We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pub” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Star

The Star
Market Square, Petworth GU28 0AH, England
01798342569
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 20 Restaurants in Petworth
Price range: $9 - $37
Cuisines: British, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: All dishes Freshly prepared, in In the centre of the historic town of Petworth West Sussex.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great pub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

Really heard great things so decided to try it out. Not disappointed our roast beefs were served promptly and the quality of the meal was very good.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    21
    2
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“A trip round Sussex to appreciate where we live”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

Peroni on tap what's not to like?

Friendly welcoming staff light airy dining room.

Fast service food excellent and well presented. Had the fish and chips well it is a trip round the English countryside!!

Would recommend and will come again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DLMama
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Love The Star!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

We've eaten here twice now & both times it's been amazing.
We had a brilliant Sunday roast. We all had beautiful food (Mother-in-law even commended the chef on his roast potatoes) & they tweaked the menu for one of the fussy kids who also loved it. The desserts are also lush!
We also went in for a mid week meal... loved the cottage pie & burger - best we've ever had!
Staff are welcoming & friendly.
Recommend ++++++

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hurley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great place to eat and relax”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

We've visited the Star twice in the last couple of months and love it. Both occasions were busy, and the staff told us we'd have to wait up to 30 mins for a table, but that was fine - it's good to sit outside in the square on a fine evening and watch the world go by.

Food excellent and well presented; staff are friendly and helpful. We understand from locals that the pub is much improved under new management and we wish them all the best: we'll certainly be back next time we're in the area.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A new gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

This place has been transformed by the new owners into a delightful refurbished quality pub with great food. Have ate here twice now and both times the food has been excellent, subtle variations and flavour, portions are of a nice size, so indulge in three courses. Had the deviled whitebait tonight which was not coated in breadcrumbs, therefore you could taste the fish, followed by the pan seared duck on beans with chirizo, which was a beautiful balance of flavours. Had to end it with the Eaton Mess! The ambiance is causal and attentive. Overall, definitely worth a visit.
This is becoming the best place in town for either a meal or pleasant drink.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Star also viewed

Petworth, West Sussex
Petworth, West Sussex
 
Petworth, West Sussex
Petworth, West Sussex
 

Been to The Star? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Star, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.