We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent way to escape” 5 of 5 stars
Review of South Lodge Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added South Lodge Hotel to your Saves list
South Lodge Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Brighton Road, Lower Beeding, Horsham RH13 6PS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lower Beeding
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent way to escape”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

Stayed at SouthLodge for a business meeting & dinner. The staff, surroundings and dinner made it a very memorable occasion. Would defintely recommend for business or pleasure, Could not find fault.Food and service in the Camellia restuarent was excellent.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkSurguy, Manager at South Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear jim t,

Thank you for posting your marvellous review.

I am pleased to read your meeting went well and dinner was memorable. I am delighted both the food and service in the Camellia was a success. I am pleased you found South Lodge the ideal venue for your meeting with fabulous meeting rooms with the very latest technology, dedicated business centres, and fabulous menu’s for private dining.

I do hope that in the future you will have the opportunity for a leisure stay and you can enjoy all that South Lodge has to offer including the Pass Restaurant, the Cellar, as well as our fabulous grounds. Please do not hesitate to contact us here at South Lodge if we can help with your reservation.

Kind regards,

Mark Surguy
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

801 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    596
    132
    45
    20
    8
See reviews for
114
424
11
88
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

Spent last Saturday and Sunday at the South Lodge Hotel. Charming hotel, were made to feel very special and can not think of a better place to watch some of the worst british weather I have seen in awhile.

Room Tip: Make sure you check the shower height if you are a tall person - some are not designed for people ov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkSurguy, Manager at South Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear Barbara B,

Thank you for joining us for a weekend away and for taking the time to post your wonderful review of South Lodge. It is a pleasure to read of your fabulous experience and I am delighted you were made to feel special.

What a pity the weather was inclement. At least you could relax in front of a roaring fire in one of our lounges an while away the day. Perhaps on your next stay you will be able to enjoy our 93 acres of grounds?

The team here at South Lodge very much look forward to welcoming you back then.

With very best wishes,

Mark Surguy
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Storrington, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

We booked a meal in the Pass and one night stay in a deluxe room. on arrival we were greeted by very helpful staff and were informed that we had been given a room upgrade. The Pass was a delightful experience with the staff very attentive, if you can afford it then I would recommend doing the wine flight as well as this just made the meal or the more enjoyable. Excellent stay would certainly recommend it for a special occasion.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkSurguy, Manager at South Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear Mike B,

Thank you for your kind review. We are all thrilled to hear you found your stay to be excellent.
The Pass is quite an exceptional experience. Set in the very heart of the kitchen our guests will view the kitchen ‘service’ and interact with the team. Matt Gillan, who recently starred on Great British Menu, holds a Michelin Star and four AA Rosettes. The wine flight is the perfect accompaniment to the main meal. We also offer a juice flight, much of which is sourced from our own gardens and grounds.

Matt, Tommaso and the rest of the hotel team very much look forward to welcoming you back.

All the best,

Mark Surguy
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

This is the friendliest most welcoming hotel I've ever stayed in. We stayed with our two young daughters on a Saturday night. Our suite had two double beds and was huge and there was a tv to watch in the bath! The only slight downer was the slow service in the Camelia restaurant, but that just gave us more time to savour our drinks and chat. The babysitting service recommended by the hotel was first rate.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkSurguy, Manager at South Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear NewMaldenMum,

Thank you for your wonderful review and for staying with us at South Lodge.

I am delighted that you found our welcome the friendliest you have ever experienced. We want all of our guests at South Lodge to feel at home from the moment they arrive. Your bedroom sounds idyllic and the perfect way in which to relax.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back – perhaps when the baby is a little older so they can enjoy exploring the 93 acres of grounds?

With kindest regards,

Mark Surguy
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

We have stayed at South Lodge twice and on both occasions we were very impressed. The Pass Restaurant is one of the best dinning experiences in the world. To watch such highly skilled professionals at work was a privilege.

Room Tip: Book the Pass restaurant in advance. Ignore my swimming pool vote above - they don't have one y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkSurguy, Manager at South Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear profsimonjones,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. As you are the 500th person to review the hotel it is fitting that you have awarded 5 stars! Thank you very much indeed.

