We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“weekend away” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Old Stables

The Old Stables
Fontwell Park | Fontwell Avenue, Fontwell BN18 0SY, England
01243 543 082
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 4 Restaurants in Fontwell
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Part of Vintage Inns
colchester, essex
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“weekend away”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Went to fontwell for the racing, had a fab meal at the Old Stables on Saturday night, food was excellent (lemon meringue dessert was heavenly) pub was lovely and staff very obliging, they also open for breakfast so we had breakfast there before the races and again everything was excellent, will definately go back there again. David and Colette Polley

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    39
    27
    22
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“My New Favourite Restaurant!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

I first went here with my Boyfriend on our 1 year anniversary (1st October 2012) - Well... It was beautiful!

I had the Baked Brie and cranberry as a starter, Pork Belly with vegetables apple fritter and a lovely jus, and for desert i had a raspberry creme brulee! All were fantastic! My partner went with the bread starter, the Hunters Chicken and for desert he had giant profitarols - Even he enjoyed it! and trust me he can be funny about food!

It was delicious! For 2 Starters, 2 Mains, 2 Deserts and 3 drinks it came to £43!! What a bargain! and for the quality of food it was exceptional.

We have visited since this time taking my mother and friend and again with 4 different starters mains and deserts there were no complaints!

I agree that the staff could be a little more cheerful and that service could do with some imporving however the food is why people are going here!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Fresh food, exciting menu, excellent service and value for money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Having had probably the worst experience for a while (George & Dragon, Burpham - see review) this place was totally refreshing. This might be a chain restaurant (Vintage Inns), but the food was excellent. Offering so many interesting choices including bar snacks like tapas, scrummy (home-made) hummus, churros and calamari for example. Puds menu to die for. This is our 3rd visit and we always leave very happy. This is a charming venue, which actually seems to care about its clients. I am sorry I didn't note the name of the person who took our order (tapas) then, when finding they had run out, simply substituted for a different choice at no extra cost - this is customer service at its best. Old Stables - take a bow!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“meal out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

lovely pub for meal out.varied menu. the starters are quite expensive for the size you get. staff very friendly and helpful. nicely done out pub

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Family Dining in a Traditional Setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

When you enter this Pub/Restaurant you get the feeling that it is a well reconstructed old building hence the name and you will find it very cosy & welcoming with a big open fire in the winter and a large outside eating area for the week we have summer. However its is a fairly modern building well designed and cleverly decorated. It is part a a restaurant chain so don't expect anything more than good "Pub Grub" The service is friendly & efficient and the menu fairly comprehensive.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old Stables also viewed

Littlehampton, West Sussex
Worthing, West Sussex
 
Hassocks, West Sussex
Hooe, East Sussex
 

Been to The Old Stables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Stables, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.