We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Water ripoff” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Putting Green Cafe

Putting Green Cafe
Norfolk gardens | Sea Road, Littlehampton BN17 5NZ, England
01903723454
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 91 Restaurants in Littlehampton
Cuisines: European, English
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Surrey, England
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Water ripoff”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

Stopped by for a quick drink. My husband had a coffee and I had a bottle of still water....£1.60!!! It's 'only' £1.30 at the expensive East Beach Cafe. We won't be back in a hurry humph!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAWoman_13, Owner at Putting Green Cafe, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy your visit to the Cafe and that you did not try our food, which is incredibly good value. we do also offer chilled tap water to all paying customers on request.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    4
    0
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shoreham-by-Sea, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We were in littlehampton with grandson and family from rustington and wanted a late lunch the east beach cafe was crowded and the staff looked a little harassed and to be fair the menu was overpriced for what it was.
We found the Putting green cafe because the grandson wanted to go on the beach train.
The menu looked good and reasonable, entering we were greeted by staff who were friendly and very helpful, and we ordered two paninis chips, I was hungry and ordered the mussels and frites. Grandon and wife came in and had tea and macaroons. The tea was incredibly god not a mug but a ood size china teapot, not the normal stainless steel version, paninis arrived with chips in a separate little pot, the bacon brie with side salad and the goats cheese pepper my family said was mint. My musselsvarrived a few minutes later as they were cooking, thet were served in a large pot with finger bowl and really scrummy bread. They were outstanding, the cream wine and garkic sauce was spot on and the mussels were fresh that day. At £7-95 a bargain, the paninis were around four pound and my grandson enyed the frenh macroons too.
I totally recommend the cafe to anyone and will definately be returning.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Putting Green Cafe also viewed

Littlehampton, West Sussex
Littlehampton, West Sussex
 
Littlehampton, West Sussex
Littlehampton, West Sussex
 

Been to Putting Green Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Putting Green Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.