We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Longest journey ever!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of West Wittering Beach

West Wittering Beach
West Wittering, England
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Beaches, Outdoors
Attraction details
UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Longest journey ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Its the most beautiful beach I have ever been in England..no doubt...but will not want to drive all the way from London on a sunny day. There is just 1 entrance and the queue to get parking/entrance is a nightmare.. there is space for 100's of vehicles but just 1 entrance and exit makes you not want to get there during the day. If I ever decide to go again, got to be there by 8am or after 5pm, if not the journey is a waste of time. An 87 mile journey took us 7 long hours with road works on the motorway. The last 7 miles took us a good 3 hours!! we could have walked. Finally when we got there, everything was forgotten as the beach was the best ever.. by the time we got there, all food stalls had run out of ice creams and refreshments. suggest you take your own b'cue and tents..

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    61
    10
    9
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chessington, null, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Fab beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Beautiful beach , really safe for young children very clean and lots of parking. Had two lovely days this weekend but would recommend getting their pretty early otherwise the queue for the car park is horrendous.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Total relax - bbq, beer, beach & sun...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

The hottest day in UK for 2013 and we spent it there. Be prepared for the traffic - absolutely hectic. It took us 3.5h from Portsmouth to get there. If you have chance go there before 9am. The place is huge. This year the car park was extended. The charge is £8 by car and free by foot. We did BBQ on the grass and then enjoyed on the beach. The water is still cold, but there were a lot of people who were inside the water. There was a queue for meal and ice-cream. We waited 30 min for 2 corns with flakes. To leave the traffic behind use the small roads in area. Take a lot of water and sun cream. We go there every year and have a lot of fun and relax there. Absolutely amazing!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great for Kids”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Plenty of sand in particular at low tide. Great facilities, well managed. Watch out for strong undercurrents in certain sections.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent sandy beach with large shallow paddling.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

As noted parking is £6.50 if you arrive before 3pm (in June). Large long sandy beach which had lifeguards on between the red/yellow flags. The sea stays shallow for a long time so ideal for families with younger children as they will be able to stand up ok. 3 toilet blocks are located at each end and in the middle by the cafe which we didn't use as we took packed lunch which is probably recommended. Take a nice walk along the end of the beach and round the point and sand dunes. Lots of birds to see... we spotted a kestrel which was hunting. The tide comes in quite far so look out for the seaweed lines across the beach from the previous high tide so you don't get wet when it comes in. It was quiet when we were there as it wasn't school holidays as yet.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed West Wittering Beach also viewed

Chichester, West Sussex
 
Hayling Island, Hampshire
Chichester, West Sussex
 

Been to West Wittering Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage West Wittering Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.