We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting menu” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Escarpment

Escarpment
246 Great Western Highway, Blackheath, New South Wales NSW 2785, Australia
+61 2 4787 7269
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 28 Restaurants in Blackheath
Price range: $6 - $22
Cuisines: Tapas
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The Escarpment is a beautiful Tapas Restaurant Open Thursday to Sunday 11.30Am for Lunch 5.30Pm for Dinner
Blackheath, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Interesting menu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

The new owners are trying hard and it seems to be working. They now have papas as well as the other very nice things on the menu. Hope it keeps improving.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    27
    8
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NSW Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful Tapas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

We dropped in on a Thursday night and were pleasantly surprised at the quality of the food and the friendly, prompt and attentive service.

Having eaten tapas at a few places including Bannisters pool bar, escarpment rates as the best, and is BYO as well! The patatas Bravas, the asparagus, the pork belly, the pear salad and the chicken were all spot on!

All of the 5 tapas dishes we had were excellent, the shared dessert plate first class and the Sambucca an Raspberry Icecream was wow. My partner really loved the peanut butter and jelly icecream too.

We will definitely return when next in the blue mountains.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful dinner spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

We were told to try Escarpment by a friend and it did not disappoint. In an unassuming spot in the main drag at Blackheath is a lovely little old terrace style building housing this little gem.

The service is friendly and efficient and the tapas style food is excellent. We shared a main and a few tapas dishes and it was more than enough, especially with the dessert plate for two. Plus it's BYO - what more could you want?

It's a great alternative the all the fine dining style restaurants in the Blue Mountains.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Would return anytime!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

We tried this restaurant on Saturday evening. Fortunately we arrived early, as we had no reservation and half of the tables were reserved, and they were turning others away a few minutes later. We opted for the fresh individual miniature bread loaf piping hot from the oven, with olive oil, the olives plate and then one of the half dozen or so main courses each, rather than the tapas.

The paella was excellent, as was the steak Diane (tender flank steak with "finger licking" sauce).

The service was professional and prompt (I could not fault it), the ambience cosy, and the overall experience did not disappoint. The meal represented excellent value and we would have no hesitation in returning.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
300 reviews 300 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 106 cities Reviews in 106 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
“Underwhelming”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

After a very good review in the Good Food Guide we expected escarpment to provide a very good meal. While it wasn't a disaster it also wasn't very amazing. The food (we ordered tapas) was rather on the bland side. Best dish was Patatas Bravas.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Escarpment also viewed

Blackheath, Blue Mountains
Blackheath, Blue Mountains
 
Blackheath, Blue Mountains
 

Been to Escarpment? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Escarpment, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.