We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fabulous hotel for the discerning traveller” 5 of 5 stars
Review of South Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added South Lodge Hotel to your Saves list
South Lodge Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Brighton Road, Lower Beeding, Horsham RH13 6PS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lower Beeding
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Hatfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A fabulous hotel for the discerning traveller”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I have now stayed at South Lodge a few times and on both occasions i was very pleased with my stay.

Its more like a family home and you are treated like friends from when you arrive to the time you leave. Rooms are spacious with all amenities you would expect from a luxury hotel. I especially liked the Pillow talk service, this is where you can order a scented or speciality pillow to aid in a good nights sleep. My room this time came with a jacuzzi bath and the added luxury of a television at the end of the bath!

South Lodge is part of Exclusive hotels and i have been to their sister properties and they are all brilliant.

Room Tip: I would request a room with a garden view as you get beautiful views over the sussex countryside
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkSurguy, Manager at South Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Dear Anthony G,

Thank you for your super review of South Lodge. It means a lot to the team and I to be described as a family home. We always want to go the extra mile and create genuine first class hospitality. Thank you for the room tip; although all our bedrooms are individually designed it is just that little more special to gaze over the splendid South Downs and our 93 acres of grounds. The Aquavision bathroom televisions are a favourite of mine too!

The team and I look forward to welcoming you ‘home’ in the near future.

With very best wishes,

Mark Surguy
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

906 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    681
    144
    48
    23
    10
See reviews for
133
479
12
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

It was one of the best hotels i've ever stayed at!!
I'm getting married here next May and my partner thought it would be nice to go stay and have dinnerand make sure thatit's as good as everyone say's it is!
Where do i start,from the moment we walked in we felt welcome, the staff are sooo friendly and can't do enough for you! We were shown around the hotel before being take to our room which was stunning!!! it was in the orginal part of the hotel and the views were amazing!
We then had a lovely meal and again the staff were so attentive and friendly, the food was on another level!!
Breakfast was nice but my only little moan is that the hash browns were horrid! clearly shop brought and really greasy :( But everything else was lovey!

This hotel stands out from the rest, the setting is beautiful, the inside is stunning, the hotel is so well maintained and kept so clean. The staff are lovely! Top marks

Can't wait to get married here next year :)

Thank you for a lovely stay

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkSurguy, Manager at South Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Dear Amy k,

Thank you ever so much for your wonderful review and giving us top marks. It is fabulous to hear that you enjoyed so much of your stay, including the friendly and attentive team, the wonderful welcome, our beautiful setting and lovely building as well as the special food. You have certainly made an excellent choice in wedding venue!

If we can do anything for you before next May you know where we are.

Best wishes,

Mark Surguy
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Just got back from a wonderful short break at this hotel.
From the moment we stepped in we felt welcome, staff were all very friendly and professional.
Room was beautiful and had several nice features - plenty of complimentry high quality tea (Earl Grey to Mango), fresh ground coffee, hot chocolate.
The hand made mattress and excellent quality bedding made for a restful sleep...and to top it off, they supplied the room with a vase and invited us to pick our own flowers in their stunning flower garden to place in our rooms.....though we had to pass on that as snow had covered everything in sight!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkSurguy, Manager at South Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Dear bearnandos,

Thank you ever so much for your kind review and visiting a snowy South Lodge! I will be sure to pass your comments onto the wonderful team we have here. It is reassuring to know that all our efforts are being appreciated.

We all look forward to welcoming you back. Perhaps next time you will have the opportunity to pick some of the lovely flowers in our extensive grounds.

Warmest regards,

Mark Surguy
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
234 reviews 234 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

I have been coming here for years now. Whether staying in one of their beautiful rooms or just for dinner or afternoon tea. This hotel is a stunning piece of architecture, and the grounds are beautiful. The restaurant is always excellent, and cream afternoon teas in front of the big log fire is really relaxing. A wonderful location. I would highly recommend this hotel. It's easy if you are flying from Gatwick, great if visiting Brighton, and perfect for a weekend away.

