We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hearty food fantastic service. Stunning restaurant.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Limes Bistro

Limes Bistro
67 High Street | Lindfield, Haywards Heath RH16 2HN, England
+44 1444 487858
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $20 - $41
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Haywards Heath, England
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Hearty food fantastic service. Stunning restaurant.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

Wow love the new look limes!
My son partner and I have just enjoyed a fantastic hearty breakfast accompanied by beautifully made lattes and freshly squeezed orange juice. We are looking forward to coming in soon to sample the dinner menu.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    32
    9
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
West Sussex
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014 via mobile

Lovely evening at Limes of Lindfield with friends. The service is spot-on - very attentive without being intrusive. The meal was superb. 2 of us had duck which was absolutely delicious, one had the Balcombe rabbit pie which he said was "amazing", and the other had rib-eye steak with chips which was "gorgeous". The red wine was lovely and the restaurant itself is very clean and inviting. All together a superb evening. We would definitely recommend Limes of Lindfield and we will definitely return. Thanks to all the staff who made it such a good evening.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haywards
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Delightful food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014 via mobile

Visited Limes on Monday and had a lovely surprise. Limes has been refurbished with more deep colours in furniture and flooring. The exposed brick walls and deeper colours give the place more character.
The baked scallops with panchetta in Madeira sauce came in impressive large shells. They were delicate cooked and flavoured. A positive change to fried scallops or with heavy sauces you find in other places. This starter was ideal for an evening meal as I prefer not to have heavy food at night. The chickpea pancake with creamed kale and fried egg was light and also delicate flavoured but it could have had a bit of spice somewhere in the dish.

The manageress suggested Malbec Organica wine to go with the main course. This is a light fruity wine that complemented the dish well.
I am looking forward to trying next time the poached pear with chocolate sorbet and spiced bread, it just takes my fancy.
The level of background noise was fine, the texture of the chairs (they look thicker) and the wooden floor may contributed to that as the place was fairly busy. Modern restaurant can be a bit too noisy for my taste, with floors, walls & windows, well, naked.
We will be back to Limes, I found staff charming, well informed on their food & wine, and food and service excellent.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LimesLindfield, Owner at Limes Bistro, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear Consuelo,

Thank you so much for your review, we are really glad you like our new look - we love it! We did choose the padded furnishings purposely, not just for comfort but also to reduce the background noise levels in the restaurant.

See you again soon at Limes we hope!

Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mid Sussex
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Wonderful bistro”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

This is a great bistro on the Lindfield High Street. Have eaten here many times over the past few years and it is always excellent. A top notch place for a business lunch or a special evening. Easily one of the best places I've eaten at in SE England.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LimesLindfield, Owner at Limes Bistro, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your great review and your recommendation. We certainly aim to be one of the best places to eat in SE England and your kind words of encouragement are very much appreciated.

Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best Hidden Secret - "dont tell anyone else"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

I and my friends - total party of 6 had a lovely evening here (they don't stop talking about it!). Food was excellent, staff very knowledgable and definitely worth a visit.

The grilled sea bass with ginger, chilli, hot sesame oil & jasmine rice was a delight, very fresh fish perfectly cooked, with the spices bringing a lovely balance to the overall dish. Excellent.

The venison was exactly that, with the meat having been cooked gently and slowly until it was really soft and retained its texture and earthy flavour. Another delightful dish.

The pigeon was triumphant. The breasts were halved lengthways and was served perfectly pink, with crispy skin and beautifully tender meat. Sharp knives were on hand but were entirely unnecessary.

The whole roast Balcombe mallard, chips & béarnaise sauce (we apologised to our two guests – sorry we all tucked in to your dish) BUT IT WAS JUST TO GOOD

The home-made breads on offer were delightful and I used all of one roll to mop up my plate (I know not the done thing), it was far too good to return to the kitchen.

The dessert was also excellent, with the home made ginger ice cream and poached pears complementing very well indeed.. Lemon grass crème brûlée, poached Clementine & vanilla pod was a first for some of us (We did an Oliver and went back for seconds) One of our number had ordered the cheese board, This was astonishing, both in terms of range and quality and well justified the supplement.

There's no doubt that as much care was taken over the choice of these as over the preparation of the rest of the meal.

I have dined here on several occasions for lunch & dinner and can honestly say that I don't believe that I will ever come across a better dining experience than this.

NOTE: it is difficult to secure a reservation however there is a legitimate reason for this (Limited number of tables). It lives up to the hype on every level.

The restaurant itself is not at all pretentious and the food is out of this world. The staff have achieved a perfect balance between friendly and professional service, as well as tending to your every need whilst not being in your face.

It is a relaxing environment where you can easily hang around for hours on end taking in course after course of gastronomic genuis.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LimesLindfield, Owner at Limes Bistro, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear David,

Wow, I'm lost for words. Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a great review, it is very much appreciated by ourselves and our staff. It really is pleasing to hear from our satisfied customers. I'm sure it won't be long before we see you again.

Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Limes Bistro also viewed

Haywards Heath, West Sussex
Haywards Heath, West Sussex
 
Haywards Heath, West Sussex
Haywards Heath, West Sussex
 

Been to Limes Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Limes Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.