We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor start which improved” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN The Birch Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN The Birch Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN The Birch Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lewes Road, Haywards Heath RH17 7SF, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 50% off stays!
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Haywards Heath
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Poor start which improved”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

Arrived for a one night stay, reception allocated room 301 , with the description, up the stairs and then a few more stairs. We were in fact at the top of the hotel in an extremely small room with reduced height ceilings. The room had a double bed but was obviously designed for one. Disappointed we asked to be moved, reception offered to try or try to reduce the price on check out. Not sure how this would have happened as we had already paid. That evening a room became available, due to a no show, and we were moved to a lovely room, with a large bed and bathroom. The following morning arrived for breakfast, hotel busy and the 3 staff waiting staff were overwhelmed. Found my own table asked for it to be cleared, served myself, never offered any hot drinks. On checkout, reception commented that the original room was not for tall people! Suggested they make this clear on booking and offer a reduced price at the outset.
Overall, a hotel that makes a stay hard work. If you go, check the size of the room you will be allocated. Reception staff helpful.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    76
    54
    22
    9
See reviews for
26
69
16
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

My partner and I booked this hotel as we were attending a wedding close by. I called ahead to confirm with the hotel that booking in late wouldn't be a problem and they said they had a night porter on all evening. We arrived at 0030 hours and there was no staff at reception. We pressed the bell for about 20 minutes with no one still coming to the desk. Eventually I had to fight my way through a large rowdy crowd in the bar to ask the bar staff if someone could book is in.

After another 10 minute wait, the night porter strolled up to the desk and said that the customers at the bar wanted to finish their order. I was extremely frustrated after a long day that I had to wait 30 minutes to be checked in as the night porter was doing another job!

The room to be fair was clean and well presented. However it transpired this was above the bar. I thought the bar would soon close and the noise from it would stop at around 1am. However at 4am the noise was as loud as when we arrived and we had a very sleepless night. There was shouting, loud music and constant vehicles arriving outside.

I wrote an email to the hotel to complain as I feel I had paid over the odds for the worst hotel experience I'd had. I received no reply whatsoever which I find completely shocking customer service.

I would never book with this hotel again and recommend no one else book with them too.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

Only stayed for one night in a ground floor room. The rate included b/f which was a buffet or a la carte. I failed to notice that you could request cappuccino etc until I was almost finished. This might be worth trying as the std coffee wasn't that good. The food was fine though. Could do without the dreadful music playing.

The room was very comfortable. No complaints at all there. The only thing I would point out is that if you have the ground floor rooms next to the exit door it is very noisy as the door is open and closed ( slams ) constantly.

Reception staff were friendly and car parking was plentiful.

Pretty good all around.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

Good clean hotel.
Staff very nice and friendly.
New menu in restaurant and is good.
Service in restaurant is attentive but slow, there were only 3 tables with people at them, and suspect that was too much for the kitchen to keep up with. Didn't spoil the stay though.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

I have stayed here a few times when staying over for work. I usually book a single room and it is excellent value. Single bed but it is an adequate room for a one night stay. Room is clean and well appointed. Evening meals in the restaurant are rather pricey and choice is limited. I am sure there are probably better eating options away from the hotel. Food is not great quality and service can be slow. There is a good choice for breakfast but again the quality is not the best. For a night away on business it is fine.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toulouse, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Stayed there for 3 nights.
The room is relatively spacious, but is an average compared to the price. Our room was on the ground floor with a very nice view ... on the restaurant located 2 meters from the room's window.
On our arrival, the hotel was experiencing Internet access problems, which was still the case 3 days later.
The room can be very noisy unless you don't care about doors slamming at any time of the day or the night, or about the sound of the neighbor's beds.
One of the 2 beds was unusable, the mattress should have been changed for months.
To summarize, we were expecting quite better for 80 £ per night.
We won't be back there for sure.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Needed a good value hotel for an overnight as working nearby the following day. The Birch looked a good option and proved to be so. The room although quite small (a single) had a decent sized bathroom and was perfectly clean and well appointed. I arrived mid-evening so didn't bother with the restaurant for an evening meal, there is a handy petrol station next door if you want to get some snacks, breakfast was typical buffet and what was on offer was nice enough although some dishes could have been warmer. The Hotel itself is attractive inside and better than many others, staff were polite and friendly and there is ample parking in the grounds. My room faced the main road but there wasn't any problem with road noise. I would certainly consider staying again if i wanted accomodation in this area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN The Birch Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN The Birch Hotel

Address: Lewes Road, Haywards Heath RH17 7SF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Haywards Heath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Haywards Heath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN The Birch Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Birch Hotel is located in the West Sussex town of Haywards Heath , 3 miles from Burgess Hill, 18 miles from Brighton and 15 miles from Gatwick Airport. The original building was built in c.1874 And still retains some of the original features, including oak panelling in the lounge area and stained glass windows on the main staircase. The Birch Hotel has undergone extensive refurbishment over the last few years making it the perfect venue for business or leisure. The main facilities of The Birch Hotel are: 51 en-suite bedrooms, all with Free wired internet access, 6 Conference rooms ideal for interviewing up to theatre style for 60 persons, (all rooms have wireless internet access), 3 banqueting rooms suitable for the small family celebration from 10 guests up to 80 guests for a seated reception. The Birch Hotel is licensed for Civil and Partnership ceremonies. The Birch offers the Courtyard resytaurant or our new modern Bistro Bar for dining .On site free carpark with a small side garden. The Hotel is Non Smoking throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN The Birch Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Haywards Heath
Haywards Heath Best Western
BEST WESTERN The Birch Hotel Haywards Heath, West Sussex, UK

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN The Birch Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.