We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They Really Are The Best Pies Ever!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Turner's Pies

Turner's Pies
87-89 Hawthorn Road, Bognor Regis PO21 2BE, England
01243 841511
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 128 Restaurants in Bognor Regis
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: English
Description: Specialising in quality handmade pies, Turners are a traditional family run bakers. Our award winning pies are baked daily using only the best, fresh ingredients.
Restaurant details
Description: Specialising in quality handmade pies, Turners are a traditional family run bakers. Our award winning pies are baked daily using only the best, fresh ingredients.
cornwall
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“They Really Are The Best Pies Ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

My wife and I were visiting my sister who lives in Bognor and she was telling us about the pies that were made just along the road from her that had won the best pie award. Well of course we had to try them.
Wow, they were great.
The pastry was good and the pies we had, chicken & ham and steak & ale, were full to the brim with meat. The taste was delicious
We had some over and took it to London with us to share with friends we were meeting there.
Well the best I can say is our friends wanted us to get some for them to bring home. This was not really pratical at the time , but maybe we can convince them to do mail order????
they are, as some of the other reviews say, to be found a little off the beaten track, but do search them out and dont be afraid to travel some distance to get them, it will be worth it.
The best pies we have ever tasted.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    10
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Best in the World...No Lie!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

If you think you've had a good pie...then I challenge you...
Try one of Turners and you'll then be convinced YOU HAVE NOW......these are the best pies in the world and made in Bognor......the very best you've ever tried guaranteed of that.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“The greatest pies in the history of mankind.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Just from setting eyes on one of those expertly crafted beauties conjurers up visions of the bustling artisan kitchen. The whole Turner family working together like Santa's elves, slightly overgrown, singing as they go, with a new found obsession with creating the greatest pies in the history of mankind, and by God they have almost done it!
Everyone of those slices of pie heaven are bulging with goodness and could warm the coldest of days, like a big meaty hug from the inside.
You are always greeted with a smile, whether it is Big Pip (who is in fact smaller than small Pip) grinning through the glasses clinging to the end of his nose, or Joe with a cheeky giggle cracking a completely random joke. It always feels as though that prize winning pie was just freshly cooked especially for you.
Turners is also the only place in a 134 mile radius to get a can of Rio.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Best Pies ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Have visited this shop on many occasions over the years and found the service and warmth of welcome excellent. After having tasted their new addition i.e steak and stilton pie I am hooked. Long may they continue to provide an excellent service. I congratulate them on their Britain's best pie award 2013.

Cheers
Dave and Pandora

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Top pies”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

If you want a proper pie Turners is the place to go, if you want a pie with something in it Turners is the place to go. All freshly made on the premises just go you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Turner's Pies also viewed

Bognor Regis, West Sussex
 
Bognor Regis, West Sussex
Bognor Regis, West Sussex
 

Been to Turner's Pies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Turner's Pies, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.