Room Tip: All of the rooms I have ever stayed in are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkSurguy, Manager at South Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Rosie A,

Thank you for your charming review. The team and I are thrilled you continue to enjoy us time and time again. The 19th Century house is so beautiful, especially so from the terraces on the back lawn. We are all pleased to read you find the restaurants excellent and well as afternoon tea in front of the roaring fires.

We look forward to welcoming you back to your Sussex home soon.

With very best wishes,

Mark Surguy
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

The building itself is great - with a wonderful old main house and modern (but relatively tastefully done) extension to the side of it. The rooms within are great - both the bedrooms (at least the one i was in) and the communal rooms are beautifully decorated and well looked after. The staff are excellent - uniformly helpful and friendly. The restaurant we went to (Camellia?) was ok - good wine selection, but the food was a bit hit and miss - great steak, not so good fish.

But would go back again, for sure. Really lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkSurguy, Manager at South Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear claire2882,

Thank you for your wonderful review of South Lodge.

We are all thrilled you enjoyed your time with us. Your bedroom sounds magnificent and we are all delighted you found the team helpful and friendly.

Next time you visit you must try our other restaurant, The Pass. Set within the kitchen, it is a wonderful interactive experience with divine tasting menus and accompanying wine flights. Head Chef Matt Gillan holds 4 AA rosettes and a coveted Michelin Star.

We look forward to seeing you before too long.

With very best wishes,

Mark Surguy
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We had the pleasure of staying at south lodge over the Christmas period and had a wonderful time. We stay at the hotel regularly and it never fails to disappoint. From the moment you arrive they always remember you and the service you get us amazing. The room we stayed in this time again was amazing and lovely having a lounge area..as being pregnant gave us lots of room to relax. The food was outstanding as always but I would say this visit to the camellia was outstanding! Once again we had an amazing relaxing visit. Just what is needed over the busy Christmas break and we look forward to staying With you next Friday for more relation and fine food. Thanks again south lodge :) mrs e Huxtable

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkSurguy, Manager at South Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Mrs Huxtable,

Thank you so much for your lovely words. At South Lodge it is always a pleasure for my colleagues and I to welcome back familiar faces. We are all delighted you find us a haven of fine food and relaxation.

On behalf of the team and I we look forward to welcoming you back next week to celebrate Mr Huxtable’s birthday.

With very best wishes,

Mark Surguy
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orpington, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We visited with our family between Christmas and New Year primarily to try The Pass restaurant but were really impressed with the Hotel as a whole. The rooms were amazing, our dog was welcome, and the service and attention to detail was excellent. The Pass restaurant is first class and the arrangement whereby you can watch the chefs at work adds to the experience. We will be returning and wouldn't hesitate to recommend this beautiful Hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkSurguy, Manager at South Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Paulaf119,

Thank for you posting your splendid review and describing South Lodge as beautiful and as the best hotel in the UK!

The Pass is a very special experience, both for the spectacular Michelin starred food and for the wonderful setting amongst the chefs in the kitchen. Additionally, it is always a pleasure for the team to welcome a guest’s four legged friend.

I will be sure to share your kind comments with everyone here at South Lodge. They will be thrilled you had such an enjoyable stay.

Kindest regards,

Mark Surguy
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to South Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Lodge Hotel

Address: Brighton Road, Lower Beeding, Horsham RH13 6PS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Horsham > Lower Beeding
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lower Beeding
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — South Lodge Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner of the silver award for 'Hotel of the Year' at the Visit England Tourism Excellence Awards 2010, South Lodge is less than an hour from Central London and nestles amongst 93 acres of stunning woodland and parkland. A magnificent, former family country house – it’s the perfect place to relax and unwind whilst indulging yourself with fine wine, gourmet food and unbeatable horizons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, LateRooms, Splendia, Hotel.de and TripOnline SA so you can book your South Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Hotel Lower Beeding
South Lodge Hotel Lower Beeding, West Sussex, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage South Lodge Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.