We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Muy bien!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Vortex

Casa Vortex
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Yelapa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Vortex
Save
You added Casa Vortex to your Saves list
Yelapa, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Denver, Colorado, United States
1 review
“Muy bien!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

We had such an amazing time during our stay at Casa Vortex in Yelapa!! The place was clean, stocked, and very inviting when we arrived. We felt safe, comfortable, and well taken care of throughout our vacation. Everything was made very simple in terms of payment, getting and returning keys, locking up personal items, etc. It's open air so the soothing sound of the waves put you to sleep every night. We often entertained guests who we met in Yelapa and everyone loved the house and the view. It's in a very central location with a short walk to anything, and again, the view is spectacular! We will absolutely be visiting again in the near future.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    0
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Santa Rosa, California, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

Of the many lodging options in Yelapa, Casa Vortex offers a very fair price and a convenient, central location, halfway between the village and the main beach. It has a well equipped kitchen with drinking water provided, room enough for a family, awesome views of the beach and the lagoon with abundant bird life. We loved the bright colors of the decor, the ocean breeze blowing through at all times, and there were no mosquitos during our stay. One could easily pay twice the Vortex weekly rate for a small palapa with no kitchen at, say, the popular Hotel Lagunita. However, American standards of hotel amenities and cleanliness do not apply. I won't say it was dirty, but dust, rust and sand are pervasive in an open-air tropical environment. Be prepared to climb in and out of small boats and drag luggage up steep, dark stairs, so travel light and bring a flashlight. The bed, though comfortable, is a mattress on the floor in a loft with a low ceiling, accessed by ladder, and you make the bed yourself from ample bedding provided. With other rentals on all sides, noisy neighbors were an issue for us, but the soothing sounds of the ocean helped compensate. The hosts, who live downstairs and run the Cafe Vortex are very friendly and helpful. Yelapa in general is a great destination for the adventurous, able-bodied traveler who doesn't mind roughing it a bit - a trip back in time to village life with slower, gentler pace. And the food everywhere was outstanding!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

We truly enjoyed our stay in Yelapa and Casa Vortex. Nestled on the hillside, steps from the beach, the location could not have been any better. The loft like bed room is overlooking the ocean and the sounds of the rolling waves is so soothing. Casa Vortex has a kitchen in which we prepared daily meals ( although I personally didn't cook, I enjoyed watching from the hammock). The cafe below has amazing smoothies!!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2010

This is sort of an conco-like place built into the side of the mountain just about 40 or 50 steps about the beach. The location couldn't be better!!! You feel like your in a beautiful bird house above the gorgeous white sand beach and the turquoise bay!! My husband went right for the hammock in front of the expansive view and stayed there for hours, happily unwinding!. . It's a big, open design. A kitchen with all you need. A comfy living area, that sleeps at least two, and a loft that sleeps two. It's in the greatest location, right off the path between the best beach and the path to the main part of town. And one of the best restaurants right nearby!!You're right on the best swimming beach in Yelapa!! I can't believe that you get all this for the price. We will definitely be back, many times!!!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Vortex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Vortex

Address: Yelapa, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Costalegre > Yelapa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Yelapa
Number of rooms: 5

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Vortex, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.