We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs Alot of work!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Birmingham Hilton Park M6 Southbound

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Travelodge Birmingham Hilton Park M6 Southbound to your Saves list
Travelodge Birmingham Hilton Park M6 Southbound
Moto Service Area M6 Motorway, Essington WV11 2AT, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Essington
Kent Uk
1 review
“Needs Alot of work!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

I have stayed in other travellodges which have been ok but this one is of very poor standard. The walls had marks and stains all over them of god only knows. The whole hotel stank of must and stale smoke.
I felt dirty touching the floors. I strongly reccommend not staying at this hotel?!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    28
    34
    12
    26
See reviews for
32
40
14
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

Key issues:
Postcode incorrect so you can't reach with Tomtom
In desperate need of upgrade
Carpets not clean the corridors have a smell
The price is good
The access to hotel is only from m6 southbound

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Nicolas from Customer Services at Travelodge Birmingham Hilton Park M6 Southbound, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Thank you for your review Simpletone_11. We aim to provide the correct details for our hotels on our website so we are truly sorry to learn of the difficulty you had in reaching our hotel. We will be sure to raise this issue with our IT department in order to ensure that all the details we provide are correct and up to date. We also expect our staff to follow a strict routine in the cleaning of our rooms and we would expect them to be cleaned to our high standards, however we can happily confirm that we are currently undergoing a refurbishment scheme across all our hotels in which our hotels will receive a fresh new room design and layout. Please be assured that we will pass on your comments to the hotel manager in order to address the issues you have raised.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

After reading previous reviews I wasn't expecting anything great with this hotel, however we were pleasantly surprised. The hotel was very clean and comfy. There was very little noise coming from outside. The room was clean and spacious. The only problem we had was getting to it from the Northbound carriageway, we were unable to find how to cross the M6 from the signs so we ended up continuing North on M6 for a few minutes then coming off and going back on the Southbound carriageway which was really easy to do. Overall we enjoyed our stay and it was excellent value for money.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

This travelodge was very tired! The reception was poorly decorated and in need of sprucing up. Carpet throughout the corridors was stained and grubby. The carpet in outer room was badly fitting and in need of serious cleaning. Bed and bathroom were clean. The mattress was not comfortable at all. Very springy and everything rolled into the middle! Pillows rubbish.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Nicolas from Customer Services at Travelodge Birmingham Hilton Park M6 Southbound, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Thank you for your review HDR363. We expect all areas of our hotels in addition to our rooms to be cleaned to our high standards and for all items and facilities to be well maintained so it is regrettable to learn that you were disappointed with the condition of the hotel and of your room. We also require our staff to regularly check the mattresses and, if one is not found to be in a suitable condition then it should be replaced. Please be assured that we will be contacting the Hotel Manager so they are aware of the improvements that need to be made.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calne
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

I'd read some not very complimentary comments about this Travelodge, so wasn't expecting much from the stay, but I have to say that I was genuinely pleasantly surprised! Sure, it's not luxurious, but more than adequate for a stay near family, with everything you need, and a great price too! We were so pleased, quiet inside, no noise from outside (near motorway) and really, really, pleasant and helpful staff. Will definitely be staying again. GREAT!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

I stayed here for 1 night on 21st December. Room was very clean as was bathroom. The bed was very comfortable with nice plump pillows.
Heater worked well, I kept it on all night and room was very quiet. I didn't hear any noise from outside or inside. Very basic but worth the £21 I paid. I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

I am visiting here as I speak, the general cleanliness of the room is ok. the kettle, bin, tiles in bathroom and hand rail in bath have seen better days!! Pillows are rock hard and have woken up with terrible neck ache!! Saying that the bed itself is soooo comfy!!! the price was amazing for an overnight stop off. 30 pounds for myself, partner and little boy. My advice if you were to stay here is to bring your own pillows!!!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Travelodge Birmingham Hilton Park M6 Southbound? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Birmingham Hilton Park M6 Southbound

Address: Moto Service Area M6 Motorway, Essington WV11 2AT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Essington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Essington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Travelodge Birmingham Hilton Park M6 Southbound reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Birmingham Hilton Park Hotel Essington
Travel Lodge Essington
Hilton Essington
Travelodge Essington
Essington Hilton
Essington Travelodge
Essington Travel Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Birmingham Hilton Park M6 Southbound, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.