We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Number Twenty Four from the garden
Number Twenty Four from the garden
Number Twenty Four from the garden
The kitchen
The open plan living area
The dining area
The garage/games room
West Wittering
|
Rental Home – 
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bev K
Horsham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic Home From Home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

We stayed at Number Twenty Four at the very end of May for a long weekend to celebrate a special family birthday, and couldn't recommend this property more highly. There were 9 of us in total, ranging in age from 5 to 70, and the very spacious, extremely well-equipped, tastefully decorated, and well maintained 'home from home' that is Number Twenty Four accommodated us all perfectly. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Number Twenty Four, would highly recommend, and hope to return again in the future. Thank you!

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The spaciousness of the open plan living area
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 10, 2013
Thank you so much for your review Bev. I really appreciate you taking the time and am so glad that your holiday was a success. Best wishes, Amanda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Muklug
UK
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Family Friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

Number Twenty Four is an exceptionally well equipped and spacious bungalow. It has 4 double sized bedrooms with 2 bathrooms. The open plan reception area is warm and comfortable. The large thoughtfully designed, safe and well kept south facing garden with plenty of sitting out areas offers good opportunity for kids to have fun and adults to enjoy al fresco eating. It is an ideal venue for a family get together or celebration which is what we did last week with our 2 sons and their families. Recommended.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
4 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The fully equipped kitchen
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 20, 2013
Thanks so much Stuart. I am so grateful for your lovely review and am glad your holiday went well. Regards

Amanda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Jeremy D
Burgess Hill, United Kingdom
1 review
“A superbly well-appointed house for a large family group on holiday.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 for a stay in December 2012

Number 24 is a very well-equipped house for a family of all ages. The bedrooms and bathrooms were well-appointed and the kitchen had all the equipment we needed. The provision of games and books as well as table tennis were greatly appreciated. The garden would have been excellent if only the weather had been better. The beach is very close a couple of minutes walk from the house. The local shops provided for all our needs.
We have no hesitation in recommending this property.

4 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The excellent layout of the living area and the proximity to the beach
Liked least: The front door needed attention as it was difficult to open from the inside.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Alixe7
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful holiday home with fantastic beach nearby”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012 for a stay in October 2012

We had a fabulous 10 day stay in this lovely holiday home, which has been very well planned by the owner. She was the person that we contacted and was very helpful and prompt in her responses. The house is very close to East Wittering beach with the sandy expanse of West Wittering and East Head only a short drive or 20min walk away. The house and garden provide such a lovely space which is perfect for small people to run around safely in. The provision of toys, especially the little tikes car was brilliant. Would definitely recommend this house and would go back.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Sally A
Crawley, United Kingdom
1 review
“A real home from home at the seaside!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012 for a stay in August 2012

West Wittering has always been our favourite part of the coast and I thought a perfect location for my 'big' birthday celebrations with family and friends.
There was plenty of room for everybody in this beautifully equipped house just a stone's throw from the shingle/sandy beach midway between East and West Wittering, lots of sofas and a beanbag I would quite happily have spent the night on!
The weather wasn't brilliant but we visited the very friendly and helpful local hire shop and discovered wetsuits and bodyboards for the first time - hours of fun in the waves!
There's no problem finding things to amuse kids and adults at this house as the drawers in the lounge were stuffed full of games and DVD's and the table tennis table in the garage was very popular.
Everyone slept well as the beds were really comfy - even the truckle beds which my granddaughters 7 and 9, seemed to stay in a lot later in the mornings than usual!
The garden is a good size with lots of seating to eat outside and a gas barbeque that worked well on the one occasion we got to use it!
Good communication from Amanda who owns Number Twenty Four meant all went very smoothly with a couple of very thoughtful little touches as it was a special occasion. I can highly recommend this property and would definitely go back.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Great location, fun whatever the weather.
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Deg366
1 review
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012 for a stay in August 2012

