My husband's risotto was the opposite - very runny. Not a great effort.

The location had merit but I will not be recommending a stay at St Mounts.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2011

Our Easter stay at St Mounts Magnolia Cottage was wonderful. We were warmly greeted and shown to a very clean, well equipped cottage. The stove and microwave appeared to be new and there were no less than four oil and electrical heaters, aside from the fixture in the bathroom. Traffic noise from the highway was negligible and the stay quiet, relaxing and uninterrupted. We enjoyed the well chosen, complimentary bottle of wine and were impressed when the Easter Bunny left us some eggs. The Trattoria restaurant served delicious food and the staff were attentive, prompt and friendly. We strongly recommend St Mounts for its service, facilities and excellent food.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to St. Mount's Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Mount's Boutique Hotel

Address: 194 Great Western Highway, Blackheath, New South Wales 2785, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Blackheath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Blackheath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St Mounts Guest House is a Victorian guesthouse in the Upper Blue Mountains village of Blackheath. Guests can enjoy the feeling of true Blue Mountains hospitality. We have the main house which has 7 ensuited rooms, lounge and sitting areas with open fireplaces, and we offer a casual free Continental breakfast. We are on 2 acres of established gardens and only a 3 minute walk to the village of Blackheath where you will find many great restaurants, cafes and local pubs. Our very own Italian restaurant is open every night of the week and is very popular amongst locals. If you are travelling in a group, we also have garden cottages which are self contained. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your St. Mount's Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Mounts Boutique Hotel
St. Mount's Boutique Hotel Blackheath, Blue Mountains

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. Mount's Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.