We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but could have been better..” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Leconfield

The Leconfield
New Street, Petworth GU28 0AS, England
+44 1798 345111
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 20 Restaurants in Petworth
Price range: $39 - $77
Cuisines: French, Contemporary, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: The Leconfield restaurant and bar is nestled in the heart of Petworth, voted by The Times as one of the best 30 places for Sunday lunch in the UK
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Good but could have been better..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

First impressions (which are so important!!) not great as after being shown into the lounge for pre-dinner drinks, no-one came over to take our drinks order. After a while when we got fed up of waiting we decided we would have to get our own drinks from the bar and bring them over ourselves... and that was despite at least four members of staff milling around in bar area and us being the only customers in there! Once in the restaurant we were given a ridiculously small (wobbly) table for two, so didn't bode well initially. However, couldn't fault the food (quality, presentation and flavour very good) and our waitress was lovely, so despite a shaky start we did enjoy our evening overall. Liked the fact that service charge was discretionary and not automatically added to bill.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    39
    18
    13
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
west chiltington
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“How not to run a Restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

No customer service manager arrived three quarters of an hour after us. We were left to get our own coats after paying and let ourselves out.Staff not interested in customers no wonder service is included in bill. We sat in window/ radiator behind us not on it was really cold. Fire was lit again after we had been there some time. Food quite good starter and desert good though very small. Main course rather bland. Coffee only warm. We are local and perhaps lunch is better as most of the reviews cover this time.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Leconfield, General Manager at The Leconfield, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to place a review, we are interested in any comments and constructive feedback so that we can constantly improve to bring you, our customers the best quality food and service.

I am sorry that you did not get the same experience as many of our other diners. There is no separation between lunch and dinner service, it should be the same high standard all times. We have retrained our staff and I believe that a farewell is just as important as a greeting. Prior to posting your comments we had already decided that as from 12th February 2013 the optional service charge would be removed and we no longer ask our guests for a set amount. We thought it best to let you the diner decide if you would like to compliment your waiter/waiting staff based on the merit of your experience. Any amount is totally at your discretion and on behalf of the whole team we thank you for that.

In terms of the temperature of the restaurant, this is the first time that this has ever been brought to my attention. We have a very efficient heating system that maintains an even temperature, despite the front door being opened and closed. In addition to this during winter months we have an open fire place as you noted that we try to keep lit during service hours. Since your visit, I have had our maintenance team look at the radiators and all are working fine. If you have any specific table or requirements such as away from the front door, then please make us aware of them when booking and we will do our best to accommodate all of your needs.

With regards to the portion size and taste, please make us aware immediately whilst in the restaurant and we will do our best to meet your expectations, or if the dish is not to your palate we can simply exchange it for an alternative.

As with the above point, if your coffees are only warm please inform a member of staff straight away and we will of course exchange them for you instantly.

Thank you again for posting your review as it is only with your feedback that we can improve our standards. Any comments and compliments are gratefully received and we have set up a new e-mail address so that our customers can contact us direct so that we can aim to bring you the best food and service. You can get in touch direct at feedback@theleconfield.co.uk

We hope to welcome you again to The Leconfield .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arundel
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“A very enjoyable lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

My first visit to the Leconfield was some time ago, when a group of us met there one evening, and thoroughly enjoyed it, so I booked it for three of us to have lunch after the Turner in Sussex exhibition. As others have said, the service is great and the decor and ambience very pleasant. We each had 2 courses from the set menu, which offered some interesting combinations, and a bottle of wine between us. Both the food and wine were excellent, and all at a reasonable price.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pefkos, Greece
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lovely restaurant in lovely town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Fantastic food and service this is a regular favourite for Sunday lunch and special occasions. Fixed price for 2 or 3 courses is excellent value and was even priced the same for Boxing Day. Well worth a visit.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Witley, Godalming
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“absolute perfection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We have been many times to The Leckonfield and found both the service and food to be impeccable. Tuesday evening's Fish & Fizz is a great excuse for a bit of luxury... but at a very affodable price - just £10!! So staying in to eat on a Tuesday is not so likely...#

New Year's Day lunch was our last visit; the place was really cosy and the jazz band made for a really great atmosphere too. A splendid lunch in lovely surroundings. Couldn't be better!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Leconfield also viewed

Petworth, West Sussex
Petworth, West Sussex
 
Petworth, West Sussex
Petworth, West Sussex
 

Been to The Leconfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Leconfield, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.