We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what i thought..” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Birmingham Oldbury

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Ramada Birmingham Oldbury to your Saves list
Ramada Birmingham Oldbury
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   963 Wolverhampton Road | Warley, Oldbury B69 4RJ, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%; Earn 500 Points
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Oldbury
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Not what i thought..”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Stayed here for 1 night. Liked the fact that there was free parking available. Exterior and reception area was modern and updated but when i got to the room it wasn't what i expected. Receptionist was quite moody and didn't really interact or provide any customer service.Anyway there was a double bed with a wardrobe, cupboard and dressing table which looked rather out dated. And when i went to turn the lamp on i found a hair right on top which put me off that it hasn't been cleaned properly also there was a receipt on the floor, probably from the previous stay. Bathroom was nice and modern but the extractor fan didn't work which made all the bathroom steam up like i was in a sauna bath. Overall i wouldn't stay here again as the price is reasonable but you can get better else where.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    38
    38
    39
    48
See reviews for
12
34
17
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

There's a phrase that's common in the industry, and that is "you get what you pay for". And while that's true in many ways about this hotel it doesn't tell the whole picture. This is a good hotel for an overnight stay and terrific value - at £49.00 - making it much better than some of the appalling establishments around Edgbaston at similar cost - but there are flaws that could so easily be addressed that could catapult this property up the TripAdvisor rankings..

CHECK IN
Firstly, the welcome. It couldn't have been any less enthusiastic. When will hotels realise this is there first chance to make a good impression and focus more on this critical aspect of service? Although efficient, I never had a hello, a please or a thank you as I completed the process. IT was more appropriate, apparently, for the receptionist and bar person to continue their conversation which I must have so inconveniently interrupted.

BEDROOM
The room itself was reasonably clean, with a very large bed and adequate room furnishings. It was unusual to find two very small, shop bought oil radiators on each side of the bed however. There was no information featuring the facilities the hotel has. Menu's were present for the restaurant but no clue as to whether or not room service could be obtained. Normally you'd call reception but I feared interrupting them again!

BATHROOM
Clean, only just clean, but clean nonetheless. The shower itself needs some attention around foot level but was otherwise fine. And although it's a very small space, with poor light in the shower, its acceptable.

SLEEP QUALITY
This was quite poor. I found the room to be very warm even with the AC on,and the mattresses seemed past their best - lumpy in places. The pillows were very poor quality, of differing thickness and in need of a refresh.

OVERALL
As I said in the beginning, for £49, it's more than acceptable - its a shame though as this property could be better if more attention was paid to the little things.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Not the best hotel i have stayed in. Staff cannot be faulted - they were lovely and helpful.
But the rooms itself are tired and rather tacky looking. The bed was large but extremely uncomfortable. My side was dipped where people have stayed in it so much, therefore had a rubbish sleep. Bathrooms are tiny but nice enough. Although was not impressed with the spare roll being yellow presumably where it is rather old. The breakfast was lovely.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gent
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

clean room with comfortable bed. bathroom was clean but rather small - just about ok for one not too large person. did not try the restaurant as I don't particularly like oriental food, and there did not seem to be anything else on the menu - but that might have been coincidence. breakfast is good though. nice staff.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013 via mobile

Rooms cramped and tired. Basin didn't drain. Public areas stink of toilet cleaner. Needs a refit. Staff are friendly if largely ineffective. Even wifi is rubbish but at least it is free. Breakfast is ok and was included in room rate.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dudley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

The Ramada was very easy to find and has plenty of car parking. Arrived in reception to a lovely friendly welcome, booked in easily, room was pleasant as you would expect, the room was very clean and a bonus of no stray hair in the bathroom. We both had a great nights sleep and would definately book a Ramada again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

I had to attend a business meeting in Oldbury and my company booked me into the Ramada.
I always read the reviews relating to a hotel before I book or stay and after reading some of the review I had some trepidations to say the least.
On a whole the hotel was okay, not the best I've stayed in but okay for one night.
Room was clean and tidy(clean sheets) but looked a bit tired and due for a refit, bathroom was the same.
On arrival I was running late so threw my bag in room and went to meet colleagues.
On my return at about ten thirty the room was freezing and I then realised the heating wasn't working and there was a small oil heater placed in the room. There had been no mention of this when booking in. As it was late and didnt fancy going through the agro of changing rooms I put up with it.
Breakfast was okay but a bit tasteless
Clean and tidy but for a Ramada Hotel not the best

Room Tip: Ask for a room with heating and on opposite side to motorway
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ramada Birmingham Oldbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Birmingham Oldbury

Address: 963 Wolverhampton Road | Warley, Oldbury B69 4RJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Oldbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Oldbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Birmingham Oldbury 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 5 mins from Jct 2 M5, stunningly decorated & newly built in '08, 81 rooms all en-suite, chic restaurant, free WiFi, lift. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Ramada Birmingham Oldbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Birmingham Oldbury Hotel Oldbury
Oldbury Ramada
Ramada Birmingham Oldbury England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada Birmingham Oldbury, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.