We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant surprise!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Birmingham Hilton Park M6 Southbound

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Travelodge Birmingham Hilton Park M6 Southbound to your Saves list
Travelodge Birmingham Hilton Park M6 Southbound
Moto Service Area M6 Motorway, Essington WV11 2AT, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Saver rooms available
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Essington
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“A pleasant surprise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

I've got to say that the only reason I booked to stay in the hotel was because I got a deal for £19. The location, on the edge of a busy service area on the M6 didn't fill me with joy, but it was a means to an end.
On arrival I was welcomed by the receptionist and booked in within a couple of minutes.
My room was clean and tidy, as was the bathroom.
The shower was great!
If the room had any down points at all, they are minor, and for a single night's stay, hardly the end of the world.
A heated mirror in the bathroom would be helpful, and the chair in the room could have been more comfortable.
The best thing about the stay was that though it was quite noisy from the traffic outside, I could hardly hear it at all inside, and my room faced the motorway and service area. I slept like a baby.
Oh and the curtains were black-out curtains, so when I wanted darkness I got just that.
I'd happily stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    27
    33
    12
    25
See reviews for
29
37
14
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Carluke, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

I stayed here to break up a trip to the south-west, and it was really just a place to sleep. The reception staff were very helpful and offered to find me food, but I decided to eat in the Burger King within the service area. The whole place had a slightly damp smell to it (probably un-ventilated showers) and the room was very dated. With switches for appliances no longer there and a sockets that would never pass a safety test in a home.

The bed was comfy though and I did sleep pretty well. So can't really complain.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

I stayed here for 3 nights on business. The room needed a luck of paint but was clean.
My only complaint is the generator situated round the back starts up every 20 mins or so and is incredibly noisy. Ask for a front room.
Very friendly and helpful staff. I would suggest the short drive into Featherstone to get food as it's quite pricey and limited in the services.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnham-on-sea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

on arrival was greeted by uninterested staff the room was unclean and three out of the four wall lights did not work also no soap in the bathroom informed staff nothing was done no one on checkout when leaving I know its a budget hotel but the basics should be in place

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Essington hotels

Kent Uk
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

I have stayed in other travellodges which have been ok but this one is of very poor standard. The walls had marks and stains all over them of god only knows. The whole hotel stank of must and stale smoke.
I felt dirty touching the floors. I strongly reccommend not staying at this hotel?!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

Key issues:
Postcode incorrect so you can't reach with Tomtom
In desperate need of upgrade
Carpets not clean the corridors have a smell
The price is good
The access to hotel is only from m6 southbound

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Nicolas from Customer Services at Travelodge Birmingham Hilton Park M6 Southbound, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Thank you for your review Simpletone_11. We aim to provide the correct details for our hotels on our website so we are truly sorry to learn of the difficulty you had in reaching our hotel. We will be sure to raise this issue with our IT department in order to ensure that all the details we provide are correct and up to date. We also expect our staff to follow a strict routine in the cleaning of our rooms and we would expect them to be cleaned to our high standards, however we can happily confirm that we are currently undergoing a refurbishment scheme across all our hotels in which our hotels will receive a fresh new room design and layout. Please be assured that we will pass on your comments to the hotel manager in order to address the issues you have raised.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

After reading previous reviews I wasn't expecting anything great with this hotel, however we were pleasantly surprised. The hotel was very clean and comfy. There was very little noise coming from outside. The room was clean and spacious. The only problem we had was getting to it from the Northbound carriageway, we were unable to find how to cross the M6 from the signs so we ended up continuing North on M6 for a few minutes then coming off and going back on the Southbound carriageway which was really easy to do. Overall we enjoyed our stay and it was excellent value for money.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Travelodge Birmingham Hilton Park M6 Southbound? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Birmingham Hilton Park M6 Southbound

Address: Moto Service Area M6 Motorway, Essington WV11 2AT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Essington
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Essington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Travelodge Birmingham Hilton Park M6 Southbound reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Birmingham Hilton Park Hotel Essington
Travel Lodge Essington
Hilton Essington
Travelodge Essington
Essington Hilton
Essington Travelodge
Essington Travel Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Birmingham Hilton Park M6 Southbound, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.