We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great getaway location by the coast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Baliffscourt Hotel and Spa

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Littlehampton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Baliffscourt Hotel and Spa
Save
You added Baliffscourt Hotel and Spa to your Saves list
Climping Street 1, Littlehampton BN17 5RW, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Littlehampton
Walton-On-Thames, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great getaway location by the coast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Birthday treat for my wife and it was excellent. Resturant, hotel, spa staff all super nice and made us feel very very welcome. We loved the pool/spa, especially our 5 year old son enjoyed family time at the pool. Service and attention to detail all around was first class. Lots of chill out rooms with open fires, perfect for cosy pint or tea. Our black lab also loved it and was spoilt by staff as it was his birthday too!

Room Tip: if you have a dog Elfham is a nice large room on ground floor with easy access and big hallway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    19
    6
    3
    2
See reviews for
15
33
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

I enjoyed a lovely spa break with my mum for here birthday. We enjoyed dinner bed and breakfast at this beautiful tranquil hotel by the sea. We stayed in one of the contemporary rooms, walk in shower etc., etc. The dinner was beautiful, many choices, served in a candlelit room.
Yhe spa was lovely, swimming in the outdoor pool (heated)!! in October was wonderful. A quaint quiet hotel in a lovely setting, a brisk walk before dinner, and search for the resident peacock was all that was needed to build up an apetite for dinner. I can honestly say after two visits in two different rooms, the hotel was magical. Well done for a great short break, and thank you again.

Room Tip: All the rooms outside the main hotel are quiet and peaceful. Take a short trip to the beach, for a b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorking, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

A perfect stay in this characterful hotel.
Good sized room in the main house, wonderful dinner in atmospheric dining room, great spa pools, attentive staff without the grovelling, and I thought very good value. The dinner was certainly worth £50 per head and the breakfast was very good. Bracing walks along the shingle beach 200 m away.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We dined in the hotel on a week night in August. We were staying locally with our children and had arranged for family to babysit so we could celebrate our 10th wedding anniversary. When I booked the table I mentioned the occasion and in the past when we have eaten in hotels for special occasions we have had this acknowledged in same way shape or form.
The hotel is beautiful. It was a shame that we didn't get to see it in its full glory as it was dusk when we arrived. The service was fantastic - someone greeted us and showed us the menus for the evening whilst getting our drinks.
When seated in the restaurant the staff were attentive and also was checking if all was ok. I was disappointed that there was no recognition of why we were there at all - not even in passing. I had booked the meal as a surprise for my husband and had hoped this would be acknowledged.
The meal was lovely - on par with other restaurants we have eaten in. We only had two courses but were charged for the set three course menu which was a shame.
Overall it was a lovely meal - but expensive for what we ate and left me slightly disappointed that our occasion was not marked. Would love to look around the buildings during the day however as it was truly beautiful.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
godalming
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

I have visited this hotel circa six times. Dining each time and staying once.
This is an attractive hotel and spa in a beautiful location.
The cuisine is excellent both quality and presentation.
The rooms are very attractive and offer comfort, atmosphere and decent facilities.
The staff are all friendly, professional and have pride in themselves and their establishment and it shows.
This is not an inexpensive establishment but the quality Vs value formula is in balance.
Recommend this hotel and spa.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stayed here overnight as a birthday spa weekend for my mum and I. On arrival, there is certainly a wow factor both in the hotel and the SPA.
Nothin was too much trouble at this hotel and the room was cute, with twin poster beds and a wood burning fire. The dinner was included with the price of the room and completely delicious and surprising.

I cannot fault this hotel, and I cannot recommend it enough.

Room Tip: ask for a wood burning fire!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We have just returned to London after a very special weekend break at Baliffscourt. We stayed in a feature Room called Maunsbroke which had its own fire and roll top bath - really beautiful, warm and cosy. The room was not flash so don't expect mod-cons, but everything was charming, old, polished, and individual. We opened the windows every night though as the room did get quite hot, but rather that than freezing cold. The buildings and grounds are charming and quintessentially English - the woods lead down to Climping beach, which was very pretty, especially in the morning sunshine, and practically deserted when we walked it on Saturday morning. The whole setting down a country lane leading to a beach is really really lovely and we felt a million miles away from anywhere. The pool area and spa were lovely and clean (and smelt amazing as they were lit by scented aromatherapy candles), and never too busy, although it is open for children to swim in but only at restricted times. We were lucky that it was sunny so it made swimming in the beautiful outdoor pool and sampling the outdoor hot tub a bit more appealing! The food and drinks were delicious, and the lounge areas were very welcoming with the roaring log fires and cosy sofas and chairs. The staff are friendly, and nothing was too much trouble. Service was a tad slow at times, but it was not a problem at all really as we were so relaxed so didn't mind waiting a little extra time for drinks etc to arrive. We left relaxed, and full of fresh sea air! Thank you Baliffscourt for a great weekend. We hope to return!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Baliffscourt Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baliffscourt Hotel and Spa

Address: Climping Street 1, Littlehampton BN17 5RW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Littlehampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Littlehampton
Number of rooms: 39
Also Known As:
Baliffscourt Hotel And Spa Littlehampton, West Sussex

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baliffscourt Hotel and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.