We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great port in a storm!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Roundabout Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Roundabout Hotel to your Saves list
Roundabout Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Monkmead Lane, West Chiltington RH20 2PF, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Swindon, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A great port in a storm!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Despite the weather forecast being awful, following a 'weather bomb' in the Atlantic, we decided to go ahead with plans to visit my husband's 90 year old aunt in Worthing, followed by a visit the next day to Petworth House, National Trust property.
We followed the sat nav which took us straight from Worthing to the Roundabout Hotel. The hotel looks extremely old from the outside, but was actually built in the 1920"s, along with other properties to create the perfect village!
We received a warm welcome from every member of staff, and the room temperature matched this - just as well with the forecast! We ordered from the bar menu as we'd eaten at lunchtime and were pleasantly surprised with the range and quality. Breakfast was also very good.
The property is only a few miles from Petworth, so a perfect stopping off point, particularly with Petworth's exhibition of Turner paintings starting in 2015.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    42
    21
    5
    9
See reviews for
32
70
2
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dilton Marsh, Wiltshire,
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

On a 50/50 business/pleasure journey, we stopped here. We liked everything, from the location in the W. Sussex countryside to the excellent Dining. The hotel is clean, warm and decorated in what could be described as "somewhat old fashioned but very practical and comfortable" style . . . from the stylish blackout curtains to the heavy but very comfortable furnishings in the rooms (officially 'Regency Period', to stay in keeping with building & area). Bathrooms are big and well fitted with fantastic showers over the bath. The bedrooms are spread over a couple of floors and there are some 'special' ones in the Woodlands Annexe (a very easy 4 metre walk from the front door unless you've been enjoying too much in the excellently stocked bar ;-)) Go on, you know you'll like it!!
The staff could not be faulted . . . professional, knowledgeable and friendly with strong local knowledge and advice.
There is a very tidy breakfast room, with table service, as is the Restaurant. Breakfast menu includes choices of cereals and fruit, full English and Continental and several other 'special' treats like Eggs Benedict . . . tasty! The Restaurant offers a menu with a broad, modern classical selection without being too 'crowded' (i.e. a respectable half dozen or so dishes . . . not the 'hundreds' seen on some menus ;-(( ). EVERYTHING we had (b'fast & dinner) was prepared and presented to perfection (IMHO). Service at dinner was friendly and efficient without being over-attentive (i.e. without being asked every 2 minutes, "Everything OK" or similar). Quite professional!.
Parking is on-site and relatively secure (open car park), but in a quiet, country area. No worries there.
All in all, a lovely hotel perfect for a quiet, relaxing stay. But that said, do check beforehand because the hotel does cater for various functions and I can only assume that it may well get 'lively'.

Room Tip: In the Woodlands Annexe, there is a very low level background hum from the chiller machines on the e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I live in the local area, and stayed here recently due to an oil leak at our home! We thought we would stay here as it is close, and I am glad we did pick this place!

From the moment we arrived staff were very friendly. They showed us to our room and left us to settle in!

The rooms are very nice, they are of an older style with old furniture and decor, but it is really nice! All rooms have the standard - kettle, hot drinks, TVs etc. all the bathrooms were clean and everything worked with our fault (we ended up staying in 6 different rooms due to the fact the hotel was busy)

There is a lovely bar/restaurant downstairs with an open fire to sit by. The food served in the bar and the restaurant is lovely, with a good variety on offer, so something to suit all!

All the staff are incredibly friendly and helpful, have to say Jamie and Georgina were fantastic and very helpful due to our situation!

But again cannot recommend this place enough, if you ever need to stay in the area chose this place!

Stayed November 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simon_green25, General Manager at Roundabout Hotel, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Guest,

thank you for your fantastic recent review of the hotel.

We're delighted that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay, and are very proud that Jamie and Georgina were so accommodating for you.

Just a small note, our furniture is actually very new, however it is themed in a regency style, so as to be in keeping with the exterior of the hotel.

Thank you once again for the review, and the glowing recommendation.

Kind regards

Simon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Ireland, Ireland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

From the moment we phoned to check our booking it was excellent...we phoned for directions and to confirm the booking as it was made through Expedia a booking agent......When we phoned the hotel we discovered the booking had not being made but the hotel had no problem with that and very politely without hassle booked us in. We arrived and were met with very pleasant genuine smiling faces, were shown to a really comfortable and lovely room in the 'stables'. After a bit we realised the kitchen fans were just opposite our rooms and were annoying us so we asked for a room change....they were very gracious and understanding but were full so nothing could be done till the morning.In the meantime we had a super hassle free dinner in the cosy restaurant..we have many many dietary requirements and they could not have been more helpful, attentive, suggestive etc ...we both had super meals with a good bottle of wine. Next morning we changed rooms at our convince to a lovely cosy room on the top floor. We then discovered Sundays menu did not include an a la carte but a Sunday roast type menu which meant there would be nothing for us......well we spoke to them and asked about other restaurants etc .......they could not have been more helpful , really trying to find something for us without making us feel like a nuisance so I said I would just eat a salad and some veg and my husband a steak and the same .....10 minutes later they tell us they can get exactly what we want from another source outside the hotel .....they actually got in the car and went and got food we could eat ......we had another super dinner with a lovely bottle of wine. We were also asked if the room was ok for us .......this sort of service and attention deserves kudos. Everybody is pleasant and helpful ......we will defiantly be back here.

Room Tip: all the rooms are lovely but different and face different views / things so it just depends on what...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simon_green25, General Manager at Roundabout Hotel, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Guest,

thank you for your extensive recent review of the hotel.

We arte delighted that despite of a few challenges in your booking, you enjoyed all aspects of your stay. We have now resolved the booking issues with Expedia.

I'm very pleased that the team could accommodate your special diets, and it is a delight to see people going the extra mile to deliver great guest service.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Kind regards

Simon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2014

We went for Afternoon Tea for my wife's birthday (October) the hotel is a lovely old looking hotel with plenty of character, It was lovely and clean with very friendly staff. The afternoon tea was for 6 people and there was ample food for us all the only down side was they had run out of carrot cake :( however the rest of the selection was very nice, A good selection of tea was available, for those traditionalists it is bags not leaves, Overall the service was very good and all staff were helpful and friendly, The Roundabout has a very warm feel ideal for family occasions.

Room Tip: Sit in one of the smaller rooms for Afternoon Tea with a view of the gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simon_green25, General Manager at Roundabout Hotel, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Martyn,

thank you for your recent review of afternoon tea at the hotel.

We're delighted that you enjoyed your experience, and can only apologise for not having carrot cake, we hope you enjoyed your substitute cakes!

We hope to welcome you back again in the future.

Kind regards

Simon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2014

We hadn't had a meal at The Roundabout for a few years and had lunch there today. We had drinks before lunch while we looked at the menu and were then shown to our table. The service was excellent and the food delicious and very reasonable. I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simon_green25, General Manager at Roundabout Hotel, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Jess,

thank you for your recent review of lunch at the hotel.

We're delighted that you enjoyed everything, and hope to welcome you back again in the future.

Kind regards

Simon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2014

We stayed just one night here and it is a very atmospheric building - I love the sound of old floorboards creaking as people walk by. The room was very attractive with leaded windows and a decent shower and nice Temple Spa bath products. The room we had was small but perfectly formed! Hair dryer, tea and coffee provided. We had dinner in the restaurant which was good, and all reasonably priced. Staff were efficient and friendly. I expect this is a lovely place to stay in the summer and I would recommend it for visiting Arundel and Sussex generally. I wish I could have stayed longer as was very comfortable. I am sure I will be back for a cheeky weekend at some point. It was good value too, which always gladdens the heart.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simon_green25, General Manager at Roundabout Hotel, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Guest,

thank you for your recent review of the hotel.

We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and you are quite right that being about 15 minutes from Arundel leaves us perfectly situated for that cheeky weekend away!

We hope to see you back at the hotel again soon, perhaps before summer!

Kind regards

Simon Green
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Roundabout Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roundabout Hotel

Address: Monkmead Lane, West Chiltington RH20 2PF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > West Chiltington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in West Chiltington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Roundabout Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 4 star country house hotel has 26 Ensuite bedrooms which include charming, superior and luxury suites. There is a private resident’s lounge, a large comfy bar with exposed beams and open fires, which also provides access to the terrace and gardens, an a la carte restaurant, breakfast room, private dining and additional reception and meeting rooms. All rooms include: Flat screen TV, free Wi-Fi, tea & coffee making facilities, bottled water, White Company toiletries and Egyptian cotton bed linen.Despite this semi-rural picturesque location, Gatwick is only 40 minutes away with Storrington, Worthing, Brighton, Fontwell and Goodwood all easily accessible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Roundabout Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Pulborough
Pulborough Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Roundabout Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.