I decided to take my 3 little children to Wittering - on my own- husband working .
Children's ages 9m, 3 and 7 years.
The house was very nicely decorated and very clean. It is situated a few minutes walk from the beach and a 5 min walk from the town . The house is very comprehensive especially for parents with small children. There are plenty of utensils, washing machine dryer, large freezer, high chair, cot and linen and towels included. I dealt directly with the owner Amanda who was readily contactable and very helpful. There are 2 double bedrooms and two twin rooms, two bathrooms and an extra loo. There are also plenty of garden toys table tennis and a safe garden . The children and I loved it. The beach is pretty safe and a short walk away . I wanted a simple break where I did not have to keep loading the kids in the car to drive places.We were able to walk to the town for a few provisions, children's treats ie sweets and toys plus a meal at the Boulevard cafe- ideal if you have lots of kids, and a milkshake at the Drift - inn Cafe. All in all ideal for parents with young families - and I was able to do this without my hubby- and we had a lovely time. Would definitely go back.

5 of 5 stars Rooms 5 of 5 stars Location
5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
SCIMorton
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Well thought out, clean and spacious house a stone's throw from the beach. Perfect. Would go back in a heartbeat.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012 for a stay in June 2012

Two families and I rented this house together last month. Between us we had five kids aged between 4 and 6 and five adults. We had a great time. The house was brilliantly clean and really nicely light and bright and airy feeling. I'd had a couple of phone conversations with Amanda Pugh, the owner before we arrived to make some enquiries and organise sleeping arrangements and she could not have been friendlier or more accommodating. She kindly left some sweets for the kids and some lovely goodies for our arrival. The house has been really well thought out - a side access gate into the garden meant we could make sure all the kids and ourselves could wash off our feet and kick off shoes when coming in from the beach. The downstairs bathroom was fabulous for that reason too as freezing wee ones could be put straight into a warm bath when they came in - the weather was pretty shocking when we were there, rain rain and more rain or very windy but it didn't matter a jot and the house not being directly on the sea front was actually a good thing - it felt like a refuge from the wind battering and the kids could use the big garden. The house is nicely kitted out and finished to a good standard with decent utensils and utilities. The extra fridge, the washer and tumble dryer, hoover etc were all v welcome with beach towels and swimmers on and off on and off. The kitchen is great. We all thought two extra bar stools would have been a bonus as we did as grown ups spend a lot of time leaning on the island whilst the kids watched telly after dinner and one of us cooked/poured wine/made nibbles etc. Ample sofa space and the bean bags were fabulous especially when there are plenty of you. And although we didn't get to eat outside the two garden tables are again great - again well thought out - space for kids and grown ups to be together or apart. It really was a wonderful house, and the fact that the cutlery, crockery, furniture, plumbing and all that stuff was all nice, neutral, nice white bedding etc and everything was working, new feeling and of good quality really made such a difference. I've stayed in enough place with shonky crockery and horrible plates and cutlery and sofa throws covering 'seen better days' furniture to appreciate it. None of us had a bad thing to say about! The table tennis table was a nice surprise though we didn't use it. If we had one thing to say, it was that the 'sofa bed' that was mentioned, though we didn't need it, really isn't an option if it's in the garage.
A great house, wonderful hosts who were helpful and friendly and we would all highly recommend it to anyone. As for it's location? Well I love Wittering and the walks along the coastline are fabulous. And the contrast of tide in to tide out is fab. Great seafront for picking out your 'wish list' houses.
I'd give no 24, ten out of ten. Well done Amanda on a great refurb. You've done a great job.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Everything.
Liked least: Losing the keys on the beach. Doh!
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 24, 2012
Sophie

Thank you so much for your extremely kind and positive review. It really is much appreciated. Thank you for the comment about the sofa bed. It isn't actually a sofa bed in the garage. When I set up the advert I was not given an option for the truckle beds so ticked 'sofa bed' to indicate the additional beds. I appreciate that this is very misleading so I will delete it from the ad. Your comments are much valued.

I am so delighted that you all enjoyed your stay. We would love to see you back next year if you fancied braving the UK weather again!

Best wishes

Amanda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$1,362
/ Week
Make Inquiry
Owner
Amanda P
Speaks English
Listed since : May 2012
Response Rate: 75 %
Response Time: Within a day
Calendar Updated: 22 days ago
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing