We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great little hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Arundel Fontwell Park

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Travelodge Arundel Fontwell Park to your Saves list
Travelodge Arundel Fontwell Park
Fontwell Avenue, Fontwell BN18 0SY, England (Formerly Innkeeper's Lodge Arundel Chichester)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fontwell
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“great little hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

this hotel is very basic, which is what I expected from a travelodge. The staff, where really helpful and friendly. The room was clean and tidy, what more could you ask for after paying £70 for two nights.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    70
    19
    6
    6
See reviews for
38
58
12
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

I was very pleased with the refurbished hotel having stayed there several times before - especially as I paid only £78 for three nights.

The soap was of very poor quality - unless the water there is very hard. But they are are happy to supply more soap. So bring your own shampoo / shower cream.

We asked for extra pillows on arriving but they were not needed as the new pillows are excellent.

Excellent new bed.

Insulated windows.

We asked for a top floor to avoid noise from late night revellers but we were woken up by noisy arrivals passing our room at 03:00. Can't be helped I suppose but they could put up "Quiet Please after 23:00" signs.

Room Tip: Choose a top floor room to avoid noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

My two sons and I stayed in the Fontwell Park Travelodge for 3 nights, Friday to Sunday 14th to 16th June inclusive. While the facilities are basic and shower pressure could have been better, I have never come across such friendly reception staff in many years of visiting the UK. Full marks to all the ladies involved.

George Lynch

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We were looking for clean, comfy accessible rooms that suited our access requirements and were quite pleased with our choice. We had pre booked, checkin was immediate and took seconds, our room had plenty of room for me to do a full turning circle. I took my own mattress topper as I have very specific requirements for my comfort. The twin room beds were narrower than a standard bed but it didn't really bother us.

The bathroom in room 101 was a right hand transfer onto the toilet. It was a bit of a shame that the slop into the roll in shower started from the point where you place your wheelchair - so you end up transferring at a backward reclined angle! I liked the fact I could get under the washbasin and wash my hair in the low, large sink.

There was plenty of parking and the first two nights we didn't notice any great noise from people inside the hotel, outside in the pub or road traffic. By night three my husband said he heard a lot of traffic noise.

We never used the pub as it always looked busy and the menu was a bit too fancy for our taste so we walked to the Little Chef over the road for breakfast and the odd meal and ate out on our travels. Can't say much about the food - it was Little Chef!

Overall we had a pleasant stay and check out was as simple as popping our keycard into the box so couldn't be easier.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We were given the 'disabled' room because we wanted a twin room. The beds were so narrow we were scared to turn over in the night. There was no mattress protector and the pillows were very poor quality. The very worst thing though was that the bathroom had clearly not been cleaned. The toilet was full of faeces and toilet paper - either left by the previous occupant or by the cleaner! It was disgusting. We would never stop there again and cannot recommend it on our experience.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

arrived on Friday 4 p m was told there was no linen available until laundry arrived, which should be soon, at 7 pm we left the hotel still with no linen on the bed. We returned at 11 and sure enough clean linen was on all the beds, but only two hand towels in the bathroom. At 2 a.m. we were awoken by the fire alarm going off , left room only to be told (by another guest) "its all right someone was caught smoking in a bedroom", woken at 8 a m by the sound of motor bikes hurtling up the A27. Put Two pounds in the vending machine for an 80p kit kat and received 20p change, "not our fault" was reception response. On postage stamp bar of soap in the room for two nights.... never again !

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braintree, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

we booked this hotel as it was near to my son residents
the room was basic no frills and TBH the pillows have seen better days.
despite my worries though as its near a busy road the room was quiet once the pub next door had turned out.
Travelodge dont provide and shower gel so bring your own and also bring a loo roll
we had a comfy undisturbed night and opted for breakfast at the little chef opposite side of the road.
for £46 for a family room you got what you paid for

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Travelodge Arundel Fontwell Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Arundel Fontwell Park

Address: Fontwell Avenue, Fontwell BN18 0SY, England (Formerly Innkeeper's Lodge Arundel Chichester)
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Fontwell
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fontwell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Hotel.de so you can book your Travelodge Arundel Fontwell Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Arundel Fontwell Park Hotel Arundel
Innkeepers Hotel Arundel Chichester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Arundel Fontwell Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.