We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very satisfied customers” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Elmer Pub and Hotel

The Elmer Pub and Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Elmer Pub and Hotel to your Saves list
The Elmer Pub and Hotel
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   89 Elmer Road | Middleton On Sea, Bognor Regis PO22 6HD, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 26 Bognor Regis B&B and Inns
Bingley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very satisfied customers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2014

After recommendations from friends and family, my son and I decided to try The Elmer pub for our evening meal. The atmosphere was buzzing and the pub was really cosy and friendly. There was plenty of choice on the menu and I was really impressed with the quick service. I had my all time favourite, scampi and chips followed by hot chocolate fudge cake (which was to die for)!! Overall I was very impressed and will definitely be back to sample some more of their tasty dishes!

Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    5
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
9
12
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2014

Very good tasty value fooled with excellent choice of beers in tap. The new owners have made a real effort to make the place feel hospitable and they have succeeded. Well done and keep up the good work it's nice to have a good eatery so local

Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pego, Spain
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2014

We stayed at The Elmer for a night recently, as we attended a family birthday party there. Having read some of the reviews here, we were very pleasantly surprised. We arrived in time to eat lunch in the bar. The food was home made and very tasty. "The Citizans" lunch menu was a bargain at £6 for 2 courses. We have visited the pub many times over the years and I have never seen it so clean. It was spotless.

This was our first time staying. Our room was small, but perfectly adequate. The shower was lovely and hot and again, like the bar, everything was spotlessly clean.

We met the new owners and they outlined some of their plans to us, which really sounded interesting. We will definitely be returning when we next visit our family locally and look forward to seeing this pub progress.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2014

A packed resturant with a lovely buzz and Sunday feel. The food was delicious and a very good size portion. A tasty roast lamb rather than a bland cavery that you get locally.
Very reasonably priced. All together a lovely Sunday lunch that was spent with all the family. Would recommended to anyone!

  • Stayed October 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felixstowe, Suffolk
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2014 via mobile

Such a shame this place has changed hands recently. Only had food but it's not as good, know you have to give new people time to ' bed in' as such but don't think on standard of food we got this is going to get better. Hope we are wrong ...... Maybe try it again when next down that way. Do wish new managers well.

  • Stayed September 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin C, Owner at The Elmer Pub and Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2014
We are sorry to hear that you had a bad experience with the food on the day you visited. Since we have taken over our catering operation has more than doubled with many very genuine acclaims for the quality and prices we offer from the locals and visitors alike. We hope you will visit us again and see how much we have improved in the short time we have been here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2014

just arrived home from staying at The Elmer pub in Middleton on Sea.We had four lovely days there.Staff and customers were really friendly and the breakfast was great.This pub has changed hands in the last week and we wish them all the luck in the world. Sandra and Dave Smith

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2014

it has changed hands recently and although still advertised as B & B its do it yourself breakfast with a toaster teapot and cereal. Having visited here regularly for quite some time the overall atmosphere and friendliness of the place has changed considerably. The menu selection is OK if you like Chicken served in 5 different ways. Do not expect the friendly family atmosphere of the past year its gone.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin C, Owner at The Elmer Pub and Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2014
Cooked breakfast is served between 8 and 9am or by special arrangement outside these times. The menu selection is now varied with no more than one chicken course on offer. Now we have settled in there is a tremendous atmosphere in the place.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Elmer Pub and Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Elmer Pub and Hotel

Address: 89 Elmer Road | Middleton On Sea, Bognor Regis PO22 6HD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Bognor Regis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Bognor Regis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Elmer Pub and Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We can offer 5, individually themed rooms, all non smoking, en-suite and to include full English Breakfast. We can offer discounts without breakfast and for long term and business guests. We offer the full facilities of a traditional English pub by the sea, including home cooked dishes and special events ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your The Elmer Pub and Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Elmer Pub And Hotel Bognor Regis, West Sussex

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Elmer Pub and Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.