We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired, dirty rooms, wouldn't recommend!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Billinghurst Five Oaks

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Travelodge Billinghurst Five Oaks to your Saves list
Travelodge Billinghurst Five Oaks
A29, Stane Street, Five Oaks, Billingshurst RH14 9AE, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Five Oaks
1 review
“Tired, dirty rooms, wouldn't recommend!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

Our room was booked for 3 adults, 1 child. We arrived early evening to a room set for 3 people. Went to request more bedding etc to be told company policy was a max of 3 people in any room and I wouldn't have been able to book a room for 4, even though the website offered this. Our only option was to pay for another room until we were then informed 20 minutes later that company policy had changed and we can now have 4 in a room (as I was obviously not telling the truth the first time!).

The room itself was extremely basic and dirty. Stains on the walls, scum around the taps, rotting window sills were just a few! We weren't expecting much for £42 a room but a clean room would have been expected. We will never stay here again.

On a positive note, the cafe (Billy's on the road) just next door was brilliant, newly decorated, fresh food, would really recommend.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    23
    19
    9
    17
See reviews for
18
31
5
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed here for one night with my partner and 1yr old as convenient stop over on the way back to London. It cost just over £40 for the night on Easter weekend.

This Travelodge is in dire need of modernisation and a facelift. Our room was spacious with enough room to fit our travel cot but that was the only plus side of a big list of negatives.
Given it was a ground floor room the bathroom was set up for disabled access however the bath was really slippy with no non slip mat & we have to use one of the towels for our 1yr old to sit in in the bath so she didn't slip over. The grouting in between the tiles was mouldy and some of the bathroom tiles were cracked and in need of replacement. The pressure from the shower was intermittent and so showering took ages. Toilet seat was old and yellowing and clearly hadn't been cleaned properly in between guests.

The bed linen was stained with faded coffee/tea. We had to ask for extra pillows as they were almost non-existent. The wall had been painted with no care at all and there were patches where you could see the old colour underneath. It just all felt a little grimey. Glad we bought our own travel cot and linen for our daughter to sleep in given the state of the rooms.

In the morning we tried numerous times to find a member of staff to see if we could use and iron & ironing board but to no avail. No one to be found. So we decided to give up, put on our creased clothes and leave as soon as possible!

This Travelodge either needs to be closed or have some money injected into it. Very disappointing.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Five Oaks hotels

South Coast
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

The rooms here are dire! The shower did not function correctly, the walls were mouldy, the rooms war dimly lit and the ben linen was stained. All in all I have to say this is the worst hotel I have personally ever stayed in. I will never return here under any circumstance. I would prefer to drive out to the next available hotel in future.

Room Tip: Use another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

First, the good news - the people were great, especially Lucia and Paul.
We booked for 2 weeks, not normal for us, since we prefer self-catering, but a family medical situation required us to be close. We've signed up for their email specials, which can be good, but non-refundable, so we stayed put. The charges ranged from 15 GBP to 59 GBP per night (for the same room).
The entry to the hotel is cute, but the empty Little Chef (cafe - that seems to 'team' up with Travelodges) looks rough, not so welcoming. Also, unless you like prepackaged sandwiches, you have to drive into Billingshurst to eat. (Can recommend - Truffles, Monsoon, The Kings Head, The Chef Thai, and Six Bells, as good places to eat - see reviews on each). You would choose this place out of desperation and you must have a car to get to sights, food, etc. It is on a 'A' road, which was very busy, but we didn't hear any road noisy from Room #4, which was close to the reception area. We enjoyed seeing rabbits and squirrels from our window. The hotel is set amongst country pastures.
The room is bare bones - see photos. Beside the bed, there was a sofa and one uncomfortable overstuffed chair. There was a kettle with coffee/tea, plus 2 ceramic mugs. The heat was easy to work and we were comfortable. Since it was Oct. we didn't try any a/c. The room was well lit. There weren't any outlets near the head of the bed, so my husband couldn't use his CPAP. The pillows were flat, but there was 5, so it worked out. No frig or micro. Small, regular TV (not flat screen). Wifi and movies cost extra, we didn't use either.
The bed and I didn't agree about the definition of comfort, so Lucia gave me an extra comforter to use for extra padding. I used that and the narrow foam 'mattress' on the roll-out under the sofa. It worked, but was odd. The wall between the bed and the bathroom smelled moldy and from comments in a 'log' in the reception, others were not happy about this either.
The bathroom door needed painting (chips in paint). No hair dryer or wash clothes and the only 'extras' were a tiny soap bar that melted and 2 flimsy plastic cups, that we didn't use, because they all but collapsed when you held them.
We actually tried to transfer our remaining nights to a Travelodge closer to the hospial in Chichester (we were told by a couple of people at the hotel that we could do that), but when we called customer service, they said no, they wouldn't do that. With a couple of nights only costing $24 a nt (15 GBP), you can't complain, but other nights cost us $95 per night (59 GBP) - and the room was substandard at that rate. Hope this helps others.

Room Tip: Sign up for Travelodge specials, you can save, if you are sure you will be making the trip.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

First appearances are not good, the little chef out front is closed and boarded up with entrance to the 'hotel' around the side.

First the good points - staff were extremely friendly and the room was reasonably priced.

Now the rest... the hotel has the feel of an abandoned school or similar, built around a quad and obviously hasn't been decorated/upgraded in 20 years or so. Room was damp and musty, not surprising given the single glazed windows with frames so rotten the windows wouldn't close properly. Rather than mend/replace the frames Travelodge have screwed lengths of chain to the windows to stop them being opened too wide. Curtain rail above the window but curtain long gone, I made the mistake in looking behind the black out blind - don't think I've ever seen so many dead bugs/flies.

Pillows essentially a pillowcase (1 each) although we did find we had a spare towel which was used as a makeshift pillow. Rest of the room acceptable, not really clean but not so filthy you felt you had to wash your hands after touching anything.

Overall the place is clearly on its last legs (and probably has been for some years) and Travelodge are waiting for it to be knocked down or redeveloped (I assume at the same time as the Little Chef building).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glastonbury, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Once upon a time this was a pleasant place to stay. The staff are still very friendly & helpful. As others have said, first impression is the derelict Little Chef, not a pleasant site (although I realise this isn't the fault of Travelodge). However, the room was mouldy - damp smell on entering, black mould on the walls & ceiling of the bathroom; bathroom door was battered (paint falling off). Sofabed and chair were damp and stained, the bed was covered in the thinnest duvet I've ever seen and had 3 super thin pillows. Awful night's sleep on the solid mattress, especially as sound-proofing is non-existent. Windows kept out none of the plane noise or the wind! I seriously considered sleeping in the car! Didn't complain on leaving as there was a long queue of others doing just that!! Travelodge should be embarrassed letting people stay here - this place needs updating, probably about 10-15yrs since anything was replaced! I paid £40 - that was about £35 more than the room was worth.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bletchley
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

First impressions are poor with the sight of the closed Little Chef restaurant, but the hotel was very good value for money and the staff very welcoming and helpful. The hotel is in need of a refurbishment, but no complaints after a two night stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Travelodge Billinghurst Five Oaks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Billinghurst Five Oaks

Address: A29, Stane Street, Five Oaks, Billingshurst RH14 9AE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Billingshurst > Five Oaks
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Five Oaks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Travelodge Billinghurst Five Oaks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travel Lodge Five Oaks
Travelodge Five Oaks
Five Oaks Travelodge
Five Oaks Travel Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Billinghurst Five Oaks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.