We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best food in sussex!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Limes Bistro

Limes Bistro
67 High Street | Lindfield, Haywards Heath RH16 2HN, England
+44 1444 487858
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $20 - $39
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Best food in sussex!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Such a wide range of food here, with always amazing dishes served up one after the other. Scallops are a must, as are the game options they have on the specials. Rabbit pie was outstanding. The service is perfect, happy faces without being intrusive, very polite. The manager is always available to answer any questions you might have about the food. The wine list is very good, and the wine of the month is a nice touch. Overall a smashing meal

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    38
    13
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Newbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Delicious food and excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

We were staying in Hayward's Heath overnight and looking for somewhere to eat. Found Limes Bistro on Trip Adviser with great reviews so decided to give it a try. Very impressed. Delicious food and quietly attentive, we'll timed service. No hesitation in recommending restaurant and only wish we had somewhere as good in near where we live in Hampshire.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mish80
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

The Limes is a lovely place to go for good food. The menu is always great, service can be a little slow sometimes, but that just means you can enjoy the excellent wine list to full!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Food Quality is amongst the best in Sussex”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

The Limes had just completed a refurbishment to its dining room when I first visited. It is a lovely welcoming place to visit with a very nice menu - just enough choice and everything cooked fresh on the premises. I went for a lovely dinner with my wife who is coeliac and had visited once before and loved the experience. My impression was the same as hers. The atmosphere was lovely with a busy 'buzz' which wasn't intrusive and allowed us to have quite an intimate meal.

The Dinner Menu offer a choice of 6 starters, 6 main courses and 6 desserts supplemented by a couple of additional 'Specials' for each course. The menu changes regularly and the specials reflect what produce are locally available and in season. We chose Beetroot, goats curd with watercress and Baked scallops, pancetta and madeira as our starters and the flavours were beautifully developed, food was hot and delightfully presented. These were followed by Sweet potato & peanut massaman curry, jasmine rice with crispy shallots and Char grilled rib eye steak, garlic butter, hand cut chips and salad - both of which were full of flavour. The curry was beautifully fruity and light clearly benefiting from the Thai experience of our female chef whose understanding of how to use spice to best effect is delightful. We were struggling for room to enjoy our desserts but I did manage a delightful Lemongrass crème brulee with winter berries.

The whole meal was beautifully served by Devina and her front of house team who delivered a friendly, unobtrusive yet attentive service - very professionally.

If you are in and around this part of Mid Sussex it is absolutely worth a visit. If you aren't local and make the trip you won't be disappointed. For Dinner starters averaged £6 and mains were £12.80 to £17.50 with my special dessert at £5.50 so at £25 a head for food excellent value.

How did they handle my wife's Coeliac requirements - no issue and no problems - so we look forward to going again. Whether you have a food allergy or not I'm sure you won't find anyone more helpful.

Thanks to the 'Limes'. We are looking forward to our next visit. I understand they do breakfast too with bacon butties, stacks of waffles and pancakes, and I can't wait to try that as well.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Amazing local food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

We ate at this restaurant on a Thursday evening and by 8pm it was full! So booking essential. The menu choices were great with local produce such as rabbit. Puddings were amazing! Great atmosphere and staff. We will definitely be visiting again soon!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Limes Bistro also viewed

Haywards Heath, West Sussex
Haywards Heath, West Sussex
 
Haywards Heath, West Sussex
Haywards Heath, West Sussex
 

Been to Limes Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Limes Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.