We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LODSWORTH LARDER SHOP” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lodsworth Larder

Lodsworth Larder
The Street | Lodsworth, Petworth GU28 9BZ, England
+(44)1798 861947
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 9 Attractions in Petworth
Type: Food & Drink
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Food available for purchase
Petworth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“LODSWORTH LARDER SHOP”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

This unusual shops sells so much - from newspapers to deli to firewood - all that people want from a local shop & more. The design is most fresh & barn like , with plenty of parking area.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    1
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Petworth, United Kingdom
1 review
“christmas presents”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

last year i made up a super christmas present in the larder. i looked around at all their stock and chose a beautiful hand made sussex trug and filled it with the delicious local Langhams Beer, perfumed candles made a few miles away, local honey, and I cant remember now what else, there was plenty to find.... I wrapped it in their wrapping paper and tied it with a bow....!!! it was so well received and is something i will repeat......

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midhurst, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Multi Award Winning Eco Friendly Not 4 Profit Shop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Built from locally sourced sustainable wood by Ben Law (One of Grand Designs Favourite builders). The shop sells many locally produced foods and products. It generates much of its own electricity. Beautiful shop in the car park of a lovely country village pub.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henley, Nr Midhurst, Gu27 3HQ
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Pause for Breath on The Midhurst Way Long Distance Path - 19.25 miles”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

How The Lodsworth Larder was financed, built and manned by volunteers is an inspiring story in itself. Ben Laws, local woodsman, designed and built this wonderful oak building. He specialises in Ecobuild and Perma culture design. Ben lives nearby in a local wood, the location for the original house featured in Channel 4's hugely popular Grand Design.
This shop is a veritable treasure trove and warrants a leisurely visit. Next door is The Hollist Arms pub with its restful terraced rear garden where on a fine day you can sit with drinks or a meal.
Marathon runners and walkers traversing The Midhurst Way Long Distance Path from Arundel to Midhurst find this place an ideal pit-stop, as the Way follows the road which passes the pub towards Cowdray Park in the west and turns down the main street towards River and Tillington in the east.
The walk from Benbow Pond CP, off the A272, on the Cowdray Estate to the Lodsworth Larder and back via The Midhurst Way is becoming ever more popular - approximately 1 hour each way. Another longer walk is to the Lodsworth Larder from The free Cowdray Estate A272 CP at Easebourne, near Midhurst, via the Golf Course, Steward's Pond and Cowdray QE2 Jubillee Lime Avenue on the Midhurst Way. The view from the Jubilee Avenue across the 'secret valley' to the 1000 year old Queen Elizabeth Oak is breathtaking . Likewise the view west to the South Downs above Cocking and Harting.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petworth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not just a shop, more a way of life!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

I happen to be lucky enough to visit this fabulous shop quite frequently and it never ceases to amaze me how much wonderful stock they manage to cram in to this fabulous space. The shop itself is such an iconic building being an eco-build of the very highest order, all made with locally sourced materials. It is a veritable Aladdin's cave of the most exciting stock, from basics to luxuries and all at competitive prices, one need never go without anything in this village. As a shop it never ceases to draw gasps of delight and amazement from visitors and locals alike!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lodsworth Larder also viewed

 
Petworth, West Sussex
 

Been to Lodsworth Larder? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lodsworth Larder, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.