We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best steak sandwich” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wattle Cafe

Wattle Cafe
240 Great Western Highway, Blackheath, New South Wales 2785, Australia
0247878153
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 28 Restaurants in Blackheath
Cuisines: Australian, Café, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Wellington
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Best steak sandwich”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

This place is worth visiting.. Great coffee, cakes and the best steak sandwiches.. Be hungry if you order one

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    33
    6
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Delicious food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014 via mobile

Chips with the lime aoili were awesome. I had the chicken ceasar salad and it was large and very tasty and also easy to eat. The waitress was lovely and accommodating. Kid friendly. Bit pricey but food was great quality, and I'm happy to pay for great food

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Good food, reasonably priced, prompt service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

Stopped in there on Sunday on the way back from the Elvis Festival in Parkes. Paid $11 for the egg/bacon/rocket salad & cheese roll which, contrary to other people's opinion, I regarded as quite reasonable. Long black was just right - not too strong that you could stand a spoon up in it, nor too weak. I earn good money and am not afraid to spend it if I think I'm getting good value.
Service was good, even though the staff were being run off their feet at 11 am on a Sunday in the Blue Mountains. I had just walked in there from next door where I had been asked to take a seat and wait for service....after 10 minutes I got up and went to the Wattle Cafe.
On the minus side, and it's a minor gripe, they could do with those magnetic curtains over the door to keep those flies out. That or an air curtain/blower would do the trick.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Overly priced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

We called in on Sunday afternoon & ordered one salad & 4 coffees which cost just over $30 which was a lot higher than what was on the menus. Didn't notice until we had paid for it what the total was charged but if they have a surcharge on Sundays then it should be clearly noted for customers to see...that's all we could put the overcharge to which equated to 20% of the bill.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“great little cafe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

good coffee, and nice breakfasts. Visited twice while we were in Blackheath recently. Definitely a place to head back to on our next visit.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wattle Cafe also viewed

Blackheath, Blue Mountains
Blackheath, Blue Mountains
 
Blackheath, Blue Mountains
 

Been to Wattle Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wattle Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.