We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a third visit...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Empress Bar

The Empress Bar
Ground Floor,Baltic Wharf, | Pier Road, Littlehampton, England
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 81 restaurants in Littlehampton
Cuisines: English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: new bar / Restaurant, great location, over looking the river.Friendly staff, good food, all ways made to feel welcome
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Worth a third visit...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

My husband and I have been drinking regularly in The Empress for the last 18 months and love the atmosphere and the friendliness of the staff and regulars.
Paul and Tee have recently opened a restaurant section available on Friday and Saturday nights only at present and we wanted to be one of the first to try it. I have to say we were pleasantly surprised - no pub grub to be found here. It was a select menu but everything was lovingly prepared and beautifully presented, plus full of flavour. The food would not have been out of place in a top class restaurant. Yes, it was a bit more pricey than you may expect to pay in a normal bar, but you get what you pay for.
We would highly recommend it for a special evening out, or just for a new dining experience. We will definitely be eating there again.
Antonio & Kim

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    16
    7
    1
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
rustington,west sussex
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Worth a second visit”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

this is a drinks bar with a small section ( about 6 tables ) for eating, having said that it's one of the more select places in littlehampton in a wonderful location looking towards the river shame it isn't the med!

Service was good

The drinks and wine very expensive first round of two drinks £12.00 for two!

The mains are a good size starter in other places!

This is gourmet food erring on " Nouvelle Cuisine"

The menu stays the same for 12ish weeks at a time, and is changed to the seasons ie Spring, Summer, Autumn, Winter. And only on a Fri/Sat night.

All 6 courses we couldn't fault and well worth another visit.

6 courses , 1 bottle of house white wine, ( no coffee's) £95.00 Ouch!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littlehampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Very good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

Popped in last night with some friends, lovely bar with friendly staff and a good selection of drinks. Hoping to return soon for some food!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lovely place by the riverside!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012 via mobile

Our first visit was a week after they opened; beautiful sunshine, sitting outside overlooking the river! A lovely bar/restaurant, food is great (plates are definitely not small), lovely owners Paul & Tee who make everyone feel welcome! One of the only places in town we like to take our friends to who dont live around here, and they too tend to return! Xx

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenerife, Spain
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“how bad can it get”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

i stopped off in this bar,,,,,,the drinks are overpriced,,,,,,the food is bad ,ie the plates are small so as to try and think you are getting a lot to eat,,,,,,,after watching the man in charge he appears to only want to talk to you if you get him a drink

  • Visited June 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Empress Bar also viewed

Rustington, West Sussex
Littlehampton, West Sussex
 
Littlehampton, West Sussex
Littlehampton, West Sussex
 

Been to The Empress Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Empress Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.