We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family site” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nunnington Farm Camping Site

Nunnington Farm Camping Site
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in West Wittering
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Nunnington Farm Camping Site
Save
You added Nunnington Farm Camping Site to your Saves list
Nunnington Farm | Rookwood Road, West Wittering PO20 8LZ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Petersfield, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great family site”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

This was the first camp we'd done in our old VW after getting it back on the road so we decided not to go too far and chose West Wittering. We arrived at Nunnington Farm on the Saturday afternoon and were very lucky to nab the last remaining EHU pitch! The owners were very friendly, after reading some of the reviews on here I was expecting to meet Madge off of Benidorm, but nothing of the sort, very helpful and pleasant and couldn't do enough to make your stay a pleasant one. The site was FULL, it was bank holiday weekend and it was rammed to the rafters with people but the facilities were always very clean and well looked after, I noticed one toilet was blocked but was sorted out almost immediately. Highly recommended, very close to the town, shops, pub, etc. Great facilities and a warm welcome, perfect.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    10
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
14
9
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fleet
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

We were refused entry to this campsite based purely on the fact that we knew three other families/couples who had already pitched their tents. They, and us were told 'no groups' - I can understand no teen groups or single sex groups, but we were a party of two very sensible couples and two familes with young children (plus me being pregnant) - hardly likely to be causing a lot of noise late at night! The others had pitched their tents and by the third arrival, the owner reluctantly let them in but was monitoring them constantly on CCTV. My husband called to explain our situation, willingly offering to leave if we caused too much noise, but was told 'bish, bash, bosh, no groups'. He was so rude that my husband was totally shocked.
I can understand the 'no groups' rule, but if you make that rule, then stick to it. A party of three to me is a group, but that was allowed. Suddenly a fourth was not.
The campsite may be lovely, but if you get rude owners (mentioned on the UK Campsite website too) it can affect your stay and unfortunately, they will never be getting business from us or our friends again. Politeness doesn't cost a thing.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Fantastic campsite where we keep coming back to every year, normal common sense rules which makes it safe for kids. Little farm for the kids to see all sorts of animals, dog field close by, shops close by, park close by, everything is close and not right in your face. Very clean site, VERY helpful owners. If you want a campers site thin this is it

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012 via mobile

I would agree with the other review. The site was clean and showers quite powerful. Fabulous if you want to go to west wittering beach as you can walk. We did take the car for 6 pounds as we were there all day and the kids would not have liked the walk back when tired. Great butchers across road for barb eques and beach shop and other store with bakery for groceries with cash back. Kids enjoyed the pet park and the site was friendly and felt safe. The kids would have enjoyed more to do in the play area such as climbing frames etc. as it was really just a field but for cleanliness and location I would definitely return.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

We stayed for 2 nights at Nunnington Farm and were pleased to find clean well kept facilities and spacious pitches. You cannot pre-book so we were not sure there would be pitches available having travelled for a couple of hours but there was no need for concern as there was plenty of room. Having viewed their website it appears that you camp in overlooking rows however the pitches are large enough and seperated in rows with a small concrete path between so there is plenty of room on each for a car and a tent and space to move around. We particularly liked the 3pm check out here as it allows time for the tent to dry properly on the colder mornings. The shower block that was open contained 4 showers, a children's bath and a number of toilets, there was always plenty of hot (and cold) water whenever we used them and they were clean and well maintained. The pot wash is inside the shower block and here you can find washing machines, a tumble dryer and an ironing board!!
There are rules posted up around the site and of which I thought were prefectly reasonable, however the request for parents not to allow their children to play in the toilets was not adhered to on either night we stayed and I didn't think it appropriate that they were throwing a ball around in there.
There are two shops at the end of the driveway that sell everything from newspapers to items for the beach, there is also a restaurant and a short walk takes you to a pub called The Lamb. West Wittering beach and East Head are well worth a visit. East Wittering is a short drive away and where you can find Tesco, Co-Op, pharmacy and a few other shops.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nunnington Farm Camping Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nunnington Farm Camping Site

Address: Nunnington Farm | Rookwood Road, West Wittering PO20 8LZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > West Wittering
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in West Wittering

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nunnington Farm Camping Site, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.