We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic for the family” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Federation Gardens & Possums Hideaway

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Federation Gardens & Possums Hideaway to your Saves list
Federation Gardens & Possums Hideaway
3.5 of 5 Ranch   |   185 Evans Lookout Road, Blackheath, New South Wales 2785, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
AUD245 off room rate
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Fantastic for the family”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Had a wonderful weekend at Federation Gardens. The accommodation was clean and comfortable, and well-equipped. Having the fire set was a nice touch when arriving late on a Friday evening. The grounds are wonderful, the kids loved kicking the footy, playing in the games room and swimming in the pool. Toasting marshmallows around the fire was also a winner. Quite simply, the weekend went too quickly.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    27
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
26
39
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Comfortable well equipped cottages - gas or slow combustion fires as well as reverse cycle a/c. Spacious lawns, games room, bbq's, fire pit (toast those marshmallows!) indoor heated pool, and tennis court are great for kids. Very quiet. Backs on to walking trails to cave and Evans Lookout and on to Govett's Leap Lookout - magnificent views without the crowds of Katoomba.

Staff were friendly and helpful. However be aware there are no stoves or ovens in the cottages (only microwave). Shower was leaking on the floor - not able to be fixed until after we left.

Room Tip: Tip - not all cottages have queen double beds - so ask. Also ask for a cottage which is north facing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Loved our stay at federation gardens. While the accommodation was nothing flash and a little dated, the grounds are beautiful and the location is great. The staff were super friendly and welcoming. The kids loved running around the place and met some new friends. We left wishing we'd spent a bit more time on the grounds rather than gallivanting off to Katoomba and Leura. Would definitely visit again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We arrived very late on a Friday night and found a clean, modern and welcoming hideaway. The fireplace was ready and the room was kept warm. The cabin included a wonderful whirlpool bath and a fully equipped kitchen, with abundant food for the whole stay.
During our stay we also received unexpected "greedy" visitors, two sweet possums ready to be fed with fruit!
A part from the secluded cabin, absolutely cosy and romantic, the location of the whole complex is ideal since in few minutes you can go for a walkabout and easily reach the Walls Cave through a pleasant track.
The residence includes many facilities such as a bbq area, a clean swimming pool and a tennis court, rendering it a good location for families as well.
The entire experience and atmosphere at Possums Hideaway was absolutely amazing, at only 2 hours drive from Sydney!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We wanted to take the children to Jenolan Caves so chose Federation Gardens purely by accident thru the web with its position close to the caves and also to Katoomba, although Blackheath had all you could want cafes, restaurants. We loved the atmosphere of the mountains. It had everything you need for a family lots of area for the children to explore, the pool, the log fire, bbq tennis courts playroom equipped with everything they could want to play with. Children made new friends and the cabins we equipped with everything you could want for a family. I can not recommend highly enough thank you for a great Sydney break

Room Tip: We stayed in the cabins and were very happy with them. We really appreciated the rooms being warmed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

My partner and I loved spending the weekend in our secluded cabin at Possums Hideaway.

The staff were so friendly and suggested one of the most gorgeous local lookouts - it was breathtaking and we had it all to ourselves. There is also a 1hr cave walk (took us 30mins) right behind the complex which made for the perfect morning walk.

We spent our days exploring the lookouts and shops in Luera, Katoomba and Echo Point which were an easy 10-15min drive away but were always happy to get back to our clean and cosy cabin to spend our evenings in front of the fireplace.

We also ate at the local thai restaurant in Blackheath on the saturday night which was very busy but it made for a good atmosphere, in addition to friendly staff, delicious food and BYO.

My partner spends a lot of work trips in 5 star hotels but loved Possums Hideway and wants to return again next year!

Thanks for help making our anniversary trip such a special one.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toowoomba, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

I loved the atmosphere of the mountains and the fireplace was so beautiful and warm. Staff were friendly and helpful will all requests. However some of the fixture were broken, i.e the toilet seat and a couple of powerpoints needed attention. Overall a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Federation Gardens & Possums Hideaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Federation Gardens & Possums Hideaway

Address: 185 Evans Lookout Road, Blackheath, New South Wales 2785, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Blackheath
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Blackheath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Federation Gardens & Possums Hideaway 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Federation Gardens & Possums Hideaway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Federation Gardens & Possums Hideaway Blackheath, Blue Mountains

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Federation Gardens & Possums Hideaway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.