We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Par Excelence” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shambhala - CLOSED

Shambhala
Marlin # 32, Yelapa, Mexico
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Healthy
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Yelapa, Mexico
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Par Excelence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

OK, the end of the current season closes in upon those of us who proudly call Yelapa home. My wife, Diana’s last night in town before heading “al norte” called for just the right touch. This was a no-brainer, it was off to Shambhala. Diana requested a masterfully crafted strawberry rum punch while I refused to deviate from my norm—a lime margarita on the rocks no salt. We listened with anticipation as each libation was individually created. Our drinks arrived in advance of the setting sun, so that the pastels of the sunset provided the backdrop for the enjoyment of the beverages before us. In due time, Diana’s Arrechera Role arrived. Now arrechera is roughly the equivalent of a prime cut of steak. Ray prepares this dish with two slabs of steak separated by infused goat cheese. The end effect is to cause acute cerebral arrest punctuated by endless “OOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOs.” My selection was the Shrimp Costa Azul which consists of four giant shrimp wrapped in bacon and grilled. It is to die for. Both plates were complimented with rice, steamed vegetables and garlic bread. Before we pushed back from the table, it had already been defined as a night to remember. Buen Provecho!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    2
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful view and really tasty food!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

Light candles with a beautiful setting of tables upstairs. We ordered some spring rolls that came with a green salad and some goat cheese. These was really good fried spring rolls, best ever! Guacamole was kind of spice, maybe a lot of lime and some fresh chopped chilli peppers! Pretty impressive with some warm fried chips. Just amazing! We also ordered some veggie burgers that were decently good. As we were the last ones in the restaurant, they were frying some portuguese donuts for the following morning. We got some out of the pan, really Awesome fresh ones! I really apreciated their service and food!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Ambiance and View - Amazing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

The view and the ambiance and the service was great. The mahi-mahi was good but the vegetables were over cooked.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yelapa, Mexico
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Like coming home....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Love, love, love Shambhala restaurant. Not only is the food excellant, but the staff treats you like an honored guest, each time you visit. Where should I start? Sunday morning Birria (kind of a Mexican stew) has become a ritual. Every Sunday. Mid-week there is chicken mole - very good, but be warned, you'll need a siesta after this lunch. If you love a good burger with fries -- THIS is the place. Huge, hand shaped patties of fresh (local) ground beef. Anything fish - I love the mahi mahi. Do you like shrimp? Get it here. New York steak? It may be available - just ask. That's just the food. The drinks are excellant, too. My favorite is Ray's pina colada, but he makes a killer margarita, bloody mary, rum punch, tequila sunrise, Cuba libre -- you name it, and most likely he can make it. Ray, Violetta, Alexa and Martina are hardworking friends who happen to serve really great meals. Did I meantion the view? Go upstairs and you'll have a lovely view of the bay of Yelapa. We are 'regulars' - having a meal here at least twice a week :).

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“what's better... the food or Ray?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

As an ex-pat in Yelapa, we are fortunate to have a problem of riches in the selection of wonderful, truly wonderful, food. We are also fortunate to be able to walk into most restaurants and like a jungle "Cheers," everyone knows your name. So, in a community that has amazing eating out options in places where you are personally welcomed, there is Shambhala. Located in the pueblo (ask anyone where it is), you'll head up a short set of steps and will no doubt be greeted by Ray. Recommended: go upstairs to eat. Unless..if you are a big drinker and prone to dizziness, stay downstairs. Otherwise...head upstairs. Just ask Ray what's good and take that. He has a great menu...I'm from Chicago and a pizza snob, and well, pizza in Mexico? Well, Ray's pizzas are the best in Yelapa and pretty damn good by my tastes. But what really swings? The fish. Just ask him what's fresh and and order it. You won't be disappointed if you have one night to spend in Yelapa and you eat here. You'll leave having made a friend who will remember you next time you visit us!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shambhala also viewed

Yelapa, Costalegre
Yelapa, Costalegre
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shambhala, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.