We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very accommodating, a solid night's sleep and a great breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Hickstead

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Hickstead to your Saves list
The Hickstead
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Jobs Lane, Bolney RH17 5NZ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bolney
London
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Very accommodating, a solid night's sleep and a great breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We, my husband and I, stayed here for one night when hubby decided he wanted to run the Brighton half marathon (which is 20 minute drive away). We tried for ages to find somewhere actually in Brighton but a) he'd left it a bit late to organise and everywhere was full and b) everywhere that did have rooms available required a two night stay on a weekend. Unfortunately we had a family committment on the Friday so could only stay for one night. We originally had a B&B booked in Bishopstone but they were difficult (in fact slightly rude) when I asked if we could have a late check out (hubby not finishing his race until 10.30am at the earliest and needing a shower, and possibly a short rest).

When I phoned The Hickstead to check if we could have a late check out the answer was "of course", is there a charge for that? "only if you're staying until the evening, but until 1pm we won't charge you". Brilliant. Can we have an early breakfast for hubby? Of course! Do you have gluten free bread (me being somewhat of a 'wheatard') - of course! Well, for £89 for both of us including breakfast, I'm sold.

Finding the hotel is easy, come off the A23 onto the A2300 and head towards Bolney, there's signs for The Hickstead Hotel almost straight away. Follow the signs and you're there, down a country road with bunnies hopping off the side. The 'drive way' feels like you're entering a farm, there's a horse in a field, ducks on a pond, an angling lake and lots of fields and trees. Coming from London I started to relax immediately. The hotel building looks a little like a converted barn crossed with an office block, but it's welcoming and the surroundings are peaceful with lots of birdsong. The main car park is a good size, with an overflow car park round the back of the building.

Check in was quick and uncomplicated, we got our bags and went up to our room. We had a standard double - which normally would be fairly small, but the size was really good. There's plenty of room to walk around without getting in each other's way or tripping over bags or clothes. The bed is a large double (hubby wasn't kicking me in the night!) and super comfy. The duvet is so soft and warm, and combined with extra pillows gave me a super night's sleep. We had a little table and chairs by the window, at which I was able to do a little work on my laptop using the free wi-fi in the hotel (no password, just log on, nice and simple). The TV is Freeview and also has Sky Sports, so we were able to watch a little sport and a film. Standard teas/coffees in the room, plus good mirrors, trouser press, wardrobe, plugs, drawers etc. Curtains are proper black out curtains which is great. Good bathroom - huge soft towels (my favourite kind), large lit mirror, body wash/soap/shower cap etc provided, super-strong shower with easy to adjust temperature, although the bath is teeny tiny (about as wide as the length of my foot). The only other downside I can think of with the room is the lighting, there's only four small wall lamps, it makes the room a little darker than I'd like. I would prefer to have one or two large ceiling lights.

Our room was on the first floor, overlooking the overflow car park and what looks like a builders yard. Fortunately, it was the weekend so we weren't disturbed by anything going on in the yard, but I imagine during the week there may be some noise coming from there. The only other outside noise we heard was the geese and ducks wandering around the back of the building and having a go at each other, the bird song, the occasional tractor and the main road. Inside the hotel the sound proofing is good, although you can hear loud TVs in other rooms and the cleaners hoovering, but it's not too bad and I've certainly had worse.

Breakfast is served 8am-10am on a weekend, which is a little earlier than I would have liked, but that's probably because I was so enjoying sleeping in that bed! Choice of breakfast is the usual juices, cereals, yoghurt, pastries and a good quality cooked breakfast, with gluten free bread and rooibus (red bush) tea. I do like being accommodated properly, it makes all the difference. The staff were helpful and friendly at all times, not once have I had to wait, despite the hotel being almost full and everything I needed/wanted has been provided without difficulty or issue. Plus, we stayed at the hotel until 1pm and had no problems checking out at that later time.

Overall we've been very happy with our stay, if we ever need to stay in this area again we'll definitely consider coming back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hickstead, General Manager at The Hickstead, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Thank you for your observations following your stay for the half marathon.

I am pleased that we were able to accommodate your special requirements and we hope to see you for future events or perhaps a more relaxing break .

Kind Regards

Giles Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    107
    36
    13
    2
See reviews for
46
140
6
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newhaven, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We have just had my daughters wedding at the Hickstead on Feb 2nd 13 and it was a truly wonderful day and weekend. We have been planning this for 2 years and was not disappointed. The staff and especially Hannah was exceptional and were more then helpful over this time and on the day ..The rooms for our guests were clean and comfortable and all our guests and ourselves were accommodated extremely well and they even gave us breakfast in our room on the morning of the wedding for my daughters, mother ,myself and mother in law all beautifully presented. The ceremony room looked lovely and the reception room was stunning, The wedding breakfast was exceptional and hot and people complimented on it and also how the accommodated varying meal needs, the service and staff were excellent and the whole day was really well planned, The sun shone albeit cold we had pictures taken in the grounds which was lovely.. Breakfast Sunday morning was very good and everyone that attended the wedding said what a wonderful time they had.. On behalf of my daughter , son in law i would like to thank the staff and hotel for a truly fantastic day and will hold special memories for us all...We will be back for mothers day where they serve a lovely afternoon tea and intend to make visiting the hotel a regular occasions..many thanks Debs x

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hickstead, General Manager at The Hickstead, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
I was really delighted that the team at The Hiokstead helped to make your Daughter's Wedding such a special day .

We work hard to try and deliver a personal friendly but professional service and it really boosts all the team when they know they have done a good job and it is appreciated .

Thank you for all your comments and we look forward to seeing you back for special family celebrations

Kind Regards

Giles Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

As the Hickstead is near family we stay a few times a year and have for the last few years. From our first visit we find the hotel relaxing, comfortable,with good sized rooms and always peaceful. The staff are exceptional and the food in the restaurant excellent. And as we often book on the DBB packages - the value is unquestionable.

Room Tip: All rooms we have stayed in are fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hickstead, General Manager at The Hickstead, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post some comments .

I was delighted to hear that you are well looked after and we look forward to seeing you again soon on one of our special dinner inclusive packages .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We stayed at The Hickstead Hotel for two nights 18 months ago, and really enjoyed our stay and re booked for one night again staying on the night of 26th of January. We were pleased to see the hotel standard was the same as before. The rooms are large and well decorated and furnished, and the bathroom was exceptionally clean too. The Oak Tree restaurant within the hotel serves wonderfully tasty and well presented dinner and a fabulous buffet breakfast too! The staff in all areas, restaurant and reception were friendly, helpful and charming too.

Room Tip: We stayed here twice and had different rooms on both occasions - Both were of great standard, so we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hickstead, General Manager at The Hickstead, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you for posting your thoughts after your return visit to the Hickstead . I was delighted to read that you had a similarly good experience . All my key team members are still here and really help to give the service quality we constantly strive for and it is great when this is recognised .

It is great to see customers return and enjoyed by all the team .

Do make a date in your diary to come again on one of the many offers we run throughout the year

Giles Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

What a great place to stay, the location is fantastic and nice and quiet, thanks to the wonderful staff for making the 2 weeks we stayed there so pleasant. The staff really make this hotel, and will go out of their way to accommodate your needs.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hickstead, General Manager at The Hickstead, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Delighted that you were well looked after during a difficult time for you both and thanks for taking the time to post some comments

Do come and see us again sometime soon

Giles Paul
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radlett, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

My husband and I stayed overnight with the £99 D,B&B offer (including bottle of wine) which was great value. Surprisingly (for first weekend in Jan) there was a wedding on and we had to fight our way through the wedding line-up to get to the reception desk - not a huge deal but a little planning could have avoided this. The receptionist was polite and welcoming. Our room was a reasonable size and clean but decor is more on a par with a travel lodge. We had a drink before dinner in the bar area with a very friendly barman but, again, the whole bar area could do with some focus - maybe putting in a wood burning stove or similar to give a country-house feel (as the hotel is clearly aiming for). At the moment, there is just a large TV which made it feel slightly more like a waiting room. Lighting was too bright as well, didn't create any intimacy which a good hotel bar should have.

There was an excellent choice of menu at dinner and the food was reasonable, however the dining room really needed an upgrade. Not necessarily a huge spend needed but, for example, making sure that all the tables have cloths on rather than the dated placemats we had on ours. They also needed soft lighting, to draw the curtains (dark and cold outside) and light the candles to create a better atmosphere. The staff again were great which lifts this above similar hotels.

We can't argue with the value of this hotel and overall it was a good stay, however someone needs to cast a critical eye over this hotel (who knows what a real country-house hotel looks like) and make some improvements to decor. Again, this wouldn't require a big investment but just some little touches such as flowers on the reception desk, changes to lighting, better crockery and cutlery in the dining room.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hickstead, General Manager at The Hickstead, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you for your comments following your recent break in January .
I am delighted that you were looked after and enjoyed your stay overall. I understand as the only non wedding guests that it may have been a little difficult at times but hope you may consider a return visit on another occasion . We are planning some ground floor refurbsihments soon as we do understand the need to constantly cast a critical eye over the facilities

Kind Regards

Giles Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We chose the Hickstead for our wedding reception september 2012. We had such an amazing day. The staff are so fantastic & friendly. We felt so at home and could not have asked for better. Thank you Giles, Hannah, Jenny, Patricia and all that helped make our day completely perfect x

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hickstead, General Manager at The Hickstead, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Really pleased that you enjoyed your day and delighted you were well looked after by the team whilst I was away on leave .

We understand how personal and important a day it is and we really try to give it a very personal touch , so thank you for your comments

Hope you are both enjoying married life , do pop in and say hello

Giles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Hickstead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hickstead

Address: Jobs Lane, Bolney RH17 5NZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Bolney
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bolney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Hickstead 3.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Hickstead reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hickstead Hotel Hickstead
The Hotel Hickstead

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hickstead, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.