We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What did you do to the bases?!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Papa Pizza & Grill

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Papa Pizza & Grill
Station Road, Pulborough, England
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 18 Restaurants in Pulborough
Cuisines: Pizza
Description: Located next door to Lee's Garden Chinese restaurant
Restaurant details
Description: Located next door to Lee's Garden Chinese restaurant
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“What did you do to the bases?!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

These pizzas are now a real disappointment. When they first opened they used fresh dough (as advertised) and you could taste it. They were also loaded with toppings.
The last two times we have used these guys they have used the dreadful frozen bases, with the pattern on the bottom that kind of disintegrates in your mouth, and cut back on their toppings.
They do still do Buy one Get one free but their prices have gone up loads since they opened anyway.
We ordered one stuffed crust pizza amount ours and that one did have the fresh dough base, but you are paying an extra £1.50+ for that and the 2nd free one doesn't include the stuffed crust! Cheek.
Use Storrington, more expensive but worth the extra for real bases and better toppings.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    3
    2
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Steer clear!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We visited this establishment for a quick takeaway dinner. We were somewhat surprised by the cost but as the children were starving hungry we went home with our food. It wasn't until we got home that we realised why it was so expensive. There were four extra items in our bag (that we has been charged for) and we hadn't even ordered! To add insult to injury some of the actual order was incorrect. We returned with said items to have them changed and to be refunded for incorrect items. The staff were UNBELIEVABLY RUDE and didn't even refund our money. We resulted on walking out without some of our order. We have essentially paid for food we haven't even had. DAYLIGHT ROBBERY! I would strongly recommend you stay well away.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pulborough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Absolutely disgraceful”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Ordered a takeaway at 9.10pm, it turned up at 10.30. Sine of our order was missing and the delivery person apologises and said he was going back to get the rest of the order, he took full payment for the whole order. The pizza was cold and horrible so we phoned the 'restaurant'. Unbelievably rude and unhelpful so we took our pizza back to get a refund. Still unbelievably rude and unhelpful. We got our money but what a terrible experience. DO NOT USE THIS ESTABLISHMENT!!!!

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amberley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Good deals on pizza, good pizza”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Buy one get one free on collection, or half price on divert which is good and the pizzas are really nice. But, we found out that they don't actually cook the pizza until you turn u to collect it. Maybe because of prank calls. Still worth getting pizza from.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“"9 out of 10"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

I had a pizza yesterday from papa pizza and their pizzas are much better that domino's and pizza hut's.topping was very good and it was very cheap also. i only paid 9.99 for 2 large pizzas. It was also the most tasty pizza i've ever tasted. The stuff were also very kind to the customers. I love their kebabs as well. i strongly recommend the mixed kebabs, and its coming with chips that i liked so much.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Papa Pizza & Grill also viewed

Pulborough, West Sussex
Pulborough, West Sussex
 
Pulborough, West Sussex
Pulborough, West Sussex
 

Been to Papa Pizza & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Papa Pizza & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.