We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate, with good views but you could be crowded out by coach parties.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Royal Norfolk Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Royal Norfolk Hotel to your Saves list
The Royal Norfolk Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Esplanade, Bognor Regis PO21 2LH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Bognor Regis
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
“Adequate, with good views but you could be crowded out by coach parties.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We booked in here as we were going to Chichester the next day for a lunch but all hotels in that area were fully booked because of Chichester Revival weekend. The hotel is clean, comfortable, plenty of free parking and very good disabled access. The room was spacious with a great sea view. However it is in partnership with Alfa Travel who organise coach holidays at the hotel so we were lucky there was only one coach party during our one night stay.

We decided to eat elsewhere as the dinner menu looked very basic with little choice. We had a drink in the bar before going out and where the coach party were going to the dining room in stages. The hotel also appeared to be full.

I have no idea what the restaurant is like apart from saying you get waiter service for breakfast which is a nice change. No complaints but no rosettes either.

Room Tip: Ensure you don't get crowded out by coach parties before booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    51
    40
    21
    15
See reviews for
24
93
17
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012 via mobile

We booked for one night, asked for a sea view and got a car park but hey someone needs to have this view! Check in was efficient and room relatively clean and presentable. Window had three settings for the opening dependant on which way up the block of wood was, I assume this was a temporary repair!, bed was lumpy and the room cold with seemingly no way to alter the rads. Breakfast okay. My recommendation sort out the rooms and give all your customers the same attention as your coach parties present throughout our stay.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

The location is excellent. The staff are very efficient and professional. However, the excellent breakfast was spoiled by a large coach party. Which seems to be a regular feature of this otherwise great hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham CityUK
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

A fantastic Alfa coach holiday.We had a relaxing time with friends. Lovely sea view rooms which were clean and furnished to a comfortable standard. Shower and bathroom were very clean. The food was great with lots of choice and you could get any combinations of meals with extras if required. The menus were available for all week which helped to organise your meals. All public areas were always tidy and clean. Although we did not make use of the entertainment the function room was always full and we had good feedback from fellow travellers. We were able to have drinks outside or in the lounge. The Pimms were delicious! All staff were extremely helpful and cheerful, nothing was a problem. Our waitress (Rosie) was exceptionally diligent to her duties and knew our personal preferances after a couple of days! When we arrived there was a fayre on the hotel green so our entrance to the hotel was accompanied by a band playing the "Dam Busters" which we found welcoming. Thankfully the band stopped at 5 pm! A very enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Pay extra for sea view- well worth it !
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Reasonably priced well appointed and friendly hotel in Bognor Regis, right on the front and overlooking the beach. Rooms spacious and clean. Probably very grand once and although not having the newest fixtures and fittings, there's very little impression of 'tiredness', unlike a lot of similar hotels. The breakfast was excellent. Free car parking

Room Tip: A sea view will cost another tenner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton Middlesex
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

Had a week at this hotel for the 4th time & I must say in my opinion it is the best in the leisureplex hotels we have stayed at, Nicely situated just across the road from the beach. The staff are friendly & in our experience will do anything to make your stay enjoyable. We payed a bit extra for a sea-view room which was well worth it. The room was clean & nicely decorated & in the dining hall our waitress Rosie was fast & friendly. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Stayed one night. Called in advance about keeping a bike in the room as I was traveling around by bicycle. Staff arranged everything to accomedate this need. Room was descent and well maintained but a bit noisy. Noisy from bar and other rooms can be heared.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Royal Norfolk Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Norfolk Hotel

Address: The Esplanade, Bognor Regis PO21 2LH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Bognor Regis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Bognor Regis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Royal Norfolk Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal Norfolk - Bognor Regis (3 Alpha & AA 2 Star) Situated in a delightfully sunny spot on the sea front with extensive lawns and superb Channel views, this exceptional Georgian building dates from the 1830s and has been visited by the Emperor Napoleon III of France and various descendants of Queen Victoria. It is a short walk from the pier and shops. All 60 bedrooms are centrally heated with private bath or shower and WC, internal telephone, TV, hair dryer and tea/coffee making facilities. There is an attractive cocktail bar, a split level restaurant, a relaxing quiet lounge looking out onto the garden and a ballroom with small dance floor. Lift serves most rooms (some rooms accessed via several stairs). Entertainment is provided most evenings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your The Royal Norfolk Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Norfolk Hotel
The Royal Norfolk Hotel Bognor Regis, West Sussex

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Royal Norfolk Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.