We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical spot for an evening.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Yelapa Oasis Restaurant Bar & Gallery

Yelapa Oasis Restaurant Bar & Gallery
Privada Marlin 4 | By the Tuito River, steps from the beach, Yelapa 48440, Mexico
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 20 Restaurants in Yelapa
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Mexican, Seafood, Bar, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Late Night
Description: A magical place where the simple becomes extraordinary. Warm personal attention, a mellow atmosphere, original Mexican & seafood dishes, excellent wine & bar selection, art shows, special events, and the best live music stage in town. We are on the shores of the Tuito River, just steps from the main beach in Yelapa, a short boat ride from Puerto Vallarta, Mexico.
Snohomish, WA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Magical spot for an evening.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We had seen the flyers posted around Yelapa for live music and decided to check it out. We walked by during the day and saw a beautiful garden setting with tall bamboo and many other plants. We went back at night and heard some wonderful music and had a few tasty drinks. We had decided to have a 1/2 order of the Coconut Shrimp and we were not disappointed.
The service was excellent and the owner, Sebastian, was our server as well. We took time to talk to us during a break in the music and yet was still able to serve his other customers. He was fully engaged with our conversation and yet was aware of all the other customers around him. Prices were a bit hi but the setting made it worthwhile.
The evening was very romantic and we will return the next time we are in Yelapa.
I understand there are rooms available and we will consider staying there next time as well.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    5
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, LA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Well managed Yelapa resort on River”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

The Oasis Restaurant is open again for high season. From the pueblo walk up river a short distance and on your left amidst an impressive stand of large bamboo is the entrance. A short walk to the restaurant and bar where you will find a dedicated wait staff. Upstairs enjoy the big screen TV for special events or movies.

Sebastion and mother Cheryl are an ecclectic management team that go to length to make your dining experience at Oasis memorable and wanting to come back. Management and service are a notch above the rest. The grounds are impeccable and a beautiful setting for a memorable dining experience with ambiance and character.

I like that Oasis always has something going on. Live band, movies, special features on big screen upstairs. Look out for posted signs in the pueblo. Buen provecho!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Republic, Washington
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Good food and location. Expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

Great location with a beautiful facility. Upstairs from the cooking area is a large open palapa roofed structure with a free reading library. Movie nights and entertainment occasionally. Food is generally good, but tends to be expensive relative to other places in Yelapa. MANY good places to eat there!

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

This place is amazing! Cheryl has really turned this place around!

Amazing landscape! Amazing host! You should hear her sing!

Food great! Real mexican!

Will return

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to eat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

We did not stay here, but ate at the restaurant one night. The Oasis is just that: a hidden gem just up the river from the beach in Yelapa. The grounds are lush and lovely, situated on the bank of the Tuito River. The dinner tables are set up outside on the terrace. We had a delicious and elegant dinner, with a couple of interesting drinks suggested by Cheryl and the bartender. Service is efficient and pleasant. We took a quick look at the palapas and they look quite nice from the outside. Put this place on your list.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yelapa Oasis Restaurant Bar & Gallery also viewed

 
Yelapa, Costalegre
 

Been to Yelapa Oasis Restaurant Bar & Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yelapa Oasis Restaurant Bar & Gallery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.