We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best View” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Bahia Bonita

Casa Bahia Bonita
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Casa Bahia Bonita to your Saves list
Casa Bahia Bonita
Yelapa Bay, Yelapa, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 6 Yelapa B&B and Inns
Idaho Falls, Idaho
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Best View”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

The View from the Balcony Suites are the best in Yelapa, you can look out over the whole bay. Located steps from the pier from which the taxi boat drops you off. Steps from the beach and Hotel Lagunita (not really a 'hotel' but little bungalow rentals) where the food is always delicious. Hint: Convienient because sometimes the river is too high to cross to get to the restaurants in the village and open all year, even in low season. Casa Bahia Bonita has spacious rooms equipt with mini fridge, little gas stove, and sink. Hot water in the shower is very nice. Room was always cleaned spotless no matter what time of day we eventually left the room. It's very quiet as well. From the balcony you can be entertained watching all the boats come and go. Some of the open air homes you can rent here get a chili breeze at night off the ocean but Bahia Bonita has nice closing glass screen doors so you can enjoy the view while staying warm. Lots of great places to stay in Yelapa but this is got everything you need for a great price! Yelapa is Paradise!

Room Tip: Balcony rooms a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    5
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Costa Mesa, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

I actually really like this place, but I'm giving it low stars because they dramatically increased their prices this year. We stayed in Casa Bonita in 2011 for 2 nights - stayed in the very pleasant Delfin suite, and we paid $60 a night. We were going back to Yelapa for 3 nights this year (after a week in Vallarta) and were going to stay at Casa Bonita again. However, when we checked prices online they had increased the price for the same room to $115 per night. Although the place is very nice, it is pretty basic, and not worth that price in this location. We ended up staying at Hotel Lagunita (right next door on the beach), which was really nice, for $140 for THREE nights (so less than $50 a night). Unless Bonita drops their prices they will lose a lot of business (they looked empty when we were there).

Room Tip: Delfin is the best suite - it has a large patio and has a great view over the bay of Yelapa
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casabahiabonita, Owner at Casa Bahia Bonita, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Hi sr Dave , the rates you mentioned correspond to the Christmas and Easter seasons,
These are the prices for September and October 2012

Dolphin Room $35 us per night second floor with ocean front
Sol Room $45us per night third floor with ocean floor
Tortuga Room $55us per night fourth floor with ocean floor

We recommend asking rates depending on the season by sending an e-mail

Regards

Eduardo Garcia
Casa Bahia Bonita
Yelapa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2009

We stayed at Casa Bahia Bonita in Yelapa for one night in the middle of a weeklong stay in Puerto Vallarta. We had been to Yelapa on a day trip about five years ago and wanted to return and spend more time. Now that we've spent one night in Yelapa we want to return and spend two or three nights. We brought our three kids (12 boy, 10 & 8 girls) and they loved it but I think the lack of a pool would have become a problem for the kids after a few days.

As for Casa Bahia Bonita, very nice clean safe place with a great view. We rented the third floor which consists of two units Suite Eclipse & Suite Sol. This gave us three separate bedrooms and three king beds. Suite Sol had a type of pull out bed that we didn't use. The kitchens were functional but had minimal utensils. The minimal utensils did not matter to us because all we needed was the fridge. We did miss having a functional coffee maker though.

The location is good but a little challenging. It's good if you are looking for peace and quiet and you don't mind some stairs and some walking. It's very close to the pier so getting the little luggage we had up to the third floor was no big deal but it is a bit of a climb. If we had any quantity of groceries or luggage it would have been a chore. The pier is a nice place to hang out and snorkel or sun bathe. We spent most of our full day on the pier.

The town of Yelapa is on the other side of the bay so getting to town is about a 30 minute walk that includes wading across a shallow river and trudging through a lot of soft sand. We didn't head for town until after sunset and the adventure that followed would freak out many less traveled folks. I would recommend finding your way during daylight hours but I must say that my kids (who are very adventurous) had a blast trying to find our way through the back alleys of a town whose streets are as wide as alleys and the alleys are barley paths. Eventually we made our way to a great reasonable dinner at a place called Eclipse. We bought a few supplies at a local store and headed back on an equally challenging return trip to our hotel. Along the way we stopped at the bar at Hotel Lagunita for a very resonable drink and snack. We ended up having lunch there the next day and it was under $50 U.S. for five of us including a few drinks. We ate lunch at one of the places on the main beach (that caters to the day trip folks) right after we arrived and it was a little more expensive but still reasonable.

Casa Bahia Bonita was great and we did not get enough of Yelapa. Casa Bahia Bonita is very new and the owners are a family of very nice Yelapan folks. If they would offer a boat taxi ride across the bay to guests it would make the trip into town much more convenient. Although I think it would have been less of a chore if we were just a couple rather than a family of five.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Bahia Bonita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Bahia Bonita

Address: Yelapa Bay, Yelapa, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Costalegre > Yelapa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Yelapa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Casa Bahia Bonita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Bahia Bonita, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.