We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish we could have stayed longer” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Copyhold Hollow Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Haywards Heath
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Copyhold Hollow Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Copyhold Hollow Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Copyhold Lane | Borde Hill, Haywards Heath RH16 1XU, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Au
1 review
“Wish we could have stayed longer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

A few weeks ago we spent 6 days visiting some of the nicest landscape gardens in the South of England. The two nights in Copyhold Hollow were much too short. The place is a tastefully restored old house with a wonderful garden, and the owner Frances Druce has given the place a very special touch with some beautifully arranged garden flowers here, some nice antiques there, and a warm, welcoming, relaxed atmosphere in a beautiful landscape. When you look out of the window in the morning, you can see deer grazing a few metres away.... And Mrs Druce is a lovely, very helpful lady with lots of good tips about the best places to visit. Thanks for a short, but beautiful stay!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    4
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
15
39
9
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

If you are looking to explore the West Sussex coast and countryside you could not pick a better place. Lovely old house, beautiful gardens and Frances the host, is an angel. Great value and warm and welcoming, we hope to come back when it's not snowing!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abergavenny
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

A beautiful little B&B in the Sussex countryside, that feels a lot like The Burrow from Harry Potter! Really comfortable and cosy, with a big open fire in the guests' sitting room. We slept really well. Beautiful garden too - and the welcome is excellent.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novosibirsk, Russia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

I visited this little hotel in a middle of winter, so I couldn't enjoy its beautiful garden, but even in winter it's possible to see how much effort makes its owner. Even in winter it looks great!
She is very kind and nice woman, I was enjoyed the traditional breakfast which she prepared to me!
It was like a spending few days in a fairy tale in old-fashioned house with big fireplace, very comfortable conditions and friendly atmosphere!
I would like to visit this amazing place again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Copyhold Hollow was built in the 15th century and has a strong historic feel, from the exposed cross-timbers and occasional uneven stairs to the huge inglenook fireplace in the guests' sitting room, which is where I spent all my time in the early autumn evenings. The owner has restored the house nicely without reducing any of its character, but on the flip side, if you want everything to be modern and up-to-date, this probably isn't the place for you. It's very clean, and my bed was comfortable with feather pillows and a duvet. Breakfast was very good, especially the amazing local apple juice which will spoil you forever for normal apple juice. The owner has put together maps of a number of walks over local footpaths - I wasn't able to take advantage of these owing to muddy weather, but I'd have loved to explore if I had more time. It's a great location for garden lovers. It's on a rural street, and you'll need a car to go into town for dinner.

Room Tip: I was in the single room which was quiet and comfortable. Since there's a sitting room reserved...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

What a find! An absolutely idyllic place to stay. My friend and I based ourselves at Copyhold Hollow for 4 nights bed and breakfast. The welcome from Frances was so warm; tea in the garden arrived within minutes of arrival. Her cooked breakfast is delicious. We slept so deeply and felt really rested despite days spent actively sight seeing.

Frances was always interested in what we had planned each day without being nosy and made very constructive, helpful suggestions for extra places we might like to visit which were on our route.

It felt like we were a million miles away from the hustle and bustle of life; even saw deer from our bedroom window. Would definitely recommend this B&B.

Room Tip: Room used had 2 single beds both of which were very comfortable. Think room was named "Foxglove...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

What a delightful cottage! Our bedroom was lovely and clean and very welcoming with fresh flowers and fruit. The host Francis was very thoughtful, acommodating and helpful. And the breakfasts were delicious - either full cooked or smoked haddock and poached eggs!
A place of solitude and peace, the gardens are fascinating and vaired. A place we will come come back to again soon!
Robert & Sandy

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Copyhold Hollow Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copyhold Hollow Bed & Breakfast

Address: Copyhold Lane | Borde Hill, Haywards Heath RH16 1XU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Haywards Heath
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Haywards Heath
Hotel Class:3 star — Copyhold Hollow Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Copyhold Hollow Bed & Breakfast Haywards Heath, West Sussex, UK

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Copyhold Hollow Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.