We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Week end relax at Kubba Roonga Guesthouse” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kubba Roonga Guesthouse

Save Saved
You added Kubba Roonga Guesthouse to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Kubba Roonga Guesthouse
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   9 Brentwood Ave., Blackheath, New South Wales 2785, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 7 Blackheath B&B and Inns
Paris, France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Week end relax at Kubba Roonga Guesthouse”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We (european tourists)went to Blue Mountains without any reservation for the night, not knowing that these days June 22nd - 23rd are busy days in Katoomba and surroundings. We were lucky to find Kubba Roonga and Chris, the Kubba Roonga Master of Ceremony ! It was really a good stay; too short as it only was for one night. This is a very nice accommodation in a 1915 heritage house with nice furnitures and five nice guest rooms.

Next time we will come back !

Matthias + Marian

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    37
    19
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
47
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We stayed 2 nights and found the whole experience peaceful, warm & friendly. The bed was extremely comfortable. Chris our host took the time to ensure we were comfortable & had all the local information we needed. Ideal spot if you like walking rather than driving into the main street, want a personal touch and hearty breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

My husband and I stayed here to get our fill of autumn colour in the mountains !
A delightful guest house with little touches to make guests welcome and the new owner Chris was great. Little nooks to sit and read near cosy fireplaces, what more could antyone want for a getaway
A cosy warm room and a brilliant breakfast as well.
I suggest you ring them to book rather than use websites, a lovely more personal way to get in touch with Chris !

Room Tip: Ring and talk to Chris about your preferences, we had a front room and beautifully peaceful through...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shellharbour
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Spent two nights at the guesthouse. Host Chris was absolutely fantastic. The guesthouse is very charming and new host Chris was most welcoming. Breakfast was hearty and delicious. Fund the whole experience really good. Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Really interesting house - old colonial style, mostly wooden. Really comfortable bed; and well heated as 0 degrees outside. Sizeable lounge area and board games; straightforward parking. Very welcoming owner (though I understand it may be soon to change hands). Blackheath really nice - it is quite a walk into the centre for a meal though, and roads poorly lit.
Best thing was probably good amount of comfortable lounge space.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Kubba Roonga is a great choice for those who are not fussed about staying in Leura / Katoomba.
Our room (room 6) was fairly small but with a huge spa bathroom. As others have mentioned, the towels could have been larger, but everything else fantastic. the room was heated, there are heat lamps in the bathroom and a heated blanket on the bed if you wish. would have been good to have digital tv, but that's okay. also, we didn't get 'locally made' chocs as others did - we got ferrero rochers! So a little disappointed with that!
The lounge area was beautiful, cosy and welcoming, especially the complimentary port and the roaring fire and the complimentary newsapapers and magazines.
Breakfast was a little disappointing, edible but not great.
It also would have been good to have 'black-out; curtains on the windows as we were woken quite early with the light coming in the light curtains - not great for a relaxing weekend.
I was a little put out with a knock on the door at two minutes to 11am reminding us that we had 'only two minutes left to check out'. It would have been good to have at least ten minutes grace period before a reminder of check-out time, though perhaps that is the norm for guesthouses compared to hotels where you usually get up to an hour grace.
A recommendation: Cabin and co on the blackheath high st has a great new coffee place in thte back of the shop. Govett's Leap lookout was my favourite of the weekend. And book early for a meal at Ashcrofts as it's well worth the $78 for two or $88 for three courses if you're looking for a special meal.
I would recommend Kubba Roonga to stay. However, of note we saw a for sale sign in the front garden when we stayed (sept 2012) so not sure if a change in ownership will affect the service and environment.
For more infor about Blue Mountains, I wrote on my blog: http://aussiedollars.wordpress.com/2012/10/01/a-weekend-in-the-blue-mountains/

Room Tip: room six was good. I think room one and two are near the front door and you may be disturbed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bathurst, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Stayed in room with spa bath. Guesthouse is in good, quiet location with nice gardens. Short taxi ride to local restaurants. The furnishings were good quality, but dated. No bubble bath provided for spa and towels were just small bath towels, not bath sheets. TV wasn't digital and didn't even get ABC, plus no fridge in room - just communal one in dining room. Positives were robes, free wi-fi and chocolates, and freshly cooked breakfast, fruit and pot of tea were great.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kubba Roonga Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kubba Roonga Guesthouse

Address: 9 Brentwood Ave., Blackheath, New South Wales 2785, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Blackheath
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Blackheath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kubba Roonga Guesthouse 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kubba Roonga Guesthouse is a beautiful heritage guesthouse at Blackheath in the heart of the World Heritage Blue Mountains National Park. You can walk into the National Park from your door to enjoy the many spectacular walks in the area as well as being 10 minutes away from other major attractions such as the three Sisters and the villages of Katoomba and Leara. At Kubbaroonga you will find a warm welcome and delicious breakfasts to ensure you have a great stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo and Venere so you can book your Kubba Roonga Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kubba Roonga Guesthouse Blackheath, Blue Mountains

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kubba Roonga Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.