To describe The Pass as one of the best dining experiences in the world is high praise indeed. Tommaso, Matt and the team will be delighted.

All of us here at South Lodge very much look forward to seeing you again to welcome you back.

With warmest regards,

Mark Surguy
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reading, england
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

We booked a night here as it was convenienly located for our appointments the following day and chose the winter warm-up deal. It far surpassed our expectations - we had a room upgrade - the room was enormous and the bathroom sybaritic - not only was the bath a jacuzzi but it also had a TV above. The food at the Camellia was very good indeed - the fact that the head chef Stephen Edward had won Masterchef the Professionals was a factor in our decision to visit this hotel and he did not disappoint. We liked some of the small touches - the small decanter of port in the room after dinner and the cuddly lamb instead of the usual "Do not disturb" - I was sorely tempted to steal him!

Room Tip: Ask about an upgrade - it is worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkSurguy, Manager at South Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear janettat,

Thank you for your wonderful review of South Lodge. It is wonderful to read we were able to surpass your expectations.

Your bedroom sounds splendid as does the bathroom. It is a lovely indulgence to soak in the bath whilst watching TV! I am delighted dinner in the Camellia Restaurant was enjoyable. We are all so proud of Steven Edwards for his winning performance on MasterChef.

‘Minty’, our cuddly sheep is available to purchase. Hopefully when you next visit you will be able to take one home.

Best wishes,

Mark Surguy
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
90 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
155 helpful votes 155 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

The hotel is a foodie heaven.

We eat in the Camellia restaurant for the first night and I cannot fault the food, almost Michelin star standard, but you are paying nearly Michelin star prices. The service was probably the area that most let the restaurant down, with water not topped up and just a general lack of attentiveness.

The second day we had afternoon tea and it was excellent, we spent 2.5 hours in the drawing room in front of a log fire trying all sorts of teas and filling ourselves so much that it ruined our dinner.

Breakfast was excellent with probably some of the nicest sausages I have ever eaten.

And there you have it, a review of the hotel without a mention of the room or the hotel service. That is because I like to be positive. The room was large and plushly furnished. The temperature control on the wall did nothing, the bathroom facilities were old fashioned and operated as such. The reception service was patchy, the wifi did not work for most of the stay (in fact the internet connection for the whole hotel went down) and when questioned I was told it was working and it was probably my tablet and or phone that had the problem. Said person pulled out their own phone and then confirmed it was broken.

Only minor points, but the hotel was forgettable but the food was very good.

Room Tip: All rooms are different so have a look and ask to see another if you don't like the first one th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkSurguy, Manager at South Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear JB30,

Thank you for your review of South Lodge. I was sorry to see you have only rated us as ‘average’ as we want all of our guests to have an unforgettable stay.

I was heartened by your description of us as a ‘foodie heaven’ and I am delighted you enjoyed the Camellia and afternoon tea the following day. It is kind of you to describe Steve Edward’s food as near Michelin star standard. With our Michelin starred Pass restaurant and the fabulous Camellia we do like to think of ourselves as a food destination. I am pleased you enjoyed breakfast too.

I am sorry you found the service patchy in parts. I do hope you return in future so we will have the opportunity to restore your faith in all things South Lodge.

Kind regards,

Mark Surguy
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to South Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Lodge Hotel

Address: Brighton Road, Lower Beeding, Horsham RH13 6PS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Horsham > Lower Beeding
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lower Beeding
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — South Lodge Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner of the silver award for 'Hotel of the Year' at the Visit England Tourism Excellence Awards 2010, South Lodge is less than an hour from Central London and nestles amongst 93 acres of stunning woodland and parkland. A magnificent, former family country house – it’s the perfect place to relax and unwind whilst indulging yourself with fine wine, gourmet food and unbeatable horizons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Venere, Hotel.de, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your South Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Hotel Lower Beeding
South Lodge Hotel Lower Beeding, West Sussex, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage South Lodge Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.