We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Caloriffic” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Britannia Harvester

The Britannia Harvester
Grinstead Lane | BN15 9DP, Lancing, England
0190 375 0511
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 32 Restaurants in Lancing
Price range: $5 - $23
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: At The Britannia Harvester in Lancing food is fresh, full of flavour and just how you like it. Choose your tasty grill, sauce and side at our restaurant and we'll get cooking - while you head off to the famous Harvester salad bar to grab as much crisp, freshly prepared tasty salad as you like.About our Harvester restaurantIf you're looking for a family friendly restaurant in Lancing, there's nowhere more popular than Harvester. Close to Sompting, Shoreham-by-Sea and Worthing, our restaurant is a great choice for anyone who loves tasty grills, indulgent desserts and eating out in a friendly, relaxed atmosphere. Plus we've loads of choices for young guests.
Shoreham-by-Sea, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Caloriffic”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

Look it's only a Harvester so let's not get carried away. The bar is slow, the wine is bad and a lot of the clientele has let things slide waistline wise. However, everything on the menu has a calorie value shown, the food is tasty, the staff are friendly and if you're canny with the deals and the salad bar you can get a lot for your money. For convenience it's OK. Just don't get too much, you could easily hit your daily allowance in no time.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harvester R, Public Relations Manager at The Britannia Harvester, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank you for your recent review, It was good of you to take the time to leave your feedback following your visit to the Britannia Harvester.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    30
    36
    26
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sompting West Sussex
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“Chaos”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Burnt piece of chicken on one side turned over thinking we wouldn't notice, but when the knife wouldn't cut through it gave it away!, can't believe the chef would let that leave the kitchen. As it was we waited over an hour for our meal...no wonder it was burnt

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harvester R, Public Relations Manager at The Britannia Harvester, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
We’re sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your visit to the Brittiania Harvester. Thank you for raising this with us, we really value all customer feedback and are working closely with the staff to ensure that this doesn't happen again. It is our aim to give every guest the very best service we can and we have written to you personally.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Needs burning down”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

The most filthy place I've ever eaten. Staff have taken multiple courses of how to be rude and unhelpful. The food is adequate but lacks flavour or substance. Save your money and eat at home

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harvester R, Public Relations Manager at The Britannia Harvester, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
We’re sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your visit to The Britannia Harvester. Thank you for raising this with us, we really value all customer feedback and are working closely with the staff to ensure that this doesn't happen again. It is our aim to give every guest the very best service we can and we have written to you personally.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
427 helpful votes 427 helpful votes
“Second Price Hike in Few Months”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

This is the second 'New Menu' to come out in a few months and the prices are going through the roof for what is basically junk food that you could buy in Iceland for a few quid!!
Perhaps it is to cope with the additional cost of celebrating Christmas in August!! They had Christmas 'decorations' by the door in August!! Roll on Christmas, perhaps we'll have a 'Summer Holiday BBQ menu' by then!! IMHO these people (and I don't blame the staff, it's Mitchells and Butlers, the owners) HAVE LOST THE PLOT!!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harvester R, Public Relations Manager at The Britannia Harvester, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you for your recent review, It was good of you to take the time to leave your feedback following your visit to Harvester Britannia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
156 helpful votes 156 helpful votes
“Love the salad bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We enjoy a meal here with friends occassionally and the staff are always polite and helpful. The prices are reasonable and there is a good selection of food with a free salad bar that you can help yourself to and plenty of choice (my favourite). There is a small bar area and seating outside and a good sized car park.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harvester R, Public Relations Manager at The Britannia Harvester, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
We are so pleased to hear that you found Harvester Britannia a good place to eat, and we really appreciate you leaving positive feedback on Trip Advisor. We have replied to you personally as it is our aim to give every customer the very best experience possible and we hope you will help.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Britannia Harvester also viewed

 
Lancing, West Sussex
Littlehampton, West Sussex
 

Been to The Britannia Harvester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Britannia Harvester, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.