We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to start or finish your walk” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Landing

The Landing
Pound Road | Pound House, West Wittering PO20 8AJ, England
01243 513 757
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Description: Enjoy freshly ground coffees, carefully prepared for you using specially sourced Java beans roasted the Neapolitan way. Enjoy your coffee with one of our fresh continental cakes or patisseries.We also offer light breakfasts/brunches, lunches, afternoon teas, plus specially selected organic wines by the glass, carafe or bottle, Italian brewed beer and a “grown-up” hot drink menu.Open at 8am daily (9am Saturdays and Sundays), till early evening.
Bognor Regis
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good place to start or finish your walk”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I have been coming here for a while now before we do our weekly beach walk and although not the biggest of places or selection on the menu it does exactly what it should in provide quality refreshment for a reasonable price. Well worth a visit and kids and adults alike will love the Hot Chocolate Menu!!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joannas116, Owner at The Landing, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review Ian. We strive to provide a menu to suit our customer needs, offering ingredients of the highest quality and a friendly welcome. We are the perfect stop off for walkers from Itchenor, East Wittering or visitors to the outstanding beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    16
    2
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Yateley, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great place for a "Pit Stop"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Walking all round West Wittering and stopped here for a bite of lunch. Great soup,attentive and helpful staff plus lovely surroundings.Recommend.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joannas116, Owner at The Landing, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Dear Swede, thank you for taking the time to write your comments and we are glad you enjoyed the homemade soup, which does seem to be "hitting the spot" after a exhilarating walk on the beach! We do hope you visit again soon.

The Landing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yateley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“The Landing new year's day experience!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

1st time in October was great , with lovely staff and food. So new year's day we were all looking forward to a nice meal ands friendly staff, after a long walk up the beach, How disappointed we have been, very, very grumpy, stressed and very unhelpful female staff, could not cope with all the custom , dry brown bread, no marg or butter in sandwich!! Perhaps in the middle of January she will think back to the busy day and plan a bit better or have the day off and pay someone double!!
Do not go went busy!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joannas116, Owner at The Landing, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Dear Madam

I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your New Year's Day visit to The Landing. We were indeed, extremely busy that day but remember your visit and earlier visit in October as we will always try and accommodate requests to order "off menu".

We do hope that you will give us another chance to redeem ourselves as our aim is for every one of our customers to leave satisfied.

Yours faithfully
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“What a find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

We discovered The Landing for the first time this week and were totally impressed by it. Tasteful interior, great location, lovely owner and staff, great coffee and tasty looking menu. Wish we lived closer as it would definitely be a regular haunt for us. As it is West Wittering now has another attraction to add to the stunning beach. I'd definitely recommend checking it out if you're in the area.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joannas116, Owner at The Landing, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for your kind comments, we are glad you liked us! It means a lot to us to get positive feedback and confirmation that we are providing what people like. Hope you visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Welcoming place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Enjoy spending time at this coffee shop in my local village. The owner welcomes me with great coffee and a bright place to tap away on my laptop. There's a deck out front and a small garden out the back, so dogs can visit too. They seem to have a good range of food ready to eat in and take away (croissants, sandwiches, that sort of thing), though I don't usually eat there. Note that this cafe isnt on the beach - though it's near enough

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joannas116, Manager at The Landing, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear RP, thank you for taking the time to write a review, its always good to see a regular customer coming back and enjoying the relaxed atmosphere to get some work done, have a good coffee and a chat from time to time. See you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Landing also viewed

West Wittering, West Sussex
West Wittering, West Sussex
 
West Wittering, West Sussex
East Wittering, West Sussex
 

Been to The Landing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Landing, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.