We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs refurb, bed comfy, pillows not :-(” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Birmingham Hilton Park M6 Southbound

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Travelodge Birmingham Hilton Park M6 Southbound to your Saves list
Travelodge Birmingham Hilton Park M6 Southbound
Moto Service Area M6 Motorway, Essington WV11 2AT, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Essington
Newport, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Needs refurb, bed comfy, pillows not :-(”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

I am visiting here as I speak, the general cleanliness of the room is ok. the kettle, bin, tiles in bathroom and hand rail in bath have seen better days!! Pillows are rock hard and have woken up with terrible neck ache!! Saying that the bed itself is soooo comfy!!! the price was amazing for an overnight stop off. 30 pounds for myself, partner and little boy. My advice if you were to stay here is to bring your own pillows!!!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    28
    34
    12
    26
See reviews for
32
40
14
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Paris
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Adequate for a short sleep on a long journey but I wouldn't want to stay much longer. Not all items in the room that should have been working did so. Time for Travelodge to replace the bed and upgrade the bathroom.

Room Tip: Quieter rooms at the rear of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Typical Travelodge but surprisingly quiet despite being on an M6 service area. I slept in a front room and had no problem with noise. On arrival, receptionist helpful and friendly. Bathroom clean. Bed comfortable. Bedroom heater worked well. But room (125) had a musty smell and the carpet looked as if it needed a good shampoo. General ambiance of the building, inside and out, tired and shabby and in need of a refurbishment. Breakfast box ordered for two mornings for 06.45 but failed to arrive and had to be collected, which was inconvenient. Left for work at 07.10 and the M6 was clogged with traffic. Very slow crawl to the Wolverhampton junction, qnd beyond, because of the volume of traffic and the roadworks. The M6 is always busy but give yourself twice the time, at least, to travel towards Birmingham in the rush "hour" because of the present motorway works.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

One knows what to expect in a Travelodge and this was like the others. It was easy to find on the service area. Once there, the receptionist was very helpful but even she could not get the subtitles on the TV for me. The room was up to standard clean and larger than expected (I did ask for 'disabled'). I think that Travelodge could offer free wifi as it was available across the car park at the service area. I had not realised that, having booked it, I was not able to use the M6 byepass.

Room Tip: Just ask reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Well for one thing it can buy you a night for 2 in this Travelodge. I saw the reviews and was a little worried and yes it's at a Motorway Services area but the room was a good size, the bathroom large, the staff friendly and helpful, as there is so much traffic through these Hotels there are obviously bumps and dinks etc everywhere and some touching up is needed but the water was hot & plenty of towels plus the room was quiet, the only problem was a very, very squeaky bed that drove us mad & if they could hear it would no doubt have driven the nieghbours mad. For me these types of Hotel are excellent value and I'd stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

I stayed here with my family overnight whilst visiting family in Walsall. We originally wanted to book the Holiday Inn as it was £5 cheaper but when we went to book a few days later the price had risen drastically so we booked the cheapest Travelodge (£35). After realising we had stayed here previously & not enjoyed our stay, we were a bit dubious. However, our stay was much better this time.

We arrived for check in very late (11PM) due to traffic jams and we were quickly checked in. The beds were comfortable and the rooms were quiet despite being at a service station. The hotel only serves cold breakfast in a bag but there is a restaurant inside the services that serves a hot breakfast or pop to the local Toby for All You Can Eat Breakfast priced at £3.99.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

My wife and I stayed here overnight on our way to South Bucks for a surprise birthday party. We'd booked it prior to checking it on Trip Advisor so were dreading it a bit due to some of the reviews we read. It turned out to be not too bad, the staff were excellent, very efficient and helpful, providing us with directions to nearby supermarkets, eateries etc.
We paid £19 for the night so really had nothing to complain about, the room was basic but, as we'd stayed in Travelodges before, we brought our own iron, hair dryer etc. the bed was comfortable and it was surprisingly quiet given its location. It is what it is, so it was very good value for money. We would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the rear of the hotel, away from the service road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Travelodge Birmingham Hilton Park M6 Southbound? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Birmingham Hilton Park M6 Southbound

Address: Moto Service Area M6 Motorway, Essington WV11 2AT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Essington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Essington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Travelodge Birmingham Hilton Park M6 Southbound reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Birmingham Hilton Park Hotel Essington
Travel Lodge Essington
Hilton Essington
Travelodge Essington
Essington Hilton
Essington Travelodge
Essington Travel Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Birmingham Hilton Park M6 Southbound, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.