We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Comfortable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Balranald Capri Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Balranald Capri Motel to your Saves list
Balranald Capri Motel
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   207 Market Street, Balranald, New South Wales 2715, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Balranald B&B and Inns
Victoria, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Very Comfortable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Have stayed here years ago, was ok then so just automatically booked the Capri on this trip from Canberra to Broken Hill. Has changed a lot since our last visit, new owner Grant has done a lot by the looks of it. Our room was clean and fresh, bed comfortable, shower great.

They now offer evening meals to your room, but as we were travelling with another couple
we went down to the Ex-serviceman's Club for tea, excellent service and great meal at a reasonable price.

Will stay here again when we travel this way.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joanner453, Owner at Balranald Capri Motel, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank you for your great review.
We are really happy you enjoyed our hospitality and your room was nice and comfy.
Look forward to seeing you again.
Kindest Regards
Grant & Jo-Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    18
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
10
14
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toowoomba
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

If you want to feel welcome and that nothing is a problem, then I recommend the Capri Motel in Balranald NSW. Jo-Anne and Grant were very friendly. The home cooked breakfast and dinner were great value and quality. Will definitely stay there on our next trip south.
Terry and Cassie, Toowoomba.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joanner453, Owner at Balranald Capri Motel, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thanks ever so much for your review. It is really rewarding for us when we know guests have enjoyed their stay here.
The chef always enjoy the feedback.
We look forward to seeing you again.

Kindest Regards
Jo-Anne & Grant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Arranged to arrive at 8 pm after a long haul from Canberra and got there at 8 to be greeted by the friendly proprietor who got me to my room quicktime. Stayed at this motel in 2012 and knew I would get a good sleep. Woke up early next morning fully rested - another good sleep - excellent.
At $65 a night, this is great budget value. Balranald is also a nice little country town on the Murrumbidgee river. Had a good shower and back on the Sturt highway.

Room Tip: For Sturt Highway long distance travellers, this is great budget accommodation
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joanner453, Owner at Balranald Capri Motel, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Thank you for taking time to write a review.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay here again.
Look forward to seeing you next time.
Kindest Regards
Jo-Anne & Grant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whyalla, South Australia, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Staying in the family room overnight whilst returning home from holiday.
The room was clean, beds were comfortable and the shower is great.
We also enjoyed room service of home cooked meals which tasted really good.
The owners are friendly and accommodating. This is the motel we will stay in on our future trips.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joanner453, Owner at Balranald Capri Motel, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
We would like to thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again. Kind Regards Jo-Anne and Grant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Friendly and helpful, the couple who run this motel are an asset to Balranald. Am now planning a third stay (the first two were transits, the first to Sydney during the fire season, the second a trip to Adelaide last week). Next time it will be with family with the Capri as a base for a round trip to see the Walls of China, the Mungo National Park loop etc. The room was BIG, the shower recess even bigger and with a wall that allowed privacy so others could use toilet facilities (helpful in a morning rush with kids). Appreciated the basin in the bed/lounge area AND the meal to the room at night (home-made!). Some might describe the rooms as fairly basic but the beds are VERY comfortable, the rooms quiet, air-conditioned and roomy (coffee and tea-making facilties and toaster AND enough milk for a few cups of tea). AND the tariff was reasonable for a single older traveller ($75). But above all it is the friendly helpful service that makes this motel the place to stay.(Thanks for maps and contacts for tour-guide too for next time).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joanner453, Owner at Balranald Capri Motel, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Thank you for your fantastic review.
It is great to know you enjoyed your visit with us, the feedback is really appreciated.
Look forward to seeing you on your next trip.

Kind Regards
Jo-Anne and Grant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

we have stayed at the balranald capri motel in Jan 2012 and Jan 2013. we have found it to be the perfect stop over on our return trip from sydney. the rooms are fantastic, owners are beautiful, helpful and do a great job. very welcoming place and a great place to stop. the rooms are a great size and price. you pay a lot more for a lot less almost everywhere! so worth it. we apperciate how quiet and peaceful it is. plenty of room for couples or families. thank you for such a great motel. we will be sure to see you again soon. Joanne xx

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We were traveling from South Coast NSW to Adelaide, and had been booked in at a caravan park which we cancelled due to not liking it.

So a last minute reservation to the capri was made and what a God send when you've been driving for 8 hours straight and staying in a caravan park for a week. Dated, yes, and not much to do, but for a stop over it was perfect!

A comfy bed, great shower, nice big tv's (compared to what you usually get) and a/c that cooled the room down in no time. Friendly service upon arrival and no troubles at all.

We stayed as a stop over for one night, and were extremely happy with the $85.00 fee and will definitely be using this as our stop over point again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Balranald Capri Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balranald Capri Motel

Address: 207 Market Street, Balranald, New South Wales 2715, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Balranald
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Balranald
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Balranald Capri Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated close to the town centre and local attractions, the Capri motel has rooms for singles, double and most sized families and budgets with good old fashioned country hospitality. Our location is on the Sturt Highway between the Eastern capitals and Adelaide so it makes Balranald the perfect place to stop overnight or for a few days. Your hosts Jo-Anne and Grant Invite you to come and sit by the pool, watch the beautiful sunset while cooking a BBQ or use our communal kitchen and cook a meal or just relax and let us cook you a meal from our Room Service menu or you could go for a walk or drive to the Ex-Serviceman's Club, hotel or one of our many eateries.... Or, just ask our friendly staff and they will drop and pick you up in the courtesy car. We offer 12 ground floor units with ensuites and are well equipped with flat screen T.V, microwave, tea and coffee making facilities, toaster, r/c air conditioning and hair dryers. We also have free WiFi . Foxtel (3 rooms) is available on request. We offer off-street private parking with ample room to accommodate guests with trailers and large vehicles .Breakfast is available to your room. We are also a pet- friendly motel. Why don't you come for the 5 rivers outback festival, the Balranald Race and Derby days , Murrumbidgee Fishing Classic ,The Three rivers Run Challenge or explore Yanga and Mungo National Parks and stay for a few days. We look forward to meeting you and making your stay memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Balranald Capri Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Balranald Capri